Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says
No sympathy for people who don't read the product description - it states very clearly "Plays exclusively with top-rated Gameloft apps" and then goes on to list the apps.

The way I see it, I can get a bunch of very decent FPS games *and* the controller for the cost of a couple of console games. modern combat 3 and the duo gamer gives a genuine console-type...
Published 20 months ago by Paul_In_Wales

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun and useful gaming product
This is a small, battery powered game controller for use with the iPad and several games from Gameloft. It connects to the iPad via Blootooth wireless technology.

The Bluetooth set up is straightforward and there is no obvious lag from the controller to the iPad game. The controller gives the type of controls you would expect from a gaming console but it is...
Published 17 months ago by josie82


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says, 28 Dec 2012
This review is from: Duo Gamer Game Controller for iPad (Personal Computers)
No sympathy for people who don't read the product description - it states very clearly "Plays exclusively with top-rated Gameloft apps" and then goes on to list the apps.

The way I see it, I can get a bunch of very decent FPS games *and* the controller for the cost of a couple of console games. modern combat 3 and the duo gamer gives a genuine console-type experience on the ipad, and elevates the gaming experience enormously. Makes a real change from casual games, and from using awkward on-screen controls which have never sat right with me.

My concern is that gameloft don't have duo gamer support in Modern Combat 4 - I don't know if they are planning on adding it, or if this explains the recent halving in the RRP of the device. Update @ 25 Jan 13: the duo gamer website now lists MC4 as "coming soon".

But for what it *says* it does, I believe this is good value.

Update: Had this for a few weeks now and would like to address some concerns. Despite it's looks, it is surprisingly comfortable to use for long periods, due to the taper from top to bottom, and the slight curvature of the sides. Playing Modern Combat 3 in multiplayer with the duo gamer is a completely different experience to using the touchscreen - you get a degree of control, and immersion, that only a physical controller can bring. Just make sure you enter/create matches with "aim assist" enabled. There is no comparable hardware+game experience on the ipad as yet - so there's nothing to compare it to price-wise other than console gaming, and in that comparison it's a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun and useful gaming product, 6 April 2013
By 
josie82 (Fife, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Duo Gamer Game Controller for iPad (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a small, battery powered game controller for use with the iPad and several games from Gameloft. It connects to the iPad via Blootooth wireless technology.

The Bluetooth set up is straightforward and there is no obvious lag from the controller to the iPad game. The controller gives the type of controls you would expect from a gaming console but it is quite small compared to the controllers from other game consoles. Although the edges are smooth and there is a bevel from the top edge to the bottom, after 15 minutes of playing, my arms and hands did not feel comfortable. I personally couldn't have kept playing for a long time.

There are a limited number of paid games from Gameloft which are compatible with the controller. There aren't many although this is stated in the description and something, I presume, that will be rectified as time goes on. The games aren't too expensive but it is important to note that you do have to pay extra for them. I really only liked the car racing game which limits the use of the controller somewhat. If you found you didn't like any then you'd be scuppered.

The controller is supplied with a plastic stand which is sturdy enough to hold the iPad in landscape or portrait mode. This is useful for more than just gaming so that's an added bonus.

This product would appeal to people who are used to using a game controller for their game play. However touch screen and accelerometer controls are, in my opinion, a better user experience on the iPad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No longer supported, 29 April 2014
By 
S. Brunton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duo Gamer Game Controller for iPad (Personal Computers)
No point getting this unless you only want to play the few games it supports. Game Loft no longer supports this for new games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duo Gamer Game Controller for iPad (Personal Computers)
Only works with gameloft games and not all of them work! For 5 it works well when u find a game, used it on iPhone 4s!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It's very average!, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duo Gamer Game Controller for iPad (Personal Computers)
Pros:
- it means you don't have to struggle using your fingers to play your first person shooters but also check out the cons on this.
- it's cheap, comes with a cloth bag to keep it clean and a stand to put your iPad

Cons:
- there is lag when us use this and it's hard to be accurate and in fact it's more accurate to use your fingers on the screen.....if you're hoping for an Xbox experience on your iPad.....think again, it's ok but no where near great
- worst of all is the design on the controller, it's not ergonomically designed to fit the hands well and even after 30 minutes use some of my fingers started to feel sore from the pressure that's applied when you're gripping the control
- very few games work with this controller as only Gameloft games work on it. I was aware of it when buying this but even then the list is very small.

Verdict

As it's a fiver....it's worth it for a bit of fun and if you get bored of it you can just throw it away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duo Gamer Game Controller for iPad (Personal Computers)
I enjoyed the product & it's really good and fun to use. I would recommend it to anyone who likes games:) great quality too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ipad gamer, 15 Feb 2014
This review is from: Duo Gamer Game Controller for iPad (Personal Computers)
its good but some of the games/app that it's for cost up to about 5 and there's not one for free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duo Gamer Game Controller for iPad (Personal Computers)
product only works with games from game loft! not any other ones, other than that, really handy and a perfect controller if you do not want to use your phone as one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 12 Feb 2013
By 
H. Eaton "Helena Eaton" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duo Gamer Game Controller for iPad (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a fantastic gadget to use for gaming with Apple devices. You can use it with your iPad, iPhone or iPod Touch. The controller isn't an Apple product (you can easily tell by the packaging and look and feel which are nothing like the same quality)!

Two partners have paired with Apple on this - Gameloft (has lots of titles on the App store) and Discovery Bay Games (accessory maker). It's a Bluetooth enabled device and it's very simple to connect - just pair the device and the game controller and you're ready to play. But only Gameloft games!

So as long as you have an Apple device and enjoy Gameloft games (there are several and they're great), this is a fantastic accessory. I'm knocking off a point for the look of it - I think it's a bit cheap looking next to Apple products!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfactory, 30 Jan 2013
This review is from: Duo Gamer Game Controller for iPad (Personal Computers)
My initial expectations were filled. The controller itself is very small and curved to feel more comfortable when holding it. I found pairing via Bluetooth easy but at times difficult as the words cannot connect etc repeatedly display on your device. However despite all of the above the controllers exsclusivity is what really holds it back. The controller is only compatible with Gameloft games and considering their vast endless supply of games only about five of their games have support not including games such as the latest Modern Combat. I paid 30-35 for this so I can ignore its flaws for others anything more than this may be considered excessive considering what the controller does. Oh and one last thing too! As with most electrical goods included with batteries the quality of said batteries looks terrible, as you'd expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duo Gamer Game Controller for iPad
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews