Customer Reviews


276 Reviews
5 star:
 (247)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Product
Brought this for my late 2012 Mac Mini. Installation took a matter of seconds and they work perfectly. Many thanks
Published on 23 Jan. 2013 by Jamie

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Apple upgrade Issues
While upgrading memory is an advantage and this product has helped slightly , i would like to point out that if your upgrading a late 2012 Macbook pro then you will not see much improvement this is due to the change from Mavericks to Yosomite (Real life performance not bench tests)this has radically reduced performance and will not change by this upgrade in ram , this...
Published 25 days ago by PRO


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Product, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial ram memory 16GB kit (2 x 8GB) DDR3 PC3-12800,1600MHz for 2012 Apple Macbook Pro's, 2012 iMac's, and 2011 / 2012 Mac mini's (Personal Computers)
Brought this for my late 2012 Mac Mini. Installation took a matter of seconds and they work perfectly. Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked perfectly first time in new fall 2012 Mac mini, 6 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial ram memory 16GB kit (2 x 8GB) DDR3 PC3-12800,1600MHz for 2012 Apple Macbook Pro's, 2012 iMac's, and 2011 / 2012 Mac mini's (Personal Computers)
I've had a lot of issues with memory upgrades that should work and just dont for no explicable reason. This one arrived really quickly and worked as specified with out any messing around. No resetting of proms etc that you read about on the web. Interestingly with 16GB in my computer it has just under 12GB available after a fresh rebook and no apps in. Still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE definative Mac Apple RAM MUST READ FOR NOOBS, 10 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Crucial ram memory 16GB kit (2 x 8GB) DDR3 PC3-12800,1600MHz for 2012 Apple Macbook Pro's, 2012 iMac's, and 2011 / 2012 Mac mini's (Personal Computers)
If you are looking to install RAM that will GENUINELY work for your Apple products get Crucial every time. I am writing this review to help anyone who is sitting on the fence after reading reviews about problems so I will explain to help you out. This works 100% Please say this review was helpful if it worked for you. In fact I know it does work, I've been where you are now and thats why I took the time and effort to put this together and links. Please do this as I am not after popularity, it will help this review rise ranks so more people can use this guide for painless RAM installation!

Encourage charity lets get installing!

Firstly go here from Apples site (choose your country code as appropriate if not in UK) e.g. apple.com/ie apple.com/nz
[...]

if this link no longer works then type this in the Apple search bar How to remove or install memory
actually I used iMac: How to remove or install memory so put in your RAM product e.g. if its a Macbook search for Macbook: How to remove or install memory

Heres what it shows me for my IMAC LATE 2013 just bought 2 weeks ago from the new releases.

Number of memory slots 4 *SLOTS AVAILABLE TO YOU
Base memory 8 GB *STARTING MEMORY
Maximum memory 32 GB *MAXIMUM MEMORY
Note: Memory replacement on the iMac (21.5-inch, Late 2012) and iMac (21.5-inch, Late 2013) is not user-removable and must be done by an Apple Retail Store or Apple Authorized Service Provider. *NOTE 27INCH IMACS ARE FAR EASIER TO INSTALL AND YOU PRESS A BUTTON TO OPEN THE RAM COMPARTMENT - AT THE BACK ABOVE THE POWER PLUG
Use Small Outline Dual Inline Memory Modules (SO-DIMM) that meet all of these criteria:

iMac (Mid 2012)
PC3-12800
Unbuffered
Nonparity
204-pin
1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM
* SO THIS ALSO TELLS ME THAT THE RAM LATE 2013 IS ACTUALLY THE SAME RAM FROM 2012.
THIS CRUCIAL RAM MEETS ALL THE CRITERIA THERE ARE OTHER CRITERIA TOO SUCH AS VOLTAGE 1.35 and CL 13 etc. CL 9 etc. CL just refers to memory speed, the lower the better. You do not need to look for this, its nice to know but compatible ram is compatible ram - so stick with Crucial brand. It works!

Heres how I upgraded my LATE IMAC 2013 if you want to see this this youtube is really handy as it explains what I am writing below.

video

[...]

in pictures:

[...]

After you BUY the crucial ram then just open your slot and the back by pressing the button above the power cord. (PS SWITCH OFF MAC FIRST, WAIT A MINUTE AFTER DOING THIS TO ALLOW PARTS TO COOL DOWN) Squeeze the two buttons and pull outwards the ram slot.

Take out the 2 4GB rams you have (making up the 8GB) REMEMBER THE RAM SLOTS YOU TOOK OUT THE RAM FROM AND REPLACE THOSE 2 SLOTS WITH NEW RAM! This is because they are the allocated PRIMARY slots so the largest RAM amount should go there first! For me this is RELEVANT...as my ram was 8GB each, if your adding 4GB each you do not need to do this as your ram newly bought RAM is not higher that your primary RAM. Only do this if your newly bought RAM is higher than your primary ram.

Im writing this is caps, but don't think anything bad will happen if you don't do this - nothing bad happens, it just makes it more efficient for you.

When you place the ram inside before you do so make sure you have the GAP on the correct side of the slot. EG Look at the pictures in the link (macworld) the gap in the boxed Crucial ram pic is on the LEFT...whatever way it is in your slot, make sure you align it correctly. Make sure you are placing the ram correctly and not at an angle too. When you push the ram in Push it in FURTHER till you here a CLICK noise to confirm its in.

AND THATS IT!!! IM A NOOB THIS IS MY FIRST MAC and FIRST RAM INSTALLATION - and it was easy! so you too can do it.
If you want to know more about Ram timings then look here...its more academic, if you just match the apple spec from your ram page then thats enough
[...]

OK so there you go and your welcome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works in iMac (late 2013) - but watch for the initial slow startup., 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial ram memory 16GB kit (2 x 8GB) DDR3 PC3-12800,1600MHz for 2012 Apple Macbook Pro's, 2012 iMac's, and 2011 / 2012 Mac mini's (Personal Computers)
I bought two lots of these to beef up my late 2013 27inch iMac i7 to 32GB. They worked perfectly after waiting for the hidden POST to complete. When you first plug in an iMac it goes through a hardware test cycle, keeping a record of any changes. When adding 32GB it took about two minutes for the iMac to check the RAM before it would turn on. I have seem many people complain their iMac did not work after upgrading the RAM; it was more likely they did not patiently wait for the system to finish updating its spec details. So here is the sequence whenever you change RAM on an iMac, even if downgrading to use the original RAM!

1. Disconnect power.
2. Open door to memory slots and pull down the memory holder as shown in the iMac manuals.
3. Remove existing RAM, carefully noting which slots are populated AND the module orientation.
4. Add new RAM to either the same slots OR all slots if you are adding four modules, carefully checking each module is properly oriented and fully seated. Unlike PC's, iMac memory slots are somewhat 'sloppy' - don't expect a satisfying click.
5. Push the memory holder back in to place. If it won't go back properly, check the modules are correctly oriented and fully seated. 6. Close door to memory slots.
7. Plug in iMac and make sure mains power is on, but *DO NOT* press the power button.
8. Go make a cup of tea. (Important)
9. Come back and click the power button.
10. Bong......

In future the iMac should not need as long to start after plugging in to the mains; only the first time is the issue.

I hope this helps someone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for MAC MINI i5 Late 2012 Version, 1 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial ram memory 16GB kit (2 x 8GB) DDR3 PC3-12800,1600MHz for 2012 Apple Macbook Pro's, 2012 iMac's, and 2011 / 2012 Mac mini's (Personal Computers)
It does what it says on the box. Ideal upgrade, well packaged, quick delivery from Amazon. This is one of those items where you need to buy quality kit and not get the cheap alternative (without going as far as buying the Apple version)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Quality Memory, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial ram memory 16GB kit (2 x 8GB) DDR3 PC3-12800,1600MHz for 2012 Apple Macbook Pro's, 2012 iMac's, and 2011 / 2012 Mac mini's (Personal Computers)
Purchased this for my mid 2012 MacBook Pro, The installation was effortless and now I have a machine that's future proof, Crucial are a recommended memory for Mac's and the two work very well together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How mauch am I happy with it?, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial ram memory 16GB kit (2 x 8GB) DDR3 PC3-12800,1600MHz for 2012 Apple Macbook Pro's, 2012 iMac's, and 2011 / 2012 Mac mini's (Personal Computers)
I relly happy with rams, specific I had 4GB with macBook pro mid 2012 and now 16GB super fast, i figure out that the system need average 6GB to work easy, So I believe 8GB not big deal, take 16GB for safety side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product as a great price, 13 Nov. 2013
By 
Simon (Coventry, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What else is there to say? It arrived quickly, is easy to install and worked on my late 2013 27" iMac without any issues. Crucial is a well known brand and one that I trust. Would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't usually do reviews but I was so happy with this purchase, and what it's done, I had to., 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial ram memory 16GB kit (2 x 8GB) DDR3 PC3-12800,1600MHz for 2012 Apple Macbook Pro's, 2012 iMac's, and 2011 / 2012 Mac mini's (Personal Computers)
My Mid 2012 MacBook Pro had slowed up considerably since installing Yosemite. I was beginning to despair (I am not a techie by any stretch of the imagination) and so researched solutions to see if anyone had had similar issues. Someone on the Apple support community stated they'd installed more memory and that this simple thing had made a massive difference.
I had nothing to lose and bought this memory pack before I could change my mind, especially when I saw the cost. I followed instructions from Apple re how to take the back off my Mac (VERY SCARY!) and was able to install these without a problem.

Result? My MacBook Pro is back to its super speedy self and I am VERY happy. If this has happened to you, then please don't worry. Its like I've got a new laptop again and I would happily recommend this memory upgrade as a great solution if you have a slowed up Mac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great memory, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Item as described arrived very fast even though it was holiday season. Installed as soon I have received to my late 2012 mac mini and it boosted the performance. Very happy with my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews