Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2012
I love this. It's different from your typical bicycling magazines. It's literary, thought-provoking and varied - in style, time period and subject. This one has classics from Mark Twain and bang up to date stuff about the nitty gritty of street politics in modern cities. It's more about cycling as a means of travel, a way of thinking, and being, rather than as a sport. A kind of cycle philosophy reader, and a new manifesto for cycle living. When is the next one out?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
I gave up on cycling magazines ages ago because although I love cycling and reading about cycling, all the magazines seem to be aimed a teenage boys. This is a very different experience - talented writers who really have something to say. There is stuff here that you will be thinking about long after you read the magazine. I can't wait for issue two.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
Edited by Tim Dawson (of Cyclingbooks.com) and Jack Thurston (of Resonance FM's "The Bike Show") this collection has more than a feel of the Bike Show's wide ranging, eclectic remit about it.

Bookended by pieces written by the editors, the collection offers articles on a range of topics, spanning the history of the bicycle. Mark Twain's account of learning to ride a high wheeler (the quip about dogs being confused by attempts to *avoid* running into them will speak to anyone who's cycled in rural France) is a joy in particular, as is Albert Winstanley's account of a ride through Ribblesdale.

For less than £2, this collection represents wonderful value - I'm very much looking forward to the next edition.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
This collection of writing on cycling kept me really contented over a few hours on a train. Easily digestible, the reader contains about 8-10 short pieces on the wonderful world of cycling. There's really up to date and serious stuff such as a piece on the state of cycling in the UK vis a vis attitudes, government policy etc plus pieces written which are dedicated to the sheer pleasure of riding. I enjoyed the piece written on Ribbledale and also the terrific story of how one Los Angelean discovered cycling and how it changed his life. This is one for cycling fans far and wide and also terrific value!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
What a lovely discovery this was. As a recent Kindle owner, and a recent convert back to cycling thanks to an enjoyable commute, this little collection was just what I wanted to read. Funny, interesting and poignant. Something for everybody among the eclectic collection of essays - and full marks for the beautiful cover image, which renders so well on an e-ink screen. More please!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
In an age where magazine publishing has often become little more than a vehicle for advertising, it's refreshing to read something with a satisfying density of content, and a reassuring quality of prose. Publications like this inspire you to ride a bicycle, without the distraction of aspirational images insisting that your kit isn't up to the task. I'll be buying the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
An eclectic mix of tales centred around people whom have written about their experiences with the machine. A handful of stories from across the range of cycling from professional to beginners giving something for everyone, with a few memorable quoteables and tips/hints to be found in different stories. Worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
This was a super magazine cum short novel(s). Lots of entertaining reads from a variety of perspectives and, indeed, ages. I will definitely be subscribing and I look forward to the Autumn edition. A shame that there is not a way to flag up the new edition's arrival to those of us who wish to purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2012
I like the idea behind this book - a collection of lesser seen interesting articles and essays from different times about cycling, and about different topics from discovering cycling, travel, even philosophy and politics. Out of the 10 there the couple I struggle to get into were the more academic pieces, but after grinding through those I was rewarded with some superb pieces by Mark Twain and Albert Winstanley.

I will definitely be getting the future editions, after reading the first I am interested to see what other pieces will be published that will motivate me to search out of edition books.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
Great idea - just what the kindle was made for - lots of reading for £1 good articles that are varied and interesting. Exposes you to some cycling literature that you would otherwise never see
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)