Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Darwin - Rise and Fall of the British Empire
All history students are subject to inevitable essay question whether the British Empire was a dynamic benevolent force for good or a monstrous imperial atrocity imposed with gunboat diplomacy? Anyone reading Jeremy Paxman's recent tome "Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British" will inevitably fall into the latter camp as he mounts a well written if ill tempered...
Published on 6 Feb. 2013 by Red on Black

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive but sometimes hard going
Like many growing up in the 1960s and 70s, I had formed a dim view of empire, colonialism, etc.. John Darwin's book takes the slightly revisionist view that the experience and impact of the British Empire was more nuanced, less black and white that many people have assumed.

Darwin is good at setting out the European backdrop to territorial expansion as the...
Published 23 months ago by Marand


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Darwin - Rise and Fall of the British Empire, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
All history students are subject to inevitable essay question whether the British Empire was a dynamic benevolent force for good or a monstrous imperial atrocity imposed with gunboat diplomacy? Anyone reading Jeremy Paxman's recent tome "Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British" will inevitably fall into the latter camp as he mounts a well written if ill tempered critique of the Empire and its legacy which is explicit in emphasizing how generally awful it was for those who came into contact with it. Perhaps a more scholarly if slightly less readable approach comes in this excellent book by John Darwin "Unfinished Empire" which is revisionist in the sense that it questions the strict dichotomy of heartless British rulers on the one side and colonial victims on the other. Darwin has been treading these boards in previous books. But here he gives full vent to the thesis that it is a myth to speak of "A British Empire" when in fact the governing characteristics was a system that was contradictory, tangled, messy and very short lived. Therefore to speak of some strategic "Imperial Project" is a complete misnomer. As he points out "even in 1914, the Colonial Office contained only 30 senior officials who were ostensibly in charge of 100 different colonial spaces, not to mention 600 quasi-autonomous Indian princely states that technically owed allegiance to the British crown". In this respect therefore this book could be more accurately subtitled "Empire by hotchpotch" with free trade providing the only really coherent unifying theme. The consequence of this was that "it was largely a private enterprise empire, the creation of merchants, investors, migrants and missionaries amongst many others"

Studying how the Empire developed in India, Ireland, Africa versus the Americas, Australia and Canada for example shows entirely different models of British rule largely provisional and improvised. Most English speaking Canadians and New Zealander settlers would have seen the process has an "empire of partners". In other parts of the global map the wistful cliché that "the sun never set" on the Empire should not disguise the fact that it did witness astonishing levels of violence and cultural racism. Richard Gott has pointed to Britain's use of "terror by example" such as the brutal treatment of sepoy mutineers at Manjee in 1764, where it was ordered that they should be "shot from guns"; a terrible warning to others not to step out of line. Moving into the sorry story of British rule in Ireland would throw up even worse horrors. Darwin is certainly no apologist for this but he is keen to explore why the textures of Empire held together with such resilience and held off challenges from other equally aggressive European nations. This he believes was testimony to a range of "qualities", not least the underpinning foundation of British imperialism which was its "extraordinary versatility in method, outlook and object." In particular, the British excelled at recruiting local elites and interest groups as collaborators without whose consent little would have been possible. This, more than all the boastful talk of "enlightened reform and disinterested trusteeship", was at the heart of British rule and more accurately explains its extraordinary grip on countries the sheer size of India, where the resources of Empire were almost deployed by a skeleton staff.

Andrew Roberts the conservative historian in reviewing this book concluded that "Darwin's book might at long last herald the victory of the post-Marxist phase of imperial historiography, and not a moment too soon". This reviewer is not so certain about Roberts schadenfreude not least since Darwin's emphasis on the role of free trade could readily appeal to supporters of Karl Marx as a step towards the formation of a bourgeoisie. In the last analysis Darwin's book is a cool, logical and well argued case. Its central thesis that rather than being "constituted by empire" for Britain's Empire was actually "only a phase, an exceptional moment" is neatly provocative. Winston Churchill certainly wouldn't have agreed with that sentiment and for generations of British politicians, particularly in the Victorian age, the "Empire" was a humongous source of national pride which appeared to beguile any rational analysis. Darwin has done a service here putting it into more subtle and sophisticated context and unlike some of the more radical revisionist historians he makes no attempt to take the Empire's fall and dress it up as victory. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Box Lid to the British History Jigsaw, 28 Nov. 2012
By 
K. Petersen "Ken" (Hemsby,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I thought that this book might be fairly interesting to read: I was wrong! It is one of the best books that I have read all year.

Like many people. either born in Britain, or with an interest in British history, I had a passing knowledge of the main events affecting the UK from the 17th to 21st centuries: I knew about Suez, the World Wars, Trafalgar, the Battle of the Nile, Invasion of and expulsion from the United States and other incidents that have helped to shape this great country of ours. Where this book is so useful, is that it stitches these historical events into a single fabric.

John Darwin is above turning this story into a political diatribe, either in favour, or against the British Empire; rather, he shows how, through happen-stance, as often as shrewd political calculation, events conspired to allow the creation of an extraordinarily elastic empire. He also gives a plausible, although he is the first to admit, not necessarily a definitive explanation of its decline. So many authors, nowadays, make the fatal mistake of judging the past by the moral codes of today. Mr Darwin avoids this trap by the simple expediency of not judging at all. He merely relates the story, the reader is free to insert his/her own opinion on the rights and wrongs of the situation.

I find this type of history absolutely fascinating: after all, if one does not understand how we got to where we currently stand, how can we make valid decisions as to where we should be heading? I thought that I would enjoy it, I did not expect it to be quite so "unputdownable". Anyone with political aspirations, an interest in British and world history, or indeed anyone able to appreciate a darned well written book NEEDS to read this. Definitely high upon my top ten books of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive but sometimes hard going, 10 May 2013
By 
Marand - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Like many growing up in the 1960s and 70s, I had formed a dim view of empire, colonialism, etc.. John Darwin's book takes the slightly revisionist view that the experience and impact of the British Empire was more nuanced, less black and white that many people have assumed.

Darwin is good at setting out the European backdrop to territorial expansion as the European powers vied with each other for political and commercial influence. He also shows very well how haphazard much of the expansion was, the forces driving it, the varying nature of empire in different parts of the world. He examines the development of the Empire from Ireland through to the Americas, Africa and Asia from the earliest days of settlement - the scope is tremendous. This serves to emphasise the differing experiences of say, Canadians & New Zealanders, compared with Indians or Africans and provides a broad perspective. Darwin's aim is to be dispassionate and balanced. He doesn't hold back on descriptions of what could only be described as atrocities against those who rebelled or resisted, admittedly often in response to attacks against the British community.

I am not sure that my overall view of empire has changed significantly, and I don't agree with Darwin's opinions in certain aspects, but this book did make me think and re-consider previously held views. I will say that it is a fairly dense read and requires time and concentration to do it justice. Although I regularly read volumes of history at times I found this hard going: it did feel a bit like being back at university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of John Darwin Unfinished Empire, 20 Feb. 2013
By 
SilentSinger (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've read several books about the British Empire, and found them something of a struggle, as I'm not particularly captivated by the subject. However, I was pleasantly surprised by this effort, which I found to be a generally good read. It didn't venture into the excessive detail of some books which some books on Empire have done (and I'm thinking in particular of Niall Ferguson's and Piers Brendon's efforts here) but looking at the wider picture of Empire, mixing facts and anecdotes in well laid out in rounded chapters. It covers history impartial as you can be an issue that still raises controversy, even as the last generation involved with the Empire passes away and Britain faces a multicultural future largely brought about as a consequence of Empire. It looks in its various chapters about how the Empire came into being, how it ran, the basis of its existence, the challenges it faces and how it met its end. Darwin both looks at the benefits that the Empire brought to Britain, as well as the injustices that were perpetrated, and the methods, ultimately backed by force, that were used even when the emphasis was on trade. He also, unusually, puts the Empire into historical context, i.e. by acknowledging that Empires have always exist, and very likely to continue (through economic or soft power methods), or will undergo some form of revival in the future as new countries come to the fore that might not feel so hidebound by western colonial guilt. Like many histories of Empire, it understands that there was no project as such, and that the Empire came into being and was held together by an set of exceptional circumstances that Britain took advantage of, and which when it ended also brought with it the end of Empire.

In summary I would say this is a good read and would benefit both the student of Imperial studies and the development of the modern world but also the interested layman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Facts and Figures, 11 Feb. 2013
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The properly deserved pedigree of prize-winning author John Darwin is beyond doubt as a highly respected historian and expert on the rise and fall of empires. His latest book `Unfinished Empire' embraces the British Empire from medieval English ambitions, through the golden age of British imperialism, up to decolonization after World War II. The detail and depth of scholarly input is endorsed by the comprehensive `Notes', the specialised suggestions for `Further Reading', and the meticulous `Index'. After an introductory `Preface' the main content of `Unfinished Empire' examines ideas and options for rule, and presents the core activities of making contact and taking possession with provision for war and suppression, administrative arrangements, legal procedures and operating trade with pragmatic tactics on converts and cultures. With shifts along the way, and with defining moments, this continues through to ending of empire.

Narrative is crammed with facts and figures and often comes across as piecemeal with a degree of repetition, as instead of a linear style there is reliance on a series of themes that are somewhat convoluted. Perhaps it is geared more to academics rather than lay readers, but there is much to expand the knowledge and understanding of those limited to the usual school text approach of the Armada, Clive of India, Nelson at Trafalgar etc. or more modern commentaries on home rule in Ireland, the Suez crisis etc. Instead of a swashbuckling strategy with gunboats up the river John Darwin outlines more complicated situations with colonization involving traders, investors, immigrants, missionaries etc. as possibly more meaningful than the military and politicians. His subject is huge yet the author seeks always to allow his readers to reach their own conclusions whilst remaining neutral with analyses and explanations. In addition to descriptive enlightening text on the various forms of colonization he outlines multi-sided arguments giving insights to positive merits and benefits of the British Empire balanced with references to the negative effects of exploitation and the often brutal acts under British rule. `Unfinished Empire' may not be an easy read, but it is rewarding - and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 9 Oct. 2012
By 
J. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautifully written and well researched explanation of the rise and fall of the British Empire. Darwin describes how Britain acquired the largest empire the world has ever known. Then Darwin concludes why in logical argument. The hyperbole that other writers on empire seem to find necessary is refreshingly absent. Darwin is not afraid of condemning the worst excesses, or of praising the success of British rule, but is careful to put them into context. This is a very readable book that should appeal to both academic and interested laymen alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Empire, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a well-researched piece of academic exploration of how the British Empire rose and fell. This is not a dry academic treatment, but designed and explained so that non-academic can read this large undertaking. There is a vivid description of how Britain acquired the largest empire the world has ever known. The author does condemn some of the more terrible things done under the premise of `Empire', but he also comments on the positives that enabled relatively small groups to control vast areas of the globe, but these statements are couched in the circumstance of the time and place. This is a work that is an important read to both academics and non- academics a like. Well worth a four star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting Britain's empire into perspective, 14 May 2013
By 
Claretta (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found the first few pages hard going, but perseverance was richly rewarded. Darwin's book is cleverly structured so that though there is to some extent a chronological narrative thread running through it, it is mainly organised thematically; so, for example, there is a chapter on the problems raised by having to defend the empire, one on the different forms of government that were applied in different territories and another on trade, as well as a chapter on the end of empire. That may mean it is not the ideal book for a complete newcomer to the history of the empire, but for someone with a little existing knowledge it was a great way to get into some very thought-provoking analysis.
Darwin emphasises the diversity of empire and the lack of central planning. His book is a great antidote to one-sided views of the empire as either the bringer of civilisation to backward countries or a pure machine for exploitation. It also makes one reflect on how much Britain itself has been shaped by the imperial experience.
And Darwin reminds the reader how recently the empire was a reality that many thought would continue indefinitely. Darwin argues that even after the "geostrategic disaster of 1940-42" it was not obvious that the empire must be lost. Into the late 1950s the orthodox view was that Britain's future prosperity lay in trade with the empire and commonwealth, not Europe. That may prompt readers to reflect on what might have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and readable, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
Pardo (Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a superb book. The scale of Darwin's subject - an empire that arguably lasted 500 years and spanned every time zone on the planet - is so vast that you would think that any single volume account would have to be filled with generalizations and glossing overs, but what Darwin has achieved is a through, comprehensive, well argued and highly readable masterpiece.

I know very little about the Empire in India or Africa but, twenty-five years ago, I studied under several of New Zealand's leading historians of empire and colonization (three of whom are cited in this book - in particular Jamie Belich, whose Replenishing the Earth: The Settler Revolution and the Rise of the Angloworld is well worth reading) and have maintained an interest in the topic ever since. As a result I know a reasonable amount about the New Zealand part of this story and Darwin's grip on the details of even that very small part of his overall canvas is impressive and makes me trust the rest of what he says.

Possibly the biggest achievement of this book is that it manages to strike a sensible (and in my view, correct) middle ground between the rabid triumphant jingoism of most conservatives' view of the Empire (eg Niall Ferguson) and the self-lacerating Marxist view that nothing good came out of the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant survey, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
Rob Spence "Rob" (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Britain's withdrawal from the world stage has been a long-drawn out process. The Victorian maps of the world, resplendent in British pink in every corner, now seem quaint relics. The narrative we have inherited from those times is of a relentless, machine-like acquisition of land, all supporting the greater glory of a nation at the centre of world events. Darwin's fascinating and wide-ranging survey shows that, actually, the British hegemony was achieved largely through a series of accidents, without any master plan. He charts the development of empire, and, importantly, its continuing presence in the discourse of the state. Even now, with just a few scraps remaining of the empire on which the sun never set, there is still, as Darwin shows, a yearning for the old certainties, and an unwillingness to let it go completely. Darwin charts the rise and fall in a measured, judicious and beautifully clear account that covers this complex and contested history in magisterial style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews