Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, pure escapism
The Carcassonne Affair had me hooked from the first page. Taking in several locations including London, Ireland and France, the main character is one step ahead of danger the whole time. The vivid and beautiful description of the local area in South West France drew me in and I imagined myself being there. The plot takes twists and turns all the time and you are never...
Published on 18 July 2012 by Miss Mayne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No more than OK
This isn't awful but I struggled to get involved in the story or the characters. I took it on holiday and did manage to finish it but it didn't delight me I'm afraid.
Published 1 month ago by The Realsoulbluesman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, pure escapism, 18 July 2012
By 
This review is from: The Carcassonne Affair - a fast-paced contemporary thriller laced with intrigue and humour (Kindle Edition)
The Carcassonne Affair had me hooked from the first page. Taking in several locations including London, Ireland and France, the main character is one step ahead of danger the whole time. The vivid and beautiful description of the local area in South West France drew me in and I imagined myself being there. The plot takes twists and turns all the time and you are never sure what is going to happen next. I highly recommend Jonathan Veale's book to anyone looking for a good, well written piece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Ian Divers (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carcassonne Affair - a fast-paced contemporary thriller laced with intrigue and humour (Kindle Edition)
This is a good thriller that keeps you going to the end. I am assuming from the ending that there will be Carcassonne Affair II. Very enjoyable without being taxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intrigue, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carcassonne Affair - a fast-paced contemporary thriller laced with intrigue and humour (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this very much. Off to see if there is a sequel which I hope there is. Will look for this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing and entertaining, 19 Aug 2012
By 
Terence Watts (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Carcassonne Affair - a fast-paced contemporary thriller laced with intrigue and humour (Kindle Edition)
From the start, this story intrigues and entertains, never becoming bogged down in description that we don't really need to know to carry the story along, and yet at the same time drawing pictures in your mind by the clever use of dialogue and observation. The characters are well-defined and we soon get the measure of each of them. Conkers the dog is a great character too! An easy and entertaining read... buy it!

Terence Watts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Dr. Jones (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carcassonne Affair - a fast-paced contemporary thriller laced with intrigue and humour (Kindle Edition)
A very enjoyable read. It was straight into the action. Fun and easy to follow. A perfect holiday read. The only reason why I only gave four stars rather than five, is that is quite short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good holiday reading, 25 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs.S.Walls (BROOKLYN, NEW YORK, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carcassonne Affair - a fast-paced contemporary thriller laced with intrigue and humour (Kindle Edition)
I found this book a good distraction over the Christmas holidays, just the thing to distract from yet more food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Carcassonne Affair by Jonathan Veale, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carcassonne Affair - a fast-paced contemporary thriller laced with intrigue and humour (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable book. Entertaining, fast paced but not complicated. An ideal holiday read which would appeal to both male and female readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Small (Chester-le-Street, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carcassonne Affair - a fast-paced contemporary thriller laced with intrigue and humour (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this fast paced read - it was a very good read with many twists and turns - would recommend this book as a good holiday read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder ad melodrama in southern France, 25 April 2013
This review is from: The Carcassonne Affair - a fast-paced contemporary thriller laced with intrigue and humour (Kindle Edition)
Excellent narrative with sufficient turns to hold one's interest till the last page.
I would have liked a little more regional interest. The setting of the novel in and around Carcassonne was what drew me to it in the first place but it could actually have been anywhere. A few pages developing the setting would have been a bonus.

I will recommend to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immediately we're in the story..., 7 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Carcassonne Affair - a fast-paced contemporary thriller laced with intrigue and humour (Kindle Edition)
The Carcassonne Affair is an entertaining and humorous thriller about a novelist, Mark Brayfeld, whose latest plot
gets him unwittingly caught up in a horse racing deal which could earn the corrupt city financier a fortune. A New
York publisher offers a vast sum for the novel. Mark, fleeing a broken relationship in London for a rustic cottage
in Ireland with his dad and a dog named Conkers, has little idea what he's letting himself in for. Promise of a new
romance, dodgy Irishmen and the ex-pat community getting in on the scene.
Particularly liked the opening of the first chapter: 'It started going pear-shaped for Mark Brayfeld
on the day events in three countries coincided.' Immediately we're in the story going somewhere.
An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews