Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT QUALITY BLU-RAY
Ben and Chon (Aaron Johnson and Taylor Kitsch) share a woman. Her name is O., short for Ophelia (Blake Lively). Together they live what appears to be a perfect life in a perfect ménage à trois, happy and peaceful in their Californian, Laguna beach, home. Ben, a business and botany graduate and Chon, a former Navy SEAL, met on the beach when Chon was...
Published 17 days ago by Valerie J.

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Kushty
This film does have eye candy for everyone. Blake Lively and Salma Hayek for some, Taylor Kitsch and the other bloke for others, or all all of them if that's your bag...

As a crime film or even an action film though, it's poor. I haven't seen Traffic yet, but I suspect that Savages is like that crossed with Hackers. There are 25 year old push-biking money...
Published 1 month ago by E. Granter


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT QUALITY BLU-RAY, 12 Aug 2014
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Savages - Extended Edition (Blu-ray + Digital Copy + UV Copy) (Blu-ray)
Ben and Chon (Aaron Johnson and Taylor Kitsch) share a woman. Her name is O., short for Ophelia (Blake Lively). Together they live what appears to be a perfect life in a perfect ménage à trois, happy and peaceful in their Californian, Laguna beach, home. Ben, a business and botany graduate and Chon, a former Navy SEAL, met on the beach when Chon was between tours of duty. Together they run a business supplying high quality marijuana grown from seed which Chon obtained in Afghanistan. The business becomes so lucrative that the Mexican 'Baja Cartel' run by La Reina Elena (Salma Hayek) gets envious of their product and makes them an offer they unwisely refuse. Peaceful Chon did say they should have taken the offer. So did Dennis (John Travolta) , the crooked F.B.I. agent who takes his share of the profit for services rendered. Now O. is being held to ransom under the watchful eye of Elena's untrustworthy employee, Lado (Benicio Del Toro) and Ben and Chon need to find a way to get her back--in one piece.

Savages (2012) is a thriller that does have a number of implausibilities in the plot but the great cast, wonderful cinematography and the fantastic soundtrack manages to hold it up. It also has scenes of a sexual nature, torture, drug abuse, as well as other graphic violence and strong language, so it won't appeal to everyone. Benicio Del Toro was perfect in his role as a vile specimen of a man and John Travolta's character wasn't much better. I couldn't stop thinking that beautiful Salma Hayek looked buried and aging in that awful Cleopatra wig.

Savages has been slated by many reviewers who clearly were expecting more from director, Oliver Stone's, movie. I can only think that it is because Stone had set the bar high with his previous movies, and that audiences are getting more and more picky which isn't altogether a bad thing. For me, I enjoyed the movie from start to finish, particularly the soundtrack which was worth buying for its own sake. Savages Soundtrack is available from iTunes as well as from Amazon: Savages

I watched this movie on Blu-ray, the full unrated version rather than the theatrical version. The picture and sound quality were superb. The Special Features are deleted scenes, and a '5 part 'Making Of' with cast and crew interviews and behind the scenes footage.

Video: 1080p High-Definition Widescreen 2.40:1

Audio: English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, English Audio Description Track 2.0, Canadian French, Latin American Spanish DTS Surround 5.1

Subtitles: English SDH, Canadian French, Latin American Spanish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Kushty, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film does have eye candy for everyone. Blake Lively and Salma Hayek for some, Taylor Kitsch and the other bloke for others, or all all of them if that's your bag...

As a crime film or even an action film though, it's poor. I haven't seen Traffic yet, but I suspect that Savages is like that crossed with Hackers. There are 25 year old push-biking money launderers, cargo pant wearing 'ex Seals' with cool guns and drug cartels run by sexy but ultimately motherly figures played by Ms. Hayek (see above).

Actually, that doesn't sound all bad, but the acting and script are. I couldn't work out at one point whether Aaron Taylor-Johnson was pretending to be a poor actor because he was playing a scene where he has to act (don't ask), or whether he's exactly that. Blake lively comes over as a valley girl made out of cardboard. I don't really know what a valley girl is because we don't have them in Stockport, but I'm sticking with that description.

Turning to the script: Someone is paranoid - maybe they should 'lay off the kush'; that's a drug reference you know. And even after all the shooting's done and everyone is off on an extended gap year, Chon (yes that's his name) and Ben's weed still 'crops up from time to time'...

The skyping and the video'd executions are actually quite realistic from what I've read of the Mexican drug wars, but even they are shot in a heavy handed fashion.

Colourful, possibly youth oriented, but still tosh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'BRUTAL', 10 Jun 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Savages - Extended Edition (Blu-ray + Digital Copy + UV Copy) (Blu-ray)
'Chon' 'Ben' and 'Ophelia' are best friends and lovers
'Chon' (Taylor Kitsch) and 'Ben' (Aaron Taylor-Johnson) run a successful drug supplying business.
Their dealing with a Mexican-Cartel is about to take a turn too far for the duo, the Cartel led by 'Elena' want to strike a new deal, ' 'Chon' and 'Ben' are reluctant to play ball.
The cartel do not compromise, it's their way or no-way................'Lado' the enforcer for 'Elena' take 'Ophelia'(Blake Lively) as prisoner to get the duo to tow the line.
'Chon' and 'Ben' realize they will have to fight fire with fire sinking to similar acts of brutality dished out by 'Lado' and his henchmen to secure the release of their friend and lover.
In truth it's not the fastest moving plot , however it will allmost certainly hold your attention.
Many sequences during the film are frankly uncompromising and brutal , also many scenes containing use of drugs.
Good Picture and Sound Quality..............worth a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars *** utter shonk *** may include spoilers, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Rob Simpson "noframeof" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Savages - Extended Edition (Blu-ray + Digital Copy + UV Copy) (Blu-ray)
It's not that Savages is bad, it feels like the latest film from the latest young director on the block and not Oliver Stone. The issues are twofold. The first is the opening half hour and the abysmal narration track it establishes and the leads played by Johnson, Lively and Kitsch. I wanted them to be killed off, both because they are annoying to spend time with and the Mexican half of the story had all the interest, a world away from these halfwits that Stone is clearly in love with. The second is the dual pronged ending. The first is fantasy, the second is reality. The fantasy is the better, it gave me everything I wanted from the film, and then it was made redundant by another stupid Hollywood ending. There may be a good exploitation film in here somewhere, but you have to dig REALLY deep and when you do find it, your hands will be covered in ... well, I'll let someone else finish that sentence.

Okay, so maybe it is bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who is this Oliver Stone?, 29 May 2013
I know of acclaimed director, Oliver Stone, who released one stylish, deep-thinking, gritty classic film after another. Now, we find that someone else has only gone and stolen his name and is releasing films, pretending to be him... oh, wait, my mistake - it IS Oliver Stone.

Perhaps, Oliver Stone has suffered a nasty knock to the head recently and been duped into taking on this film when he wasn't thinking straight? Or maybe he was kidnapped by aliens and replaced with an identical clone who makes this sort of movie. Either way, it's hard to believe that the man who made Platoon, JFK and Natural Born Killers would stoop so low.
Actually, that's unfair. If you're into gangster-type films and you just so happened to watch this, you may think it wasn't that bad. Nothing brilliant, but certainly not rubbish. And you'd be right. However, it's an OLIVER STONE film, therefore with that sort of quality name attached to it, you just expect much more.

It's about a trio of drug dealers (two men and one woman), all of which are `in love.' Then, one day their threesomes are interrupted by a nasty ol' Mexican cartel demanding they take over their business. Then, to make matters worse, the Cartel Cliche only go and kidnap the two guys' girl, leaving them with no one for their ménage a trois. Therefore, they have to go on a rampage to get her back.

Now, this set-up leaves us with some awkward questions. First of all the three `heroes' are all drug dealers. They live a carefree and lavish lifestyle and it's hard to give a damn whether they get completely wiped out by the Mexicans or not. Secondly, the girl (or Blake Lively) is possibly the most annoying on-screen character this side of Jar Jar Binks. The whole first half hour of the film is taken up with her voiceover, making her come across as a voice in your head which just won't go away. Then, even when she does get kidnapped, she starts complaining about the accommodation and food the drug dealers are offering. Seriously... if I was those two guys I would have placed an add for a new threesome partner online and left her to the Mexicans a long time ago!

Plus the film is long. It tries to be epic, but it does drag in places. Then you have John Travolta, popping up occasionally to majorly overact. To counter this you have the - normally excellent - Benicio Del Toro coming across as if he's half asleep.

Don't get me wrong, the film isn't bad. There are a few cool scenes to make you sit up and take notice, but the whole package just seems a bit underdeveloped and not worthy of Oliver Stone's name.

If you really like gangster/drug deal films, then give it a go - you might like it. But, a lot of criticism has been poured on its ending. I won't give anything away, but I'll certainly say it's novel. You'll either love it or hate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very different take on a love triangle. I found it a bit far fetched but if you approach it with an open mind and that anything is possible, then I guess it's a fair depiction. The acting is very good and the complexity of the characters allows for deeper analysis and understanding of humanity. A fascinating insight into, what for me, is an unknown side of life. Worth seeing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beware strong sex and violence throughout, but very well done. We watched it on a saturday night when there was nothing much on the television. The storyline holds you right through the two and bit hours of the film and there are some nice comic touches. Great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Oliver Stone Directs Miami Vice in California, 14 April 2014
This review is from: Savages (Blu-ray)
Awful: Vacuous Tripe. Cliched dialogue, shallow unbelievable characters and 'acting', cheezy plot-line and music to match. I got the impression that Oliver Stone, great director though he can be, had been commissioned to make a movie of Miami Vice set in California. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching., 3 Aug 2013
A good film that makes you want to stay until the end. Bit gory and cruel, but worth a couple of hours of anyone's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars savages, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is very down to the bone as the saying goes, quite alot of sex in it, and very bloody in it,the director does not pull any punches at all. In fact with all the bad language and visual violence it rather spoils this film. Definitely a mans film the language is too bad for me to put it on for my wife, so I have passed it on to someone who likes that sort of film. Iwould not recommend this film. D Bowen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Savages - Extended Edition (Blu-ray + Digital Copy + UV Copy)
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews