Customer Reviews


548 Reviews
5 star:
 (356)
4 star:
 (93)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Second Coming of Expendables - bigger, badder, bolder, with a terrific Vilain and a pinch of Chuck Norris
This geriatric genocidal shootout amongst old pals, propelled by a mixture of testosterone, big guns, insider jokes, even bigger guns, martial arts and deliberately silly one-liners, is even better than the first instalment. It was clearly conceived as a pure comedy and no matter how hard you try you will not find even one serious moment in it - and I simply loved every...
Published 15 months ago by Darth Maciek

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pendable
The first `Expendables' film was mad, bad and fun to know. It took itself a little too seriously, but was actually as daft as a brush. Having the likes of Stallone, Statham, Li and Lundgren on the screen at the same time meant action fans had a fixed grin on their face. Flash forward a few years and we have the sequel that most people didn't want or need, but with more...
Published 21 months ago by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Second Coming of Expendables - bigger, badder, bolder, with a terrific Vilain and a pinch of Chuck Norris, 7 Nov. 2013
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Expendables 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This geriatric genocidal shootout amongst old pals, propelled by a mixture of testosterone, big guns, insider jokes, even bigger guns, martial arts and deliberately silly one-liners, is even better than the first instalment. It was clearly conceived as a pure comedy and no matter how hard you try you will not find even one serious moment in it - and I simply loved every second of this tasty treat! Below, more of my impressions, with some LIMITED SPOILERS and also, quite appropriately, some passably lame jokes.

1. Characters and actors

Almost all of the old cast is present also in this film and it is a mighty good thing, but two of the Expendables are nevertheless absent or almost absent. To my considerable regret Mickey Rourke dropped off and it is a pity but I can easily imagine his character from the first part, Tool, being deceased and currently residing in Valhalla, where he enjoys the company of stripper Valkyries, an unlimited supply of mead and ale and especially an equally unlimited supply of sparring partners he can repeatedly punch in the face, without gloves - and they are all plastic surgeons, something that real Mickey Rourke would probably appreciate... Yin Yang, played by Jet Li, appears only briefly and vanishes after first 10 minutes, but - SPOILER here - no, he doesn't die and therefore maybe he will be back for a longer appearance in the third part...

The rest of the gang is all here: Barney Ross (Sylvester Stallone), Lee Christmas (Jason Statham), Hale Ceasar (Terry Crews), Toll Road (Randy Couture) and my absolute favourite Gunnar Jensen (Dolph Lundgren), still as insane as he is gigantic. In this adventure they are assisted by some fresh meat, namely Billy the Kid (no, it isn't a joke), a young veteran of Afghanistan war, played by Liam Hensworth. Later on they will be joined by Maggie (Nan Yu), a sexy CIA operative, who will in this film give Barney Ross an opportunity to be protective to a young lady reminding him of a daughter he never had (exactly as in the first film)...

As we all remember one of the best gags in the first film was about the various complicated issues all those characters had in their life: age (Ross), cheating girlfriend (Christmas), money (Yang), drugs (Jensen), ear related insecurity bordering on depression (Road) and a... well, kind of problem that men who suffer from it usually solve by carrying enormous firearms (Ceasar). In this one it was decided, I think wisely, mostly to not follow further in this way, with the notable exceptions of Christmas and Ceasar's situations... )))

That being said we keep learning stuff about the Expendables and most of it is pretty funny, like the fact that one of them really enjoys cooking and he is DEADLY serious about the correct way of making his rigatoni and also that another one has got a PhD - and no, it is not the kind of PhD you immediately thought about, but a REAL one, obtained at MIT! Oh, and we also learn some surprising things about their ethnic origins...)))

2. More of everything

This was the main line of action retained for this film and the director kept it this way from the beginning to the end. You thought that in the first one Ceasar used big guns? Here they are bigger! You found Gunnar Jensen a real b@dass before? Now he is badder! You considered Ross bold? Well, now he is bolder! You liked Bruce Willis being bald? Well, here he is balder! Etc., etc.

This film has more action scenes, more violence and definitely more raw fire power than the first one - in fact at one moment a T-72 tank rolls in, all guns a-blazing! There is also much more humour with a great deal of both good and bad one liners and some extremely funny dialogs, of which my favourite is the one beginning with Stallone saying: "We are Americans"...)))

But the REALLY good thing about this "more of everything" approach" is that both Bruce Willis and Arnold Schwarzenegger have more screen time and it is used in the most optimal way!

3. ZE BAD GUY

As the villain of the story Jean-Claude Van Damme has finally an occasion to do on the screen something more interesting than his usual stuff - and he gives a great show! His character is so completely over the top that it actually helps a lot to transform this film into pure comedy. Let's just count his evil ways: a tall, muscular guy with a threatening face, dressed elegantly in dark clothes, with a clearly satanic tattoo on the neck, talking with a foreign accent and sometimes going the whole nine yards and simply speaking French. And as if all of that was not enough to show that he is the Big Bad Wolf in this story, oh, let's just name him Jean Vilain...)))

4. The delicious trashing of modern metrosexual action heroes

There is one great scene in this film involving the background story of "Billy the Kid", the youngest and most recent member of Expendables, in which both the director and the scenarist (actually Stallone himself) without the slightest doubt took a big bad shot at the modern action heroes, who are almost always tormented and scarred by PTSD resulting from all possible kind of traumas. Well, the explanation by Billy why exactly did he leave the US Army and decided to become a mercenary is absolutely hilarious and indeed parodies and ridicules completely most of recent "action heroes" and their issues...))) This message mocking mercilessly more modern action films and their heroes is then repeated many, many times, with a very literal use of brass knuckles - "you simply cannot beat a classic!" ...)))...)))

5. The things learned and questions answered

Possibly the most important thing we learn from this movie is that even if chicks with guns can have some part in action films, into some places it is the male hero that must enter - and he must go there ALONE! And no, I am not talking here about men's toilet...

This film answers also many burning questions we always wanted to ask but didn't have the courage to do it. What happens when Dolph Lundgren ALMOST has an idea? You will find the answer here. How many Stallones does it take to put one Schwarzenegger into a Smart car? Aye, we got that covered too. Can Stallone shoot people dead with his finger? Watch the film and you will learn the answer! Can Stallone at his age still lift it up? Yes, he can! OK, but can he lift it up in Nepal mountains? Affirmative! Yes, but can he lift it up in Nepal mountains, on a plane, under heavy mortar fire and with just one hand? Err... not sure here. Watch the film.

6. Other treasures and delights

The appearance of Chuck Norris is of course a splendour - the first time he shows I almost cracked some ribs laughing! You will also certainly appreciate an awkward, quasi intimate face to face moment between Schwarzenegger and Stallone, the new decoration of the plane the Expendables use, Mr Christmas disguised as a priest and many other little delights, which I will not enumerate here, because counting to infinity is a very difficult thing - even Chuck Norris managed to do it only twice...)))

WARNING FOR PET OWNERS: my chipmunks watched this film with me (from their cage they can see the TV screen) and ever since then they chase one after other like crazy and I hear them go "pew, pew, pew" and "ka-boom!" a lot. I am fine with it, but if you have a big dog it can be more problematic - so beware.

ALCOHOL INFORMATION: this film encourages somehow the consumption of weakly alcoholised beverages - after the first 5 minutes I simply had to go and get me a bottle of "Corona". Then another one. And another. In all I went through eight of them this evening and boy, did I have good time! But of course you do not have to choose "Corona" - I reckon you can also as well drink beer...

Bottom line, this is an excellent action comedy, without even one serious moment but with megatons of humour - however, it is rather a film for guys, so it may be better to watch it when your better half is busy with the latest "Twilight" marathon on TV. I am absolutely keeping my Blu-ray for another re-watch! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better then the first one!! What can I say i enjoyed it from begining to the end., 2 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Is this film clichéd? YES. Is action packed with fights ever couple of minates? YES. Is it going to win awards for individual acting performances? NO. Will you be entertained? HELL YEAH!!!!

Right you put all the top actions stars from the 80 & 90 in the same movie. You get a hell of a lot of action. The way this one differs from the first film, is they tried to put a more credible revenge plot (tiny micro plot, but a plot) into it, and Van Damn is a very credible villain. I don't think there is a 80s kid out there who did not ask the question how would win in a fight between JCVD and Stallone. Also I think the first film was more of Stallone passing the torch to Jason Stratham, but as much as I like Stratham I still do not think he is on the level of Stallone or any of the other people in the movie. This film Stallone takes centre stage as the leader as it should be, and the movie is just simply fun.

Jet Li is only in the first 20 mins of the movie he is given a five minute fight scene on his own to redeem him from the first film, which I think he does. Dolph look haggard in this film and is mostly there to be the butt of the group jokes. Having said that none of the actors are shy about laughing at each other, using each other's catchphrases. A couple of Chuck Norris jokes here and there. Bruce Willis sums up the movie in one line "Shoot something".

This movie is not to be taken seriously, it is simply the sum of its part, a bunch of 80s action stars, making an action movie, with a thin (but visible) plot, with in jokes that will not be lost on any of their fans. If you were or are a fan of old action movies watch this and enjoy. If you are looking for something though provoking watch something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pendable, 31 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The first `Expendables' film was mad, bad and fun to know. It took itself a little too seriously, but was actually as daft as a brush. Having the likes of Stallone, Statham, Li and Lundgren on the screen at the same time meant action fans had a fixed grin on their face. Flash forward a few years and we have the sequel that most people didn't want or need, but with more Schwarzenegger, Willis and added JVD and Norris. It should have more of the ingredients that made the first one decent enough. However, the film lacks something; heart. This is a film that moves along on cruise control with the actors and director Simon West, not seeming to care what happens - this means the viewer won't either.

The Expendables team are back and after an unfortunate confrontation with the villainous Vilain (Van Damme) they go out on a personal mission of vengeance. The chemistry between Stallone and Van Damme is one of the highlights of the film, but they are kept far apart for most of it. Stallone also works really well with Statham and the Ross/Christmas double team prove to be the highlights of the film. Two character team ups is enough, but the issues with the film result from trying to create too many relationships. The film flits from couple to couple as they quip off one another in an inane fashion.

The film is also not helped by the tone, although `Expendables 2' is full of one liners, as a whole it takes itself too seriously, coming across as pious. The editing is also poor; action scenes should be developed intelligently so that they make sense; who are the bad guys, where are they coming from, where are they in relation to the heroes? In `Expendables 2' you don't know who is coming from where, or for what reason. It is just a series of gunshots, people falling over and then a quip. The effects are also awful with naff looking blood splatter undermining the onscreen action even more. I lay the blame for most of the films problems at West's door, this once great action helmer (`Con Air' is still a fave of mine) fails to control what is going on. When Stallone looks like a better director than you, it may be time to reflect. All the 80s actions heroes in the world cannot make up for the directorial mess this film is.

The extras on the disc actually prove more entertaining than the film as they treat themselves less seriously than the film. And although the quality of the film itself may not be great, BluRay is the way to go as there are numerous open expanses that look great in the format, but it does also highlight some of the cheaper special effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO WHAT DID THE CRITICS EXPECT, SHAKESPEARE?, 22 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Expendables 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Expendables will always be snubbed by critics you know the ones, they'll call it shallow, dumb with thread bare characters and story and over reliant on violence. But that's totaly missing the point of what the original and this sequel is all about. It's there just to have a good time with and see all the old action hero's that we grew up with on the screen at the same time.
The Expendables 2 mostly puts right the niggles that most fans had with the original. This sequel is better paced there's more insane action, bigger battles more corney one liners and most of all more Arnie and Willis. The plot is there just to link the action and for what it's worth is nasty Van Damme wants to mine 5 tone of weapons grad plutonium and the Expendables are called in to stop him and his private army. This includes them destroying most of Eastern Europe.
From the masive opening sequence you know this film is on a bigger scale from the first. Van Damme is having a blast, Chuck Norris shoots and kills loads of bad guys and the rest of the team take on the rest. Bullets fly, heads explode, blades slice all leading up to the showdown with Stallone and Van Damme. By the end of the film your ear drums will have taken a pounding but you'll leave the cinema with a big grin on your face. The Expendables set's it's stall out to entertain without bothering the grey matter and it succeeds. Job Done!
See If you like........
The Expendables.
Rambo 1 - 4.
Red Scorpion.
Universal Soldier.
Missing In Action 1 - 3
Killer Elite.
Commando,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There back and better, 28 Dec. 2012
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Now if you liked the first one you should love this one. If you didn't think that there was enough from the first then you should like this one. I liked the first one but it lacked a bit. Mainly because theres a bit in the film where it's just stellone and statham going into the action. All the other characters disappeared at that point. It lacked the characters. And there was all this hype about Arnold Schwarzenegger being in it when he wasn't in it that long.
Now The Expendables 2 really lives up to the name EXPENDABLES. The action in it is fantastic. The main characters were in it for the whole film apart from Jet Lee who was only in it at the beginning but to me that didn't really matter because all the other characters played really well and were in it from beginning to end. Schwarzenegger and Willis got into the action at the end of the film which was really good. Even Chuck Norris came into it for two scenes. He wasn't in it that much but he got into the action scenes which is what should be expected. So I would highly recommend this film to people that like the characters in this film as it's really worth watching. Even if you don't like it that's your opinion but it really is better than the first. There is talk of the 3rd and I would like to see Steven Segal in it. But that film probably won't be out until summer 2014. But defiantly give this film a go if you haven't seen it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Sequel If A Little Silly, 15 Nov. 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Expendables 2 (DVD).

DVD Info.
Region 2
Ratio 16:9/2:35.1
Running time 99 minutes
Classification: 15

Positives.
1)Sylvester Stallone as Barney Ross & Jason Statham as Lee Christmas deliver the goods in the action department.
2)Some really cool action sequences directed by Con Airs Simon West.

Negative.
1)Jean Claude Van Damme as Jean Vilain cant act is his life depended on it.
Chuck Norris sending himself up rotten to the theme music of The Good,The bad & 2)The Ugly, It's Clint Eastwood's iconic Spaghetti Western theme not ruddy Walker Texas Ranger.

Trivia.
1)Taylor Lautner was considered for the role of Billy The Kid.
2)Tennis player Novak Djokovic had a cameo in the scenes at the airport hitting terrorists with his tennis racquet but the sequence was cut as it was seen as going to far with the humour.

Review.
This had the potential to be on par with the previous Expendables movie yet doesn't quite match up the originals premise.

Stallone as Barney Ross is fine as he doesn't skimp on the action scenes & Jason Statham delivers as Lee Christmas & features in a great fight sequence with Ninja's Scott Adkins.

What let's the movie down for me somewhat is the overuse of silly humour that sets the tone throughout the movie.

Chuck Norris walking into view to Clints The Good The Bad & The Ugly theme simply makes the movie seem farcical diluting the drama of the bearded ones appearance.

As for Jean Claude Van Dammes take on Jean Vilain well he's awful quoting "I like symbols" & "Dying like a man or a goat" is such naff dialogue it's so bad it's good.

After a mission goes wrong & a member of the Expendables team Billy the Kid dies at the hands of Jean Vilain, Barney Ross leads his team of Mercenarys to a final encounter with Vilain who's planning to detonate Six tonnes of weapons grade plutonium to change the balance of power in the world.

This results in a all out action bloodbath & revenge by Ross on Vilain for Billy the Kid's murder.

The Action delivers & is skilfully directed by Con Air/Tomb Raider Director Simon West, The opening delivers a excellent 10 minute all action opening yet nothing else in the movie stands up too.

The final fight with Van Damme could've been better but Sly proves he can still hold his own & kick ass at the age of 65.

Arnie extended cameo as Trench delivers big guns & cigar chomping humour & Bruce Willis as Mr Church is decent enough but Chuck Norris as Brooker with the The Good The Bad & The Ugly theme playing in most scenes he appears in & Chuck doesn't even get a awesome fight scene barring one punch to a bad guy.

This film trys to hard at being humourous instead of creating drama & tries to hard to top the original for spectacular action scenes.

Unfortunately this sequel doesn't have the originals heart thats missing a wonderful scene like Mickey Rourkes character Tool breaking down about letting a woman he could've saved commit suicide which was tender & heartbreaking in the original.

But it all isn't bad it's still hardcore R rated kick ass action & Dolph Lungdren as Gunnar is hilariously funny in a mad sort of way & scene steals his scenes from other actors.

Overall not as good as the original but still a entertaining slice of 80's action hokum for old school & modern action audiences to sit back, relax to & enjoy.

Timelord Rating.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOU'RE GONNA NEED A NEW PLANE, 7 Jun. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
We love the movies when the old guys get together: "Expendables", "Red", and "Rocky 24" or whatever. What this movie demonstrates is that it is not enough to get the cast together to rehash old lines (heck it would have been nice to have seen more of that) but you really need a good script and some good new lines.

The opening sequence is a quick scene of the Expendables fighting Chinese communists. The good guys have round eyes and say, "Yo", while the bad guys don't...with 2 exceptions: Yin Yang (Jet Li) who is a good guy and some CIA agent who was a bad guy. I kept trying to figure out how his presence would figure back into the plot, but the film wasn't that deep. At one point Barney (Stallone) is running in the jungle, the next minute he is flying a plane? Did my theater cut out a scene?

Church (Bruce Willis) sends our group on a new mission which includes the new guy Bill the Kid (Liam Hemsworth) who wants to make this his last mission. As a loyal Trekkie I already knew what was going to happen to the new guy in the landing party. This then leads to a "payback" mission over an improbable scenario written by someone who knows nothing about the handling and storage of weapons grade plutonium.

The film attempts to force new memorable lines on us like "Rest in Pieces" which made me cringe. Arnold and Norris provide some cameo appearances with Jean-Claude Van Damme playing the bad guy...not just any bad guy but one with a Satanic goat tattoo on his neck. Seriously?

Stallone has done better. For all the big names, this is a mediocre script.

PARENTAL GUIDE: 1 F-Bomb, no sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Track 'em, find 'em, kill 'em", 21 Dec. 2012
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
With the first disappointingly Expendables film a distant memory, they really needed to up the ante to make sure the Expendables 2 isn't just more of the same. You'll be pleased to hear then, that with the introduction of Con Air & Tomb Raider director, Simon West, they have stepped up to the plate & improved on the original.

The core of the crew from the fist film return, Sylvester Stallone , Jason Statham, Dolph Lundgren , Terry Crews & Randy Couture feature extensively. Meanwhile Jet Li makes a briefer appearance, but produces a great martial arts scene. Bruce Willis & Arnold Schwarzenegger make longer appearances this time (well they were in it for like 2 minutes in the first one) alongside Chuck Norris, the trio have some great scenes, and the humour of they're past blockbuster one liners especially, made for some great uplifting moments during the carnage. Sadly not on the goodies side, but just as well, as Jean-Claude Van Damme put in a fantastic performance as the villain, and is one of the contributing factors behind the film being better this time around.

The plot is formulaic fare, the Expendables are hired by Bruce Willis's government agent to get back some top secret information & are joined by safe cracker Nan Yu (Tuya's Marriage). However when new guy Liam Hemsworth (The Hunger Games)is killed by Van Damme's slick villain in the process, the Expendables go on the hunt for the information, and fueled by revenge. On this note, perhaps if one of the more senior members was killed off, i could had felt more empathy with them. The acting is decent, but we don't expect anything amazing, as we know when it comes to action stars, they're acting ability rarely puts them anywhere near the Oscars honor role. What we come for here, is the action! and it certainly delivers. Right out the blocks we are treated with an extended action sequence reminiscent of the compound battle scene from the first Expendables movie. The action scenes are a bit more varied, with a mixture of guns, punch up's, martial arts & an overall sleeker approach, broken up with some emotional scenes. No doubt all thanks to Simon West's direction.

In conclusion, if you want to leave your brain at the door & be entertained with loud & bloody action, then this is a must see. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expendables 2 Does What You Expect, 4 Sept. 2014
By 
Solar Fox (Where dawn and dusk takes place) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is what Expendables 1 should have been. A fun, balletic, wow factor of an action film. Expendables 2 makes the action more attention grabbing, more exciting for various reasons and allows the big action stars more displays of charisma with better dialogue and events.

The Expendables are more of the underdogs this time, albeit at certain parts of the film and of course, everyone roots for an underdog. So the interest level is raised and the action seems more important to the viewer, combined with better choreography and action angles. The heavier Iinclusion of martial arts from Scott Adkins and Jean Claude Van Damme also lend a hand to the physical and exciting display of a visually pleasing art form. The one liners are better, sarcasm, wit, comedic instances make the characters more charmed and watchable. Dolph Lundgren being as intelligent as he is, actually comes across that way for a rare time in film.

Expendables 2 doesn't take itself too seriously. The action stars look like they had a lot of fun making this, just as much fun as it was to actually watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 8 Nov. 2012
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this film was so funny! Don't expect much in terms of plot and a story line, but the actors and over the top nature of the film, combined with a bit a Chuck Norris made it a good watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Expendables 2 [Blu-ray]
Expendables 2 [Blu-ray] by Simon West (Blu-ray - 2012)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews