Customer Reviews


387 Reviews
5 star:
 (233)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO WHAT DID THE CRITICS EXPECT, SHAKESPEARE?
The Expendables will always be snubbed by critics you know the ones, they'll call it shallow, dumb with thread bare characters and story and over reliant on violence. But that's totaly missing the point of what the original and this sequel is all about. It's there just to have a good time with and see all the old action hero's that we grew up with on the screen at the...
Published 21 months ago by Phillip Sofopoulos

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good But Far To Humourous Sequel
Positives.
Sylvester Stallone as Barney Ross & Jason Statham as Lee Christmas deliver the goods in the action department.
Some really cool action sequences directed by Con Airs Simon West.

Negative.
Jean Claude Van Damme as Jean Vilain cant act is his life depended on it.
Chuck Norris sending himself up rotten to the theme music of The...
Published 8 months ago by Timelord007


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO WHAT DID THE CRITICS EXPECT, SHAKESPEARE?, 22 Oct 2012
This review is from: Expendables 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Expendables will always be snubbed by critics you know the ones, they'll call it shallow, dumb with thread bare characters and story and over reliant on violence. But that's totaly missing the point of what the original and this sequel is all about. It's there just to have a good time with and see all the old action hero's that we grew up with on the screen at the same time.
The Expendables 2 mostly puts right the niggles that most fans had with the original. This sequel is better paced there's more insane action, bigger battles more corney one liners and most of all more Arnie and Willis. The plot is there just to link the action and for what it's worth is nasty Van Damme wants to mine 5 tone of weapons grad plutonium and the Expendables are called in to stop him and his private army. This includes them destroying most of Eastern Europe.
From the masive opening sequence you know this film is on a bigger scale from the first. Van Damme is having a blast, Chuck Norris shoots and kills loads of bad guys and the rest of the team take on the rest. Bullets fly, heads explode, blades slice all leading up to the showdown with Stallone and Van Damme. By the end of the film your ear drums will have taken a pounding but you'll leave the cinema with a big grin on your face. The Expendables set's it's stall out to entertain without bothering the grey matter and it succeeds. Job Done!
See If you like........
The Expendables.
Rambo 1 - 4.
Red Scorpion.
Universal Soldier.
Missing In Action 1 - 3
Killer Elite.
Commando,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better then the first one!! What can I say i enjoyed it from begining to the end., 2 April 2013
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Is this film clichéd? YES. Is action packed with fights ever couple of minates? YES. Is it going to win awards for individual acting performances? NO. Will you be entertained? HELL YEAH!!!!

Right you put all the top actions stars from the 80 & 90 in the same movie. You get a hell of a lot of action. The way this one differs from the first film, is they tried to put a more credible revenge plot (tiny micro plot, but a plot) into it, and Van Damn is a very credible villain. I don't think there is a 80s kid out there who did not ask the question how would win in a fight between JCVD and Stallone. Also I think the first film was more of Stallone passing the torch to Jason Stratham, but as much as I like Stratham I still do not think he is on the level of Stallone or any of the other people in the movie. This film Stallone takes centre stage as the leader as it should be, and the movie is just simply fun.

Jet Li is only in the first 20 mins of the movie he is given a five minute fight scene on his own to redeem him from the first film, which I think he does. Dolph look haggard in this film and is mostly there to be the butt of the group jokes. Having said that none of the actors are shy about laughing at each other, using each other's catchphrases. A couple of Chuck Norris jokes here and there. Bruce Willis sums up the movie in one line "Shoot something".

This movie is not to be taken seriously, it is simply the sum of its part, a bunch of 80s action stars, making an action movie, with a thin (but visible) plot, with in jokes that will not be lost on any of their fans. If you were or are a fan of old action movies watch this and enjoy. If you are looking for something though provoking watch something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good But Far To Humourous Sequel, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Positives.
Sylvester Stallone as Barney Ross & Jason Statham as Lee Christmas deliver the goods in the action department.
Some really cool action sequences directed by Con Airs Simon West.

Negative.
Jean Claude Van Damme as Jean Vilain cant act is his life depended on it.
Chuck Norris sending himself up rotten to the theme music of The Good,The bad & The Ugly,It's Clint Eastwoods Spaghetti Western theme not Walker Texas Rangers!

Dvd info.
Running Tim 99 minutes, region 2 dvd.

Trivia.
Taylor Lautner was considered for the role of Billy The Kid.
Tennis player Novak Djokovic had a cameo in the scenes at the airport hitting terrorists with his tennis racquet but it was cut a seen as going to far with the humour.

Review.
This had the potential to be on par with the previous Expendables movie yet doesn't quite match up the originals premise.

Stallone as Barney Ross is fine as he doesn't skimp on the action scenes as is Statham as Christmas.

What let's the movie down somewhat is the overuse of humour that runs through the movie.

Chuck Norris walking to Clints The Good The Bad & The Ugly theme makes the movie seem farcical.

And as for Jean Claude Van Dammes Jean Vilain well he's awful quoting "I like symbols" & "Dying like a man or a goat" is such naff dialogue in the film results in it's so bad it's good.

After a mission goes wrong & a member of the Expendables team Billy the Kid dies at the hands of Jean Vilain, Barney Ross leads his team of Mercenarys to a final encounter with Vilain who's planning to detonate Six tonnes of weapons grade plutonium to change the balance of power in the world.

This results in a all out action bloodbath & revenge by Ross on Vilain for Billy the Kid's murder.

The Action delivers & is skilfully directed by Con Air/Tomb Raider Director Simon West, The opening delivers a exellent 10 minute all action opening that nothing else in the movie stands up too.

The final fight while good could've been better but Sly proves he can stick kick ass at the then age of 65.

Arnie extended cameo as Trench delivers as does Bruce Willis Mr Church but Chuck Norris as Brooker with the The Good The Bad & The Ugly theme playing most times he appears in a scene sends the film a little farcical & Chuck doesn't even fight barring one punch.

This film trys to hard being humourous & trying to top the original for spectacular action scenes.

Unfortunately it doesn't have the originals heart to the movie like that wonderful scene of Mickey Rourke character Tool breaking down about letting a woman he could've saved commit suicide which was tender & heartbreaking.

But it all isn't bad it's still hardcore kick ass action & Dolph Lungdren as Gunnar is hilariously funny in a mad sort of way.

Here's hoping though that Expendables 3 returns to a slightly more serious tone & gives us a great Villian in Mel Gibson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 8 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this film was so funny! Don't expect much in terms of plot and a story line, but the actors and over the top nature of the film, combined with a bit a Chuck Norris made it a good watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE EXPENDABLES 2, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A GREAT FILM TO WATCH.THERE IS A LOT OF ACTION AND GOOD STORY LINES WITH IT.
GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great follow up., 19 Jan 2013
This review is from: Expendables 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Seeing 'The Expendables' and having a superb watch, the sequel was not to dissapoint.

The overall sound quality and stunning HD picture really did make its true qualities shine. Exhilarating explosions, shootings and even voice audio were enough to make the room shake. Also, the picture was as clear as day, no specs to it. Brilliant audio, too.

I expected the storyline to be similar to its prequel film. Although it is, the producers didn't fail too take me off the edge of my again. The only negative response I have is that there was a bit too much action if you like. As I said, it was truly exceptional, but a bit crowdy.

I recommend this film too Action fans, give it a watch, as it won't dissapoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably a Guilty Pleasure, 21 Aug 2012
By 
Dickie "The Bear" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Now it must be said that I didn't like the first Expendables film very much, I knew what I was getting myself into before I even saw it; bad acting, a silly plot, over the top villains and action. This I knew but what I was also looking forward to was it being something undeniably cool and fun. There's no question that the cast was incredibly cool; it's even better in Expendables 2 but for me the first one lacked the decent bone crunching action I was looking for and didn't feel too fun. Expendable 2, for me, is a vast improvement in some regards; the action is much better and there's more Arnold Schwarzenegger and Bruce Willis this time around. However the silly plot, poor character development really take its toll here and the less said about the dialogue the better, that is if you can understand what Stallone actually says this time. But despite all this, I still found myself enjoying it and this will probably be the only time I ever say that Jean Claude Van Damme gives a great performance as a dastardly, if terribly underused, villain. If you didn't like the first one then it's likely you won't like this but as even I discovered, this is an improved sequel that delivers more of what I was looking for in the first. Go and see it for probably the worst but most fun action film of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time to Reload....., 25 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
the second most action (star) packed movie ever made, yes the first one deserved a sequel and well this deserves a sequel also. this movie is pretty much the same as the first but this time an interesting, but never fully fleshed out villain in Jaun Claude van damn dominates every scene hes in, which there aint many of. also Schwarzenegger and Willis this time finally join in(at the end), in the action but it still doest feel like enough for fans of the action legends. chuck Norris makes a short but sweet apearence and still no charectors other than one I wont spoil are ever explored. this feels like an even more no brainer than the first with numerous stars showing up out of the blue to get a line in. personally I think the film should of got rid of the real expendable stars (crews, Couture) before bringing in new ones. oh and fans of jet Li will be very disappointed as there is less of him than there was of Schwarzenegger and Willis in the firs one. better than the first one, but still only PRETTY GOOD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good bit of disposable fun, 20 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Expendables 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I was very disappointed in the first film. It just felt like a re hash of other films. This was much better. Although it is predictable, explosion driven and lots of big men shooting guns, I enjoyed it far more. Van damme is surprisingly good as the baddy, Arnie and willis are in it more and have some funny moments but the bits with chuck Norris were very good. A real play on how hard he is.
It's never going to win oscars, the storyline isn't brilliant and the acting is almost laughable. But. It's a good movie to sit down and enjoy as a no brainer and actually leaves me looking forward to the next. Well worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another top film, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Expendables 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I really enjoyed the first film. Again really shows of the film in blu ray. best watched with surround sound, the explosions, and dialogue just blows you away. well recommended. roll on expendables 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Expendables 2 [DVD]
The Expendables 2 [DVD] by Simon West (DVD - 2012)
5.00
In stock on July 30, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews