Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much better than expected.
Based on reading so may of the 1 star reviews I expecting something awful but it wasn't. It was a lovely story about friendship and love. The ending was pretty standard and obvious but the film as a whole was sweet, clever, witty and once again...lovely. The two lead roles were great, Adam Scott was fab.
Published 10 months ago by ButterflyBread

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but nowhere near the worst of the genre
This is an ok movie to watch. Personal I think they should just drop the romantic tag from the genre, then again I did not really find anything funny about the movie either so I guess that will have to go as well. Having said that this was not the worst representative of the genre, yes the humour is more crude than funny, but that is just the way things are going. Luckily...
Published 3 months ago by K. G. A. Alavi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but nowhere near the worst of the genre, 9 April 2014
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friends With Kids (DVD)
This is an ok movie to watch. Personal I think they should just drop the romantic tag from the genre, then again I did not really find anything funny about the movie either so I guess that will have to go as well. Having said that this was not the worst representative of the genre, yes the humour is more crude than funny, but that is just the way things are going. Luckily these were a lot less and far between. So that was liveable. The crude factor is toned done more in this movie then in others of its kind. An ok movie I did not feel as bad renting it as I did not buy it. The only reason I would give this 3 stars instead of the 2 is because the acting is a notch above usual. There are a couple of times during speeches that actually make the movie worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars WE KNOW EACH OTHER TOO WELL, 16 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Friends With Kids [DVD] (DVD)
The film starts off with some crude over the top humor at an attempt to be cute and clever. It doesn't work well and nearly caused me to eject my DVD. It then settles down to a circle of friends, 2 couples plus Jason (Adam Scott) and Julie (Jennifer Westfeldt) who are very close friends who know each other too well to have a sexual relationship.

The film flash forwards 4 years. The couples have kids and their lives are in disarray. Julie surmises she wants to have a child, be a divorced mom so she can find the man of her dreams. Her friend Jason agrees to father the child and be "100% committed 50% of the time." Things work out as they have a nanny and most important Jason helps out with the child. Their home is neat and clean unlike their married friends. They have an open arrangement and it is time for the soul mates to move on and start dating other people. At this point the comedy takes a serious wane as a shallow film attempts to find some depth. It doesn't work.

Kristen Wiig, a fan favorite was excellent in her brief role. For people who like odd romantic comedies, this might do as a rental.

PARENTAL GUIDE: Frequent F-bombs, sex, brief Internet nudity, sex talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What has happened to romantic comedy, 4 Mar 2013
By 
M. Wilson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friends With Kids [DVD] (DVD)
Okay! So the 15 certificate tells you that the film has adult content but I guess it depends on the definition of adult. This film has good moments and performances but like so many in the genre is completely ruined by guttural sexual interplay trying to disguise itself as witty dialogue. Is this Hollywood's strategy to get men into cinemas to watch romcoms? Possibly the worst and most tasteless final scene in history-discuss! When Harry met Sally is Shakespeare compared to this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much better than expected., 14 Sep 2013
This review is from: Friends With Kids [DVD] (DVD)
Based on reading so may of the 1 star reviews I expecting something awful but it wasn't. It was a lovely story about friendship and love. The ending was pretty standard and obvious but the film as a whole was sweet, clever, witty and once again...lovely. The two lead roles were great, Adam Scott was fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars friends with kids dvd, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends With Kids [DVD] (DVD)
How disappointing this film is! I was so looking forward to watching the film after all the hype and its supposed similarities with 'Bridesmaids. It was so boring but I kept watching hoping it had been a slow start and would get better as it went along! Not to be, it was one of the worst films I have ever watched, so unfair to the league of good actors and actresses that were in it. The bottom line is it just wasn't funny, safe your money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Friends I wouldn't be keeping, no Kid-ding!, 1 May 2014
This review is from: Friends With Kids [DVD] (DVD)
'Bridesmaids' was one of the more horrible offerings of it respective year, a crazily unfunny, excruciating, min-numbing exercise in desperation humour, which in the end actually forgot the humour, despite a few good lines offered from Chris O'Dowd an no one else, but it won't be the first time the beer and curry crowd got a thing wrong in such a fell sweep. And that's one of the many big problems afflicting this ill-conceived knock-about spinning top of bratty strops, shrieking harpies and backward musings on what it apparently means to have and keep a relationship going once you have kids. Which would be a good idea, but the film refuses to explore that at all, and just presents us with three couplings, two marriages that don't strike particularly convincing and only turn into snipes and snarls whenever the so-called script puts them on screen, whereas most of the time we're spent with the two singletons that decide on the killer idea to have a baby, and just not worry about getting together, just bring it up between them, but not as a unit. What a shining nugget of wisdom for a supposedly intelligent pair of adults to make, as that's so what society is based on. And, sadly, the dread non-humour and scatterbrain yelling of 'Bridesmaids' seems to be this film's nearest companion, and for me that turns this tasteless candyfluff into scrap, and that is truly sad.

Sad because it didn't need to be this way, after all the writer-director (and star) Jennifer Westfeldt made the charming, funny and memorable Woody Allen-esque 'Kissing Jessica Stein' just over ten years ago, but none of that film's witty, acerbic, earthy,winsome and somehow endearingly real and expertly characterised players are present here, and that's criminal. It's bad enough she's made her own character a grating, whining and simpering neurotic of the first disorder, but she has three decent and usually lovable and hot leading men in this, yet none of them come across as shining, and I'm still waiting for both Adam Scott and Jon Hamm to actually star in a film I can really like. I'm still waiting. Kristen Wiig, while funny in the underrated Ricky Gervais supernatural comedy 'Ghost Town' does not seem to deserve any of the accolades presently heaped on here for what she's achieved so far, ditto Maya Rudolph, who only seems to come across well in intriguing road-movie 'Away We Go' with John Kraskinski. Most of the blame, though, has to lie at Westfedlt's door. Whether woman are better observers than men, I don't know, but she's not doing her sex any favours if this is the kind of thing getting green-lit for cinematic display, and it makes me mad when other women, like the lady who shot the winsome and grossly ignored 2003 rom-com/drama 'Carolina' with Julia Stiles, and Jocelyn Moorhouse get far better results to basically zero response.

I got this on the notion the strong male star cast (rare for rom-coms, the males are usually hideous, shallow, chest-shaving, strutting barbies of a production-line, just like in action, and often horror films) would compliment the women better, and it would somewhow echo those earlier wonderful stabs of twentysomething plus angst and the pitfalls and highs of married life and relationships that blazed the trail. Yet it couldn't be further away in quality, focus or charm than Whit Stillman's superb 90s trilogy, Edward Burns's 'She's The One' (and having the man himself guest in this, mostly looking uncomfortable, showing it up as horribly wanting), 'Tadpole', 'Miami Rhapsody', 'The Night We Never Met', 'Next Stop Wonderland', 'Smart People' and Lisa Cholodenko's double five star wattage knowing relationship dramas of 'Laurel Canyon' and 'The Kids Are All Right' and even the rather underwhelming 'Lovely & Amazing', but above all, it's also crazily as far from 'Kissing Jessica Stein' as it could be. And maybe she could have done with the other girl who co-wrote that film with her.

There's so much to dismay and disappoint, not least the clumsily mishandled treatment of overlapping dialogue which Robert Altman excelled at that just turns into repetitive and aimless yelling and chiming over one another pointlessly here. Worse, the likelihood of the charmless observation that all men can't seem to want to control or even be around their kids, or know what to do with them. Really? When I'm out, I see lone fathers out with them all the time? Or that raising a kid purposely "not as a couple to avoid kid-making problems"-really?!-is the perfect solution to the easiest stress-free life for all concerned. And don't even start me on the barrel-scraping verbal exchange between Adam Scott (by now an idiot of grand proportions, well done movie) and Westfeldt, who of course burped it. Or perhaps masticated it from Kristen Wiig, who used it in a certain film earlier. Even the extras grate like a walnut whip on sensitive teeth-where everything from Ed Burns feeling he has to call these 'characters' well rounded (try all the others I've named, mate, and more I haven't) from Adam Scott calling it "way better than Woody Allen".(notice how the comparison keeps coming up), but here he's sadly off for the worst reason, and that is that this film happily stands up the same aisle as the horror confection of 'Bridesmaids', itself a pitiful 'The Hangover' for femmes, with sub-'Animal House' chuckles (if you can), with not even the black humour of 'Stag Night'.

With 'Friends With Kids', who needs singledom-and more on track with the subject matter of the title actually being explored properly. That's right, we all do? Hell, even shows like 'Desperate Housewives' even with their heightened reality for dramatic purposes do a better job at rolling out the realities of evolving marriages and growing kids over time. See this, and 'Modern Family' or 'Parenthood' (both 1989 films and the US TV series its based on), and any of the other far better movies made out there portraying this life. Jennifer, dear Friend, you must be Kidding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, 11 Nov 2012
By 
misty (Guernsey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I saw this at the cinema and honestly wished I hadn't bothered. A good evening's entertainment it wasn't.

It's about a group of friends moving on from being responsibility free to having children and how their relationships change. The woman who wrote and directed this also stars in it as one of the group who is single but would quite like a child. So she enters into this strange arrangement with a male member of the group to get pregnant and they agree to both have an equal part in bringing up the child without having to be in a relationship.

The couples who are married and have kids just end up bickering throughout this movie. If I want to watch that I can turn on any number of trashy reality TV shows at home. The couple who are bringing up a child without being in a relationship are too smug and you have little sympathy for them as characters.

The dialogue is at times cringe worthy (especially the last few lines of the whole film which literally had me wanting to hide under my seat). There is very little humour in this film. I've seen Bridesmaids and was howling with laughter. I left this film feeling depressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute rubbish, 18 Jun 2014
This review is from: Friends With Kids (DVD)
What a waste of an hour and a half. Trite, poorly acted (total waste of Chris O'Dowd's talent) rubbish. A cringe-worthy pile of nonsense which was the nearest visual thing to dragging nails down a blackboard. I thought with the Bridesmaids cast in tow it would have been at least half as brilliantly funny. But no. Don't waste your time. It was p**
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a good, funny film for adults, 27 Jan 2014
By 
C A Lane "HeavenSent" (Everywhere and Nowhere) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends With Kids [DVD] (DVD)
This film was v v funny, the opening 20 minutes are particularly funny and the dilemmas are probably recognisable by most people late 20's +. It is well written, very well acted. The lead male actor, who I've not seen in anything before (Adam Scott), is particularly brilliant. And Jennifer Westfeldt directs well from her own script whilst acting. Female Woody Allen???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good laugh makes you think how much people change, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends With Kids [DVD] (DVD)
Good laugh makes you think how much people change over the years enjoyed this a lot. Would recommend this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friends With Kids [DVD]
Friends With Kids [DVD] by Jennifer Westfeldt (DVD - 2012)
5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews