Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much better than expected.
Based on reading so may of the 1 star reviews I expecting something awful but it wasn't. It was a lovely story about friendship and love. The ending was pretty standard and obvious but the film as a whole was sweet, clever, witty and once again...lovely. The two lead roles were great, Adam Scott was fab.
Published 7 months ago by ButterflyBread

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but nowhere near the worst of the genre
This is an ok movie to watch. Personal I think they should just drop the romantic tag from the genre, then again I did not really find anything funny about the movie either so I guess that will have to go as well. Having said that this was not the worst representative of the genre, yes the humour is more crude than funny, but that is just the way things are going. Luckily...
Published 14 days ago by K. G. A. Alavi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much better than expected., 14 Sep 2013
This review is from: Friends With Kids [DVD] (DVD)
Based on reading so may of the 1 star reviews I expecting something awful but it wasn't. It was a lovely story about friendship and love. The ending was pretty standard and obvious but the film as a whole was sweet, clever, witty and once again...lovely. The two lead roles were great, Adam Scott was fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but nowhere near the worst of the genre, 9 April 2014
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friends With Kids (DVD)
This is an ok movie to watch. Personal I think they should just drop the romantic tag from the genre, then again I did not really find anything funny about the movie either so I guess that will have to go as well. Having said that this was not the worst representative of the genre, yes the humour is more crude than funny, but that is just the way things are going. Luckily these were a lot less and far between. So that was liveable. The crude factor is toned done more in this movie then in others of its kind. An ok movie I did not feel as bad renting it as I did not buy it. The only reason I would give this 3 stars instead of the 2 is because the acting is a notch above usual. There are a couple of times during speeches that actually make the movie worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WE KNOW EACH OTHER TOO WELL, 16 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Friends With Kids [DVD] (DVD)
The film starts off with some crude over the top humor at an attempt to be cute and clever. It doesn't work well and nearly caused me to eject my DVD. It then settles down to a circle of friends, 2 couples plus Jason (Adam Scott) and Julie (Jennifer Westfeldt) who are very close friends who know each other too well to have a sexual relationship.

The film flash forwards 4 years. The couples have kids and their lives are in disarray. Julie surmises she wants to have a child, be a divorced mom so she can find the man of her dreams. Her friend Jason agrees to father the child and be "100% committed 50% of the time." Things work out as they have a nanny and most important Jason helps out with the child. Their home is neat and clean unlike their married friends. They have an open arrangement and it is time for the soul mates to move on and start dating other people. At this point the comedy takes a serious wane as a shallow film attempts to find some depth. It doesn't work.

Kristen Wiig, a fan favorite was excellent in her brief role. For people who like odd romantic comedies, this might do as a rental.

PARENTAL GUIDE: Frequent F-bombs, sex, brief Internet nudity, sex talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What has happened to romantic comedy, 4 Mar 2013
By 
M. Wilson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friends With Kids [DVD] (DVD)
Okay! So the 15 certificate tells you that the film has adult content but I guess it depends on the definition of adult. This film has good moments and performances but like so many in the genre is completely ruined by guttural sexual interplay trying to disguise itself as witty dialogue. Is this Hollywood's strategy to get men into cinemas to watch romcoms? Possibly the worst and most tasteless final scene in history-discuss! When Harry met Sally is Shakespeare compared to this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable Rom-Com, 6 Aug 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Friends with Kids is the story of long-time friends Julie (Jennifer Westfeldt) & Jason (Adam Scott) who live in the same building. After seeing how their friends deal with their own recent additions to their respective broods, Jason & Julie muse about how it would be easier to meet 'the one' if you already had a child - given the biological time constraints. After this idea gains traction, the two decide to well y'know and Joe is born. But as Jason & Julie glide through parenthood with their friendship giving them an invincible veneer of mutual respect & planning, it becomes clear that the dynamic in the relationship between the two has changed. Will things click into place that easily?

Friends with kids is a fairly straight-forward premise. Whilst at first I figured it was going to be a film about being single whilst all of your friends have kids (something I am beginning to experience!) it becomes clear that this is more about friends having kids; together. Jon Hamm (Mad Men & Westfeldt's partner in real-life!) & Kristen Wiig (Bridesmaids) play a volatile couple whose relationship is based on sex, whilst Maya Rudolph (also Bridesmaids) and Chris O'Dowd (whom incidentally starred with Wiig & Rudolph in Bridesmaids!!) have a much more stable but slightly frayed relationship. This triad of relationship types allows the various clichés to play out to the respective characters.

Whilst Westfeldt & Scott's relationship isn't intangible, it just seems improbable - this maybe due to the fact that they are meant to be friends primarily but it just seemed a bit of a stretch. Both successful, functional people; it seems unlikely either one of them would be single for any fathomable length of time (he dates Megan Fox in the film FGS!). But despite the stretches and clichés this was still a feel-good film about romance. I mean forget the kid, this film pretty much glazes over the fact they had a child together, I think it's on screen for all of about 3 and half minutes. So less about children, more about the dynamic shift between two people.

Extra content: "Fun with Actors and Kids (Ad-libs & Bloopers)" featurette with the guys laughing at the kids refusal to participate at scene-critical moments. There is a commentary with cinematography William Rexer with Jon Hamm & Jennifer Westfeldt. Also audio commentary on the deleted scenes. Two brief behind-the-scenes featurettes; Anatomy of a Gag and MJ(Fox) Rocks at Video Games. Finally, there's an 8-minute making of featurette.

It's got a few laughs in (primarily thanks to O'Dowd) but in the end, it's nothing that special or unique. But please don't let that detract from the enjoyment, it's fun. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars friends with kids dvd, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends With Kids [DVD] (DVD)
How disappointing this film is! I was so looking forward to watching the film after all the hype and its supposed similarities with 'Bridesmaids. It was so boring but I kept watching hoping it had been a slow start and would get better as it went along! Not to be, it was one of the worst films I have ever watched, so unfair to the league of good actors and actresses that were in it. The bottom line is it just wasn't funny, safe your money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, 11 Nov 2012
By 
misty (Guernsey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I saw this at the cinema and honestly wished I hadn't bothered. A good evening's entertainment it wasn't.

It's about a group of friends moving on from being responsibility free to having children and how their relationships change. The woman who wrote and directed this also stars in it as one of the group who is single but would quite like a child. So she enters into this strange arrangement with a male member of the group to get pregnant and they agree to both have an equal part in bringing up the child without having to be in a relationship.

The couples who are married and have kids just end up bickering throughout this movie. If I want to watch that I can turn on any number of trashy reality TV shows at home. The couple who are bringing up a child without being in a relationship are too smug and you have little sympathy for them as characters.

The dialogue is at times cringe worthy (especially the last few lines of the whole film which literally had me wanting to hide under my seat). There is very little humour in this film. I've seen Bridesmaids and was howling with laughter. I left this film feeling depressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a good, funny film for adults, 27 Jan 2014
By 
C A Lane "HeavenSent" (Everywhere and Nowhere) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends With Kids [DVD] (DVD)
This film was v v funny, the opening 20 minutes are particularly funny and the dilemmas are probably recognisable by most people late 20's +. It is well written, very well acted. The lead male actor, who I've not seen in anything before (Adam Scott), is particularly brilliant. And Jennifer Westfeldt directs well from her own script whilst acting. Female Woody Allen???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good laugh makes you think how much people change, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends With Kids [DVD] (DVD)
Good laugh makes you think how much people change over the years enjoyed this a lot. Would recommend this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay..., 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends With Kids [DVD] (DVD)
The cast sounds like it's going to be hilarious and really good, however I was quite disappointed. I thought the trailer made it seem much much better than it really was. Very cliché and knew what to expect from the beginning of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa743ae88)

This product

Friends With Kids [DVD]
Friends With Kids [DVD] by Jennifer Westfeldt (DVD - 2012)
5.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews