Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars246
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2015
A really funny film with several big names
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
hmmmmmm..... yes. This film is amaze balls
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
Great film, a laugh a minute and so un-pc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
Great fun, so British, and so ludicrous at the same time. The movie suffers a bit from an uneven storytelling, but all the characters are charming. And who wouldn't want to see a gun-taunting Honor Blackman anyways?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
I honestly thought I'd hate this (my husband wanted to see it) but I've never enjoyed a zombie film so much! It's completely daft, but also very funny! All I can say is Honor Blackman is a revelation!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
If you had to put a Zombie army up against the most formidable of foe, who would you choose; ninjas, pirates, the inability for them to actually exist? Not if you are director Matthias Hoene, you would send those cheeky chaps and chappettes of the East of London against them. `Cockneys vs. Zombies' should be an awful film, at best you may get a few chuckles from the name, but it is actually pretty decent. Britain was around to reinvent the undead/infected genre with '28 Days Later' and whilst `Cockney' is nowhere near this standard, it does continue the trend of the Brits being able to make decent budget horror films.

What makes `Cockney' work is that all the cast and crew seem to be pulling in the same direction. This is a horror comedy were the story is played straight, but the situations are amusing. Part of the film is set in an old people's home and watching very slow undead humans chasing after very slow alive humans is quite amusing. There is no gurning at the screen and fighting for laughs, they come naturally. Most of the cast are real London actors so feel realistic in the role, they are able to fight for their survival whilst remaining true to their roots, but also be amusing.

In terms of zombie effects etc. Hoene's crew do a good job. Physical special effects are present and look good, CGI is used sparsely and this prevents the film from looking cheap. Hoene is able to keep the tension up, although there is a slight lag in the middle of the film as the pace slows. With sympathetic characters amongst both the old and young cast members you care what happens to them and there is a sense of fear. `Cockneys vs. Zombies' proves that you can make a lower budget zombie movie that looks good - they should tell `Rec 3' how to do it.

There are some limited extras on the disc, but nothing really worth watching. The DVD is a perfectly decent format for this film, as although it looks good for its budget, it does nothing that requires HD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
You know for the first 10 minutes or so I laughed and thought I was going to enjoy this movie a lot but it gradually got worse and worse as the movie went on.

Nowhere near as good as Shaun Of The Dead, Severance, The Cottage or Dog Soldiers. I even had more fun with Doghouse (which was not great) than I did with this.

I know you don't expect much of a plot with these types of movies but this film has no plot whatsoever and as much as I love Honor Blackman, Alan Ford, Richard Briers and support British movies when I can, I won't let this cloud my judgement, this movie is just a bad movie.

Easily forgettable.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
My daughter thinks it is very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
Made me laugh from start to finish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
Absolutely great fun, a scream...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)