Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devil Rides Out Blu-Ray review
I have both the Anchor Bay DVD and the new Blu Ray release, I have always thought the original effects let an otherwise brilliant film down. So the guys who re-mastered this edition have done a brilliant job, they have not ruined the film at all, total rubbish, they have enhanced it, if you watch the making of its only in small bits, blue flames behind the Angel of Death,...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. D. Price

versus
44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the original film
For some baffling reason the producers of this edition have chosen to add special effects to various sequences including light beams, a wall of blue flames, lighting bolts... in an effort to modernize the films appearance. I loathe such tampering, but wouldn't care if they included the original version as well (they aren't). I'll retract this review if they do, if not, I...
Published on 29 Sept. 2012 by Timothy Ramzyk


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terence at his Best., 17 Dec. 2014
This film for me is Terence fisher best film he has directed, and he was the best of the hammer directors, it is so gripping with good verses evil, Christopher lee is his normal amazing self, but my hat goes of to Charles gray who is trying to raise the devil plays his part very well. I loved the circle of defence with the devil trying to trick them to leave the circle. This is a must for all horror fans. And for me one of the best hammer films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Devil Rides Out, 29 April 2007
"The Devil Rides out" is a classic from the Hammer House of Horror. It is probably one of the very best, in my opinion. Christopher Lee's performance is magnificent as the Duke of Richeleau. Basically the plot line is this: The Duc de Richeleau and his friend Rex (Leon Greene) discover their young friend Simon (Patrick Mower) has fallen in with the powers of Darkness and is about to be baptized into the service of evil. The Duc is fortunately educated in such matters and finds himself locked in a duel with the deadly Mocata (Charles Gray), disciple of the left-hand path. I think this this an absolute must-see movie for all horror fans, but don't expect a slasher movie for it is far superior to that. The thrills are really all in the mind, it is alot more psychological than just some guy going around with a sharp knife killing people, which I think makes the overall effect far scarier. Highly recommended! ~ Claire Elise Archibald.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slick old fashioned scares, 16 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
Based on the work of Dennis Wheatley, reknowed for his knowledge of the occult, The Devil Rides Out, is a melee of occult practises, satanism and the usual debauchery! Christopher Lee is his usual silent and menacing self, but the really scary character is played by Charles Gray (better known for his role as the narrator in The Rocky Horror Show),who dominates the film and really does leave you in no doubt that he is playing a seriously nasty character.
Film legend states that the rituals depicted in the film were based on real events...but that's movie buff gossip for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hammer Films Best Moment, 9 May 2000
By 
10166794@scholar.nepean.uws.edu.au (australia - a long way from France) - See all my reviews
The best of Hammer Studios Dennis Wheatley adaptations, with legendary writer Richard Matheson doing a fine job making the black magic plot work on screen. The film is one of the few (though I admire them all) of Hammer's films to really retain a sence of menace, and to still have a few moments of genuine terror - even for this jaded viewer. A very fine film that basicallt deals with the battle of good and evil. Christopher Lee is very fine as the good guy, being equally matched by Charles Grey - very believable as the charming but evil Mocata. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 81 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning: New Non-Option Effects on Blu-Ray, 27 Sept. 2012
By 
Ross Gowland (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devil Rides Out (Blu-ray + DVD) [1968] (Blu-ray)
A word of warning: Hammer have announced that this Blu-ray will NOT contain the original theatrical version of The Devil Rides Out. Instead it will replace old special effects with new CGI scenes. These will be mandatory, with no choice of opting out.

Why the current owners of Hammer think there is a need for this, or even that they have the moral right to alter Terence Fisher's work, is beyond me. They obviously have no clue about what the fans actually want.

Someone Tweeted about wanting the original version and they were directed by Hammer to the pre-existing DVD. I too will stick with the older SD version until the film is given a proper Blu-ray release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Devil Rides Out on Blu-Ray, 20 Jun. 2002
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Hammer scored triumphs with this fine adaption of what was probably Dennis Wheatley's finest novel of Satanism and Black Magic. Despite budget limitations and dodgy special effects upon its initial release, the Hammer production team nevertheless generated an atmospheric version highlighted by a wonderful music score. Of course, the actors did themselves proud. Christopher Lee, ably supported by Patrick Mower and Paul Eddington, performed their parts as if it had been especially written for them. Charles Gray who was famous for providing the voice for Jack Hawkins when he lost his larynx due to throat cancer, played an evil menacing Mocata with great distinction. Now, after many years, it has finally been released on Blu-Ray with remastered scenes. The colours look more vibrant, some of the effects have been updated, notably the cloud scenes above Simon Aron's house, and the arrival of the Angel of Death during the pentacle scene. The original scene had been poorly done, with a blank background showing at the moment the Angel's face is revealed. Now, added effects has enhanced this scene and it does look more effective. My only quibble is that the soundtrack is PCM Stereo which does not sound too bad to be honest. There are some interesting extras as well which Hammer fans will enjoy. There is a discussion about the actual making of the film, and how the effects were brought up to date.

I am pleased that these golden oldie classics are being re-released in the new format. Hammer fans like me will snap them up. Roll on the new releases in the New Year for Dracula (1958 version) is expected to be one of them. Now, that will be worth waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'll Pass..., 8 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Devil Rides Out (Blu-ray + DVD) [1968] (Blu-ray)
This was on my list - a surefire upgrade. And now I hear about the changes made to the special effects. I've seen some old/new comparisons: some changes might look like an "improvement; some look much worse. But better/worse is not even the issue, is it? Put out the best version of this movie that you can and I'll buy it. Put out a changed version of this movie and I won't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Devil Rides Out., 20 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Devil Rides Out (Blu-ray + DVD) [1968] (Blu-ray)
Hammer Films are well known for Frankenstein, Dracula, and the Mummy movies, and they are all great, but in 1968 hammer adapted Dennis Wheatleys book The Devil Rides Out. . the story is set in 1929. Christopher Lee plays the Duc De Richleau, when de richelieu and his friend Rex, played by Leon Greene,dubbed by Patrick Allen, visit their friends son Simon played by a young Patrick Mower, they both suspect some thing is wrong. this then leads to finding that simon is under the power of the mysterious Mocata, played by Charles Gray. i still find this film still holds up today every time i watch it. it also makes a change to see Christopher Lee not playing the main villian. the film is in 1.66.1 aspect, 1080p, extras on the blu ray,three new documentaries, the world of hammer episode hammer,gallery. much has been said about the new ggi added, but it does not take away for me.that its still a good film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Battle of Wits between Christopher Lee and Charles Gray, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Devil Rides out, (1968), is perhaps the most remembered and famous film from Hammer Horror. It's the one that terrified audiences when first released and was in grained on the mind.

Though I hate the word dated, I do feel that much of that terror has been long lost. Don't get me wrong there are still some wonderful scenes. The spirit appearing with his eyes near the beginning and the devil himself- are done very well.

Compared to other horrors and Hammer features I was slightly let down by the film. Every character apart from Lee and Gray are wafer thin and the story fails to draw the viewer in, you really must make the effort.

I would not recommened this to someone just coming into Hammer films, as it may put them off. Despite all of this I did find the film enjoyable, but perhaps the hype over the years is not entirely justified. The film lives off of some wonderful scenes, but as a whole it could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The reason this movie is so good is the excellent script by Richard Matheson who sticks ..., 21 Feb. 2015
In 1968 Satanism was a prickly subject so it took some daring for Hammer to bring The Devil Rides Out to the big screen. The reason this movie is so good is the excellent script by Richard Matheson who sticks rigidly to Wheatley's book, stiff upper lip and all, allowing the plot to excite and thrill as it leads to a thrilling climax. The let-downs - as agreed by everyone - are the dreadful special effects which are so central to the theme and are laughable. Lee excels as the Duc de Richlieu - perhaps one of the best performances of his career - and Gray revels in the part of master satanist Mocata. The music score also jars and is intrusive. Despite the misgivings over the giant spider, the Goat of Mendes and the reverse play of the angel of death, I'd give this four stars for the effort alone. It's a pity Hammer messed up To The Devil A Daughter so badly, leading to the premature demise of other Wheatley interpretations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devil Rides Out (Blu-ray + DVD) [1968]
Devil Rides Out (Blu-ray + DVD) [1968] by Terence Fisher (Blu-ray - 2012)
£13.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews