Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devil Rides Out Blu-Ray review
I have both the Anchor Bay DVD and the new Blu Ray release, I have always thought the original effects let an otherwise brilliant film down. So the guys who re-mastered this edition have done a brilliant job, they have not ruined the film at all, total rubbish, they have enhanced it, if you watch the making of its only in small bits, blue flames behind the Angel of Death,...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. D. Price

versus
44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the original film
For some baffling reason the producers of this edition have chosen to add special effects to various sequences including light beams, a wall of blue flames, lighting bolts... in an effort to modernize the films appearance. I loathe such tampering, but wouldn't care if they included the original version as well (they aren't). I'll retract this review if they do, if not, I...
Published on 29 Sep 2012 by Timothy Ramzyk


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devil Rides Out Blu-Ray review, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. D. Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil Rides Out (Blu-ray + DVD) [1968] (Blu-ray)
I have both the Anchor Bay DVD and the new Blu Ray release, I have always thought the original effects let an otherwise brilliant film down. So the guys who re-mastered this edition have done a brilliant job, they have not ruined the film at all, total rubbish, they have enhanced it, if you watch the making of its only in small bits, blue flames behind the Angel of Death, when there was just a blue screen(as originally Hammer did not have the budget or/and time to do the effect), the Spider which always looked rubbish, its still there(no CG spider), just colour corrected and darkened so now it looks grounded and in the room, instead of a stupid super imposed spider. They also got a 4k print of it, did all the remastering of it on this, then took it down to Blu Ray resolution. Get this disc dont listen to the nay sayers, brilliant quality.

cheers
Dave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best adaption of a Wheatley book, 24 Mar 2013
This review is from: Devil Rides Out (Blu-ray + DVD) [1968] (Blu-ray)
Christopher Lee sites this as one of his best films amd you can.certainly see why.It also asks the question.why he didnt play the hero as often as he is a tremendous presence in the role.Why on eart they didnt give him the Verney role in To the Devil a Daughter though he was tremendous as the follower of Astroth.The plot demonstrates excellent narrative and is compelling probably due to the faithful adaption by Matheson of I am Legend Shrinking Man fame.Terrence.Fischer proves again he is Hammers most cosistent Director.Whatever version you choose the original are the one with cgi this is a plot and acting driven film.and you will.thoroughly.enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable and entertaining blend of action thriller and Satanic shocker., 21 July 2009
One of Terrence Fisher's greatest directorial efforts certainly is this stylish, witty and thrilling adaptation of a Dennis Wheatley novel. Richard Matheson did the screenwriting and like most of what he touches, it turns to gold. This film also has a wonderful score throughout, some superior set pieces and some decent looking special effects for its day (O.K. so maybe some of it does look cheesy and laughable). This film sets itself apart from most of the rest of Christopher Lee's career as, for a change, he plays the good guy!. In fact, he does a rather good job and the character, although a hero definitely suits his persona. Lee's character is a pronounced expert on the occult and Lee does a great job in portraying him. This was probably one of Hammer's lesser known efforts, however The Devil Rides Out is one of the strongest Satanist films in a subgenre that's usually known for powerful films. Unlike a lot of Hammer's efforts, there are no gothic monsters to be seen or unfortunately period sets and costumes. The story centers around a group of three friends meeting after sometime and finding that one of them has been taken in by a Satanic cult, and is soon to be "re-baptized" into the unholy order. The forces of good face everything from old Scratch himself to a giant spider to the Angel of Death, not to mention Mocata and his league of followers. Christopher Lee gets in a rare turn as a protagonist facing Charles Gray's sinister Mocata, a "high priest" in Satan's service. He brings all the manner and imposing stature of his Dracula character to this role and the result is one of the best hero characters in Hammer's vaunted history. The Devil Rides Out is a fantastic film and definitely one of my favorites that has been overshadowed by Hammer's more famous films. I do suggest you seek it out though, if for nothing other than to see Lee as a good guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer's finest hour -, 24 Aug 2013
Even with some poor special effects (Mainly the Spider that keeps changing size) TDRO is without a doubt the best HH film ever made - I love Horror and am fond of many Hammer films mainly in a nostalgic way but not with TDRO - It totally stands up on it's own - This film fits comfortably into the top ten greatest British horror films of all time and doesn't look out of place among the best horror films ever - Along with "The Wicker Man" this is Christopher Lee's finest hour - This film is full of surprise most other formulaic Hammer films lack - TDRO is a masterpiece -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've always liked this film from seeing it as a kid, 11 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil Rides Out (Blu-ray + DVD) [1968] (Blu-ray)
I've always liked this film from seeing it as a kid. However, even then I remember being unimpressed with some of the special effects. The Goat of Mendez sequence is excellent but the whole Angel of Death sequence later on was quite poor. What a surprise then to see the enhancements to the effects in mainly that latter part of the film. I've read here that some don't like the changes but they are very subtle and there's no replacing of original effectw with cgi as some suggest. Well, okay, they have replaced one shot of lightning that looked like it was just scratched onto the film with CG lightning but I'm fine with that.There are a couple of matte shots that now don't wobble about as they weren't registered correctly originally. The close up of the Angel of Death revealing his face now has a background rather than just plain blue and the spider, at last, looks like it actually belongs in the scene and isn't bright red any more. Personally I see nothing wrong with these enhancements. As i say, they are only subtle changes and I suspect most viewers who haven't seen the film in a while probably wouldn't even notice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hammer Classic, 31 Aug 2007
Of all the British horror films it`s "The Wicker Man" that tends to get all the plaudits, but for my money The Wicker Man has no sense of fun with it unlike this. I remember first seeing this on late night TV all those years ago & thinking "Wow what a movie". Having spoken to many people over the years whenever we talk about horror films this is allways mentioned. This is beyond any doubt one of the most underated British horror movies ever. If your new to Hammer or you`ve never seen this film & your reading all these reviews you should now be thinking is this really that good ? Well actually yes it is. The use of music is outstanding in helping to set the atmosphere, the special Fx are`nt as naff as they usually are in Hammer films, the acting by everybody is 1st class, the screen play is perfectly ballanced between horror & adventure, the edititng is spot on & set at a good pace, and to cap it all it`s actually a bloody good story ! i mean what more could you want. Put this on when you & your mates get back from the pub, there`ll love you forever if you do !

A true British classic, worth every penny even Christopher Lee rates this as one of his best film moments. What better recommendation than that can you have ? Highly Recommended go buy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarcely in the name of God..., 16 July 2007
By 
Matthew Mercy (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Probably the greatest horror movie of Christopher Lee's long career, the 1967 Hammer adaptation of Dennis Wheatley's The Devil Rides Out is one of the most overlooked and underrated films in British cinema. Along with Frankenstein Must Be Destroyed (1969), it was one of the last really first-rate movies the company produced, and features all of the Hammer personnel working at the top of their game. Alongside Lee, in what might be his very finest movie performance as the stern aristocrat who finds himself battling a terrifying supernatural evil, the film notably showcases Diamonds Are Forever's Blofeld, Charles Gray, in an excellent, award-worthy turn as a master of black magic.
Effortlessly streamlining Wheatley's sprawling novel, I Am Legend author Richard Matheson contributes an excellent script, enabling director Terence Fisher to deliver one of his paciest, most exciting horror flicks, which is further enhanced by possibly James Bernard's finest ever score. A couple of dodgy special effects aside, the film is a literate, thrilling adventure into the occult, and one of Fisher's greatest triumphs. A must-see, despite being another Hammer movie released onto DVD utterly devoid of extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the original film, 29 Sep 2012
By 
Timothy Ramzyk (Milwaukee, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devil Rides Out (Blu-ray + DVD) [1968] (Blu-ray)
For some baffling reason the producers of this edition have chosen to add special effects to various sequences including light beams, a wall of blue flames, lighting bolts... in an effort to modernize the films appearance. I loathe such tampering, but wouldn't care if they included the original version as well (they aren't). I'll retract this review if they do, if not, I suggest you add your own to the list if this practice bothers you as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hammer Horror, 3 Aug 2009
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is based on the book of the same name by Dennis Wheatley. The Duke du Richeleau (Christopher Lee) and his friend Rex Van Ryn (Leon Greene) had been expecting to meet up with their young ward, Simon Aron (Patrick Mower), for a pre-arranged meal.

They go looking for Simon to find out why he didn't turn up, only to discover that he had joined an exclusive "astronomical society". Du Richeleau believes that the young man has fallen in with a Satanist Cult, which is leady by a man called Mecata (Charles Gray). At the party Rex takes a shine to a young woman called Tanith, who it turns out is the medium that Mecata requires for his occult practices.

The Duke must fight time, evil and scepticism to save his friends.

Christopher Lee is excellent as de Richeleau, and is matched by the malevolence of Charles Gray as the evil Mecata. Of the entire cast, the weakest for me has to be Patrick Mower (but he was only at the start of his career in this film).

This film was made as part of a deal with Christopher Lee (who was a fan of Dennis Wheatley's work), and is said to be one of his favourite films. Mr Lee is one of my favourite actors, so I may be a little bias.

I have to say that I have been a fan of Wheatley's work since I was a child, but when ever I managed to save enough to get a book my father would find it and, when I came home from school, we would have a ritualistic destruction of the text, along with comments about witch-craft, black magic and the occult. I hate to think what he'd do to my collection if he could see it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer Great, 14 Sep 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This marvellous film is one of Hammers best ever. Really only Dracula and The Hound of the Baskervilles are in the same league.

Christopher Lee plays the Duc De Richeau with the same passion he plays normally plays bad guys. Charles Gray is excellent as Mocata, the leader of the devil worshipers. Other noteable actors that you will know are Patrick Mower and Paul Eddington.

The director is Terence Fisher who consistently proved himself to be the best Hammer director. The film is gripping and if the special effects look very primitive now you should not let it detract from what is otherwise a great film.

At the time of writing this I do not know what (if any) extras will be on this DVD, but the region 1 edition I have has a commentary by Christopher Lee and others which is quite fascinating and well worth getting. Even without the commentary this is still an essential purchase for Hammer and/or horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devil Rides Out (Blu-ray + DVD) [1968]
Devil Rides Out (Blu-ray + DVD) [1968] by Terence Fisher (Blu-ray - 2012)
£14.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews