Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars92
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£15.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2016
A true classic paring of Peter Cushing as Dr Frankenstein & Christopher Lee as The Monster. This is the uncut version & is superb. If you like Hammer Horror films you must have this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
Excellent film history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2016
Lionsgate U.K. have gained the rights to Curse of Frankenstien
and have given the film a new HD restored transfer in 2 screen ratios
the 1st is the original Theatrical ratio full screen 1:37:1
and the 2nd is new wider ratio of 1:66:1 which looks incredible, much better than the old full screen format
the picture looks very Good very nice sharp & clear restoration in both ratios
the version is Uncut runtime at 86mins so there's some extra scenes that have been inserted back in the film
that wasn't in the original dvd version, the extra scenes are more Gore scenes
that were to much to handle for the British censor board back in 1958 so they were cut out
these extra scenes are very Lame now compared today's Gory scenes
the new 1:66:1 ratio which is my preferred ratio looks much better than the old full screen format
i still get black bars on either side of my widescreen TV but they're only about 1 inch in width
so obviously the wider ratio is much better to watch
the sound quality is much better sounding in new Master audio stereo mix, the old dvd version was only Mono sound
so the sound quality has been boosted up for sure
Lots of new special features
a new retrospective featurette FRANKENSTIEN REBORN made just for this blu-ray release-35mins runtime
new interviews with writer Jimmy sangster, Hammer historians Marcus Hearn, Johnathan rigby
and others are interviewed talking about how curse of Frankenstein came to be filmed
LIFE WITH SIR Documentary
which is a Doco on actor Peter cushing, Peter cushing's secretary and eventually his carer Joyce broughton
is interviewed about his Peter's Life, emotional interview more about his personal life rather than the Hammer films he starred in
there's also TALES OF FRANKENSTEIN TV pilot which was broadcast to TV back in 1958
Digitally remastered in 1:33:1 ratio
there's also the world of Hammer featurette-curse of frankentein
plus a bonus film FOUR SIDED TRIANGLE
plus trailer and photos, all this on 1 Blu-ray Disc incredible
time to upgrade for sure, 5 stars for this blu-ray
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
I understand that the original elements have degraded but sadly not even the leap to HD makes the film look any better than the DVD. Its washed out and tired looking and its a real pity that the company could not locate a better print somewhere as this is an important film in the Hammer cannon. There are some great extras and I do believe that the best was done as could be but still a disappointment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
terrific especially the bonus disc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
Great piece of Hammer history, Cushing does a good job of portraying a driven Dr Frankenstein heading to his own doom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
Great price - fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
One of the classic hammer productions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
Classic horror from the Hammer studio's, the great Christopher Lee in his only performance as the Monster, Peter Cushing is a brilliant as ever, it's very innovative in it's makeup/prosthetics for it's time, very good adaption of Mary Shelly's novel, which like Bram Stoker's 'Dracula', 'The Mummy' Robert Louis Stevenson's 'Dr Jekyll & Mr Hyde' I had when I was a boy at school from a book club, on Ladybird Book's, I like the new bonus feature's on the DVD, the original film poster artwork and the documentary about Peter Cushing, wonderful!.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
Great film .... Very funny Christopher lee as the monster
I love Peter Cushing as dr Frankenstein
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.