Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A PROJECTIONIST VIEW WHO WAS THERE.
To put this aspect ratio into perspective I offer the following

I was a Projectionist showing this film at the ABC Cinemas In Dewsbury UK & it was shown in WideScreen
as all films after THE COMMAND with Guy Madison (First Warner CinemaScope film)to be shown on the ABC circuit.
All NON SCOPE films were shown in a ratio of 1,66 to 1.85,depending on what...
Published on 23 Oct 2012 by Paul Scott

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tarnished jewel
So far I have been really pleased with the successful revival of the Hammer brand, especially the fact that the `new' Hammer has shown a welcome commitment to their legacy by investing in this restoration programme. The HD versions of Dracula Prince of Darkness, Plague of the Zombies, The Reptile (and Quatermass and the Pit and Paranoiac) have been excellent, as I'm sure...
Published on 23 Oct 2012 by Tony Floyd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The remake of The Curse of Frankenstein staring Peter Cushing ..., 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse Of Frankenstein [DVD] (DVD)
The remake of The Curse of Frankenstein staring Peter Cushing as the devil of suffering with Christopher Lee the monster is a techicolour film for mild horror fanatics. A young Melvin Hayes plays Peter Cushing as the teenager. The DVD is a double with the film and the making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first and best of hammer gothic, 26 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
the film that was solely responsible for sparking new interest in old gothic horror, this is hammer studios at their finest.
with first rate acting by all concerned(especially peter cushing and christopher lee), brilliant screenplay and convincing sets, what better way to start Hammer's long-running series of horror films than an adaptation of Frankenstein.
it only proves to me that a studio does not require a huge budget with which to produce a film.
Peter Cushing easily made the title character his own - observe his mannerisms of callousness and evil and you will see why.No other actor has come close to equalling let alone surpassing his portrayal.
Christopher lee is somewhat more of a psychopathic creature to that of Boris Karloff, but still plays the part very well.
I had to wait 10 years before i obtained my own video of this film, but worth every moment.See this film and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hammer's original and best, 24 Feb 2001
By A Customer
The first hammer horror in colour - what a film! The acting is sublime (Cushing's obsessional lust for body parts making him the greatest screen villian ever), the set design and photography first class, and the story played out with a real sense of pathos and suspense. The body parts themselves are tame by today's standards, but the real horror comes in watching the professor lose all kind of perspective in the interest of "science". This is a far scarier vision of the future than Schwarzenegger's "Sixth Day".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice presentation., 17 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. Dg Howes "Mazzariniuk" (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1957] (Blu-ray)
Well after all the negative press this release has received on the internet, I was surprised at how happy I am with it. The ratio and A/V quality are covered in great detail over at the Hammer Blog [...] For those with an issue regarding the lack of promised booklet, the cover states that it is a PDF file on the bonus DVD, have checked and it is there, hope this helps. Two thumbs up, just my opinion though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1957] (Blu-ray)
Well, I read the reviews and hummed and hawed before buying the Blu Ray; in the end I decided to throw caution to the wind.

I'm afraid I have to side with the nay-sayers. While it may be true that a top quality rendition of poor quality elements can at best yield a beautifully bad image, I find it hard to believe the restorers couldn't do better than this, even if it meant a greater amount of digital tweaking. As several other reviewers have pointed out, the Warner DVD appears sharper and with better colour.

The extras certainly are amazing, but really the sole reasons for buying this disc.

One hopes the upcoming "Dracula" will be an improvement (a major one).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars excellent film,terrible blu ray transfer!, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1957] (Blu-ray)
This film is superb! My bad comments are only on the lame blu ray transfer!
The picture quality of this blu ray is no better than previously dvd's.
It seems like no digital restoration has been made! The worst picture quality blu ray i've seen so far.
If the future hammer releases on blu ray will have this kind of picture quality,better save your money-don't buy it.
I hope that Lions gate will not make the same mistake with dracula 1958.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Curse of Frankenstein, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1957] (Blu-ray)
the Curse of Frankenstein. Well this is basically what kicked started Hammer horror. Being born in the 90s, this is the first time I have watched this. I have purchased, most if not all the Dracula dvds, the hammer collection 21 dvd set as well as a few other titles. For me the main ones I first wanted were, Dracula, The Mummy and this one.

This starts off with Baron Frankenstein in jail and tellng a priest what he has done, this then turns to the baron as a young man and up to adult which then follows Baron Frankenstein doing experiments and creates the creature. Peter Cushing plays the Baron brilliantly, this could very well be my favourite appearance of him. Theres a good documentary about him on the extras which ill get into later. The Creature is played by another hammer legend, Christopher Lee. The make up for the creature, is very good and directed fantastically especially when we first see the creatures face for the first time and the build up.

As you know now the film is in 1.37:1 which at first is a little of putting but soon, doesnt even matter. At the moment I have watched the other aspect ratio yet, so I cant comment.

The Special Features, are really good a few good documentary about the making of the film, Hammer horror and Peter Cushing himself. Some are on both the dvd and blu ray versions and some are not.

Overall, I really enjoyed this Hammer film and look forward to getting some more on blu ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so bad: bad things come from 1957not bluray transfer, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1957] (Blu-ray)
i compared it with the Warner hoùe video everybody knows: the bluray doesn t have more definition cause it was filmedwith poor conditions , limited budget but it has better colors no compression artifacts, better sound and the uncut eye scene in.

you can also seemore image up and down in the 1.33/1 version wich is the best.

you have also those bonus features that justify the bluray alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Grain then a Saw Mill !, 30 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: The Curse of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1957] (Blu-ray)
OMG ! I'm a Hammer Fan & was so looking forward to this. But the Blu-ray is terrible the picture quality is ghastly so bad it almost look like the picture is ghosting in some scenes I certainly won't be getting rid of my Warner Bros original box set of The Curse.../Dracula/The Mummy. The picture quality on these is superb.Really the Blu-ray is not worth the money, I just hope Dracula has had a better treatment then this one ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankie Goes To Bray Studios, 31 May 2010
By 
Cinema audiences familiar with the creaky old black and white "Frankenstein" films of the 1930s and 1940s, made by Universal, must have been in for a huge shock when this film came out in the late 1950s! This was very much Hammer's version of Frankenstein, in full colour and more graphic and gruesome than anything that had preceeded it!

This film, probably more than any other, started the great "Hammer Horror" cycle and the studio went on to make successful horror films for the next twenty years. "The Curse Of Frankenstein" also made big stars out of Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee and introduced director Terence Fisher as a major talent in the horror genre.

Some films that were made over fifty years ago don't hold up too well when they are seen today but "The Curse Of Frankenstein" does. This film became the blueprint for the Hammer style with its stunning photography, atmospheric use of colour and lighting, superb production design and scary music. If you are a serious horror fan (or even a frivolous one) and you have not seen this movie then it's about time you did! This is one of my favourite horror movies of all time and is an extremely important and significant film in the history of horror cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Curse of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1957]
The Curse of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1957] by Terence Fisher (Blu-ray - 2012)
£17.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews