Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2013
Firstly, I love the work of Tina Dico. I do own all her back catalogue. Music is such a personal thing that I am reluctant to write reviews. I was however very interested to read the reviews about this album having owned and played it now for a few months. Of her recordings this is my least favourite.
It's obvious that Tina is experimenting with different sounds, sometimes this works for an artist, sometimes it doesn't.
The song-writing is to her usual high standard, it's the arrangements around some of the songs that I struggle with.
The songs which work for me are "Moon to let" "the tip of the iceberg" "Where do you go to disappear" and "You leave you learn"
The songs which I struggle with are "we're all experts" and"The time of our lives" because of the over powering bass arrangements.
"True North" which is a fantastic song but marred by the electronica, listen to the live version on Tina's "live with the Danish Orchestra" for me it's a far better version.
To conclude I wanted to bring a balance to the reviews published so far. As a lover of her music, for me it's very much a mix of highs and lows.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2012
Having purchase a few Tina Dico albums, for me this is her best yet, from start to finish every track is wonderful, we,re all experts is my personal favourite, but her talent for writing makes it hard to pick and choose so I recommend you buy this wonderful album and enter the beautiful world of Tina Dico.Where Do You Go to Disappear?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
I would view that Tina Dico is one of the most underated singer-songwriters who seems to be totally overlooked by the UK music scene, her previous records have been tour-de-forces, however this latest album lacks the intensity of the earlier work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
A little time away and starting a family seems to have worked magic for Tina ! This new album is quite superb.. the variety of styles showcased on the album create a masterclass of songwriting and vocal dexterity. Cannot recommend highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
I really like Tina's latest album. It may not be as accessible as the trilogy, but it's definitely a grower. What I really like is that Tina is not just bringing us a clone from her latest efforts, but brings us a new sound. The album still sounds like Tina, but there's new things to discover. The new electronic touch suits her songs really well. At the same time, fans of her classic songs will still find enough reasons to like or even love this album (e.g. the fantastic "Otherside").
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
I only discovered Tina's music this week purely by accident...and I am completely hooked! She is a brilliant songwriter and this album is the most beautiful I have heard in a long time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
Tina Dico, always delivers a new direction with her music.
Tina combines a range of moods with stories to suit.
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
This is great, but not really recognisable from the disco I used to enjoy in the 1970s.
To be honest, I think Tina has done a great job here, an easy-listening, enjoyable and thought-provoking future classic, brilliant.
My only criticism?: If you're going to adopt "Disco" as your surname, please, please, please at least reference the genre!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Very Good Album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.