Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help i'm an addict
So, there i was having spent the best part of a year playing Dark/Demon Souls and all of a sudden my gaming life felt empty, don't get me wrong i was still playing some great games but that little something special was missing. So after all the stuff i had heard and read about Ni No Kuni i thought i would give it a bash. 60hrs of game time have now passed and apart from...
Published 13 months ago by RAMPAGE AKA RAMPS

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's like Kingdom Hearts meets Pokémon. Sounds good on paper but...
Here's a simple list of + and - checks.

+ Positives:
* Beautifully designed, acute details
* Old-school world map
* No grinding necessary
* Great soundtrack
* Charming story, above average voice performances
* Nice implementation of encouraging use of defending

- Negatives:
* Ultimately too easy
*...
Published 10 months ago by Gunny


‹ Previous | 113 14 1518 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Here is a review from a lifelong jrpg fan., 6 Mar 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ni No Kuni - Wrath of the White Witch (PS3) (Video Game)
The aim of this "review" is simple: to list the negative points of this game, seeing as every other review seems to be blissfully ignoring them to the point of ignorance. I should also mention beforehand that I love Studio Ghibli and anime in general, but that doesn't mean I'm gonna suck up.

I'm 73 hours in and somewhere along the line it started to become tedious and repetitive. Yes, the visuals are gorgeous and the return of old school jrpg features such as the world map is fantastic, but that's really all I remember fondly about this game.

One thing I had issue with as I played this game was that it - pardon my language - blows its load too early. At the start I thought, "Joe Hisashi doing a videogame soundtrack?! Yes!!" But then I realized after the first 10 hours there are no new tracks for towns or dungeon at all. The same four or five tracks are recycled over and over again. Granted, there are three or four amazing tracks, such as the World map, secret islands, golden grove and final boss tunes, but as for the rest....unforgettable and bland - especially that battle tune - goes right through my head, and doesn't work at all.

The battle system is dreadful, and I'm not usually picky about this aspect, considering I still play old ps1 turn based combat games and enjoy them; They (the battles) are extremely repetitive and bland, the familiars are boring, in general, and the "special moves" are just unartistc flashes of blue light - it's almost pitiful - final fantasy vii had better attack effects. I recently played tales of graces f, which has an excellent combat system - I'm sure it's not that hard to make a good one, as the tales series have been doing it for years.

As for the "story" it's a real bare bones affair and is similar to watching paint dry. The side quests are simplistic ans refreshing at first then they become depressing. Here's an example: In the first town a guy loses his diary. Oliver recovers it, and completes the quest. Onto the next town and look who's lost his diary again... Rinse and repeat throughout every town, until 40 hours later you'll want to throttle him when he asks you to find it for the 7th or 8th time. What were level 5 thinking with this laziness? Did they think we'd find these quests endearing?

Onto the voice acting, or what little of it there is. Because dont let the opening 5 or 6 hours fool you; there's barely any of it. At some point about halfway through the game, voice acting is only present for about 10% of dialogue. Not that it really matters, all this game talks about is crap anyway. "I will defeat Shadar!" "Mom..." and "The chosen one...Oliver" is all I really remember them ever saying in voiced dialogue.

As for the characters, well they could be worse. But they don't really say or do anything of interest through the whole game. There is really nobody interesting but Pea and Shadar. Oliver is a drip, and Esther is just there to bad mouth Swaine, who is level 5s idea of a teenager/tramp of some kind.

One more thing: I'm not trying to troll. I decided to write this one sided "review" whilst I was playing the tedious final level today after college and, whilst getting assaulted by stupid monsters which can literally be defeated by just tapping x, I realized that I hadn't felt any enjoyment playing this except for the world map. That's sad, in my opinion.

People must really be desperate for old school jrpgs if they're desperate enough to compare this with the classic final fantasies 6-10, because it's nowhere near that level of quality. Also, if you want to play the real "best RPG" since final fantasy ix then go and buy Xenoblade Chronicles for the Wii. Now that, is the definition of an amazing RPG with fantasic gameplay, story and music. Google Sartol Marsh Nighttime music and sit back and enjoy.

PS: sorry for not writing a constructive, unbiased review, that actually makes sense. I just want people to be able to see that there are problems with this game and the hype is over the top.

Ultimately, I'll be trading this in one I've completed everything there is to do, so I get my money's worth. But then begins the wait for something I'm sure won't sell as much, but will be considerabley better - Tales of Xillia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ni No Kuni - Wrath of the White Witch (PS3) (Video Game)
Got it for my boyfriend. He says it's amazing. And he plays a lot of games so he knows :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just plain awsome, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ni No Kuni - Wrath of the White Witch (PS3) (Video Game)
First i want to thank Level 5 to make such a great game, 2nd i would like to tell that i haven't plaued such a great RPG since Final Fantasy series for the PS1. Now onto the review, let me tell you guys that the thing i like most in theis game is... THE GAME ITSELF.
Then what i don't like is.... NOTHING. My rate goes 5* because the game deserves that in all aspects. Music, Gameplay, Menus, Difficulty.. everything. I would recommend this to all the people who like RPGS not just JRPGs but the RPGS overall. Last but not least, since i'm writting this review on Christmas Eve, i want to wish a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to Amazon and all it's affiliates and to all the people who shop with Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No no no no no!!!!!, 9 Jun 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ni No Kuni - Wrath of the White Witch (PS3) (Video Game)
That is just how I felt when I came to the end of the truly stunning game. If I'm being honest, I felt a little sick when I knew I was approaching the final boss battle, knowing that this little peach of a game would be no more.

This is my first review, and for a worthy title. Do you have a spare 30. Well invest it in this, proper tidy init (you'll get what I mean when (and you have to) you buy this absolutely stunning game).

Now stop reading and click on purchase!!!!!

Seriously, stop reading and just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ni No Kuni - Wrath of the White Witch (PS3) (Video Game)
MY FRIENDS AND I LOVE THIS GAME. CANNOT GET RID OF THEM. KEEPS AS QUIET FOR A LONG TIME. GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghibli, meet jRPG, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ni No Kuni - Wrath of the White Witch (PS3) (Video Game)
As a long, long time fan of Ghibli's amazing creations and as someone, who loves new, amazing worlds, I have to say this one didn't really meet up with the standards Ghibli have set to me in Porco Rosso, Castle in the sky, Spirited Away, and other amazing creations of the mind of Hayao Miyazaki. Nevertheless, it tries really hard, and I can accept the fact that turning a world that could be barely represented in a 1 hour movie can get kind of boring after 50 hours. On the upside, this game can really be played by children of all ages, and even their parents can get a few laughs out of it. The actual combat has to be one of the bigger downsides of the game, I'm not really going to go into it in this quick description, but it could've been done better. Music is pretty much "okay", it doesn't really dig at you but it doesn't really stand out like some top titles have managed. It fits the game world just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Greatest JRPGs Of All Time, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ni No Kuni - Wrath of the White Witch (PS3) (Video Game)
I will keep this short as many other reviews here will cover the big points. All I will say is, it's brilliant. One of those games that, while you are playing, you have a big smile on your face because of just how beautiful it all is. If you have a PS3, you owe it to yourself to get this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic JRPG, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ni No Kuni - Wrath of the White Witch (PS3) (Video Game)
A fantastic purchase for either:

- Starting young gamers on their first JRPG
- A fantastic story in another astounding ghibli setting.
- A challenging game with plenty of side-quests to get stuck into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited, 6 Feb 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ni No Kuni - Wrath of the White Witch (PS3) (Video Game)
This IS JRPG at it's best. It reminds me of old school rpg;s. Graphically pleasing and very addictive. My only draw back is when entering some places the save relies on save stones and when you built up HP/MP and other items you cannot just quit the game as you lose any unsaved data. Were as in other places/worlds you can save at any point. But for that near Perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Masterfully flawed., 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ni No Kuni - Wrath of the White Witch (PS3) (Video Game)
Ni No Kuni is one of the most well made games I have ever had the pleasure to experience. The graphics are wonderful, always awakening the sense of a magical adventure only present in the very best cartoons. I say cartoons because Ni No Kuni has been collaborated with Studio Ghibli, one of the most famed Japanese animation studios in existence so not only does the game look like one of their movies in video game form there are also gorgeous fully hand drawn animated pieces that highlight the most important events.

The story in the game follows Oliver, a young boy that after a very traumatic experience awakens a magical fairy that takes him on a journey to another world. It certainly will seem familiar if you have seen any of Ghilbi's movies and while the story in Ni No Kuni stutters at times it manages to be a very emotional tale about loss and friendship. It certainly has problems in its pacing, a movie is 2 hours while this game will take you up to 60 hours if you want to do everything so its easy to see how it can drag. Which it will at parts, though its never enough to take away from the greater whole which is one of the biggest and most well made role playing games you can find.

Battling in Ni No Kuni you will do a lot, it is very much the meat of the game. The combat plays out in the following. You have a party of members who each can have tree companions known as familiars. These familiars will surely be familiar if you ever played a pokemon game. They are basically wild creatures that you have the ability to catch and then use to fight for you. Battles happen in real time where you can change between the tree active familiars or the character themselves which also has magic spells available to cast. Unfortunately the combat just lacks something that holds it away from being as good as even Pokemon. Pokemon was always straightforward but simple, Ni No Kuni tries to be more complex but never manages to make as much sense. The biggest problem I think is in the AI of the character you are not currently controlling, their behavior never gets in your way but they will also not do much to help. Most battles its just you with some small backup, and that is fine because the game is pretty easy, at least until you finish the game and get to the post game content. In the end the combat just doesn't feel that engaging and there is so much of it that you might tire of it after a while, but the other things in the game are so good that it won't matter.

That is really the point I want to come across. Ni No Kuni is a wonderful game, but it has enough flaws to keep me from giving it a perfect five score. Though I fully recommend it to anyone that is known to like Japanese role playing games in the past. It is so well made and so much passion has gone into it. The world is huge, the game is super long, there is so much things to do. It even has tons of content after you finish the main quest. I wish more games did this and had tons of optional bosses and quests to send you on after the credits have rolled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 1518 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ni No Kuni - Wrath of the White Witch (PS3)
Ni No Kuni - Wrath of the White Witch (PS3) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation 3)
14.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews