Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Example of a LIVE recording beating the Studio!!, 9 May 2013
By 
Cornish Deadhead "Happy Harv" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Get All You Deserve (Bonus One Blu-Ray and 2CD set) [DVD] [2012] (Audio CD)
I have said elsewhere that Steven Wilson has been spreading himself a bit thin and as a result some of the more recent recordings have not been up to par - well this one certainly is bang on the money!!

Whilst the quality of the CD recordings is very good, it is with the blu-ray that the quality knocks your socks off in my opinion. It is well know that SW has worked closely with Robert Fripp, indeed he was responsible for some of the work involved in the masterful Larks' Tongues In Aspic (40th Anniversary Limited Edition), and after listening to the music contained within this set, I consider that I can hear some influence from Mr Fripp - not that it is a bad thing mind you!

There are splendid musicians assembled for this concert recorded in Mexico April 2012. If anyone has any doubt as to whether SW is producing progressive rock, then this show will illustrate that he is without doubt. All the tracks have more impact and power than they do in studio versions, indeed I found Grace For Drowning a little disappointing if I'm honest. Whilst many of the vocals do not carry much of a melody, the instrumental passages which in many cases really stretch out are often superb with Theo Travis' (sax, flute, clarinet, keyboards)wind instruments often adding a jazzy tinge to the proceedings.

The packaging is the weakest point being a small cardboard fold-out with about the worst plastic clips to hold the discs in place that I have come across, however considering the number of discs which enable you to play it just about anywhere, the price isn't too bad.

If you enjoy Steven Wilson's work, then I anticipate that you will love this set - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polished, 22 Sep 2012
By 
Sordel (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Get All You Deserve (Bonus One Blu-Ray and 2CD set) [DVD] [2012] (Audio CD)
It's testament to Steven Wilson's boundless energy that the most excited person appearing in this superb concert movie is not in the audience: it's Wilson himself, whose enthusiasm for his touring band and his music is obvious throughout the full performance.

In 2010 we got Anesthetize, a film of Wilson's 'other' band, Porcupine Tree, that promised to be for some years the gold standard of his performances on video. Since then, however, Wilson has recruited an entirely different band of world class musicians and here he encourages it to open up material from the Grace For Drowning album. This band is capable of a notably more jazzy sound at times thanks to the presence of Theo Travis on woodwind and Adam Holzman on keyboards. At the same time, though, one of the best rhythm sections in music today (Marco Minneman on drums & Nick Beggs on bass/stick) ensures that the rockier sections have tremendous impact. Add in Wilson himself on whatever he happens to be playing at the time and Niko Tsonev on guitar and you have a band capable of effortlessly handling the original material.

In picture terms, this disc is very good, with slight signs of granularity & colour saturation on a big screen, but nothing amounting to a real defect. Camera coverage is very good indeed, especially once you get past the early songs, which are performed behind a gauze. The real glory of the set is the sound, though, which bears out Wilson's reputation as one of the best surround mixing engineers in the world today; for example, you don't just get the crowd in the rear speakers, you also get some lovely effects such as the choral effects. Audience sound is not obtrusive and the stage sound is studio quality. My only quibble is that the bass is lower in the mix than I would like: often you can see what Beggs is playing more clearly than you can hear it, which is a shame given his very athletic lines.

This set features DVD, Blu-Ray, & two CDs: a generously comprehensive package for the money. If you do not already have Grace For Drowning, this would be a very good alternative purchase, and includes also the new track, Luminol. Fans of Wilson will already have bought this, probably, but I'd also recommend this set for newcomers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Musical Genius, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get All You Deserve (Bonus One Blu-Ray and 2CD set) [DVD] [2012] (Audio CD)
The ' Get All You Deserve' set is the live culmination of two studio albums and proves that Steven Wilson is not just brilliant in the studio. This set is not the only live album from this tour, to get the bills paid and get the tour around Europe he had to raise money quickly so he produced a limited edition of 3000 cd's called 'Catalogue, Preserve, Amass' which was largely made up of the first gig at Shepherd's Bush, London. It was a big success, sold out quickly and can now only be found on auction sites, it shows his determination to make this tour happen. This set is more slickly produced and the 5.1 surround sound on the DVD is just awesome which I suppose is not surprising seeing as Robert Fripp is letting him do all the mixes on the King Crimson back catalogue.

Steven Wilson never sits still, how he finds time to keep so many high quality projects( Porcupine Tree, No-Man, Blackfield, Bass Communion and solo work) going is amazing. My only regret about the success of his solo work is that it could mean the sidelining of his other work for sometime to come but one has to expect that of a man who is constantly pushing the musical boundaries.

The new solo album should be out in late March, I can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got what we deserved, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get All You Deserve (Bonus One Blu-Ray and 2CD set) [DVD] [2012] (Audio CD)
This is a HD extravaganza, the sound is the highlight of these discs. SW is a genius when it comes to mixing audio especially in 5.1
The picture is quite grainy but this is what SW seems to have wanted, an effect of artistic flair.
The concert as a whole is quite exciting with SW's input absolute. Steven is deeply engrosed into this show, look at him at times when he seems to be in another planet, deep in concentration, it is very obvious who is in charge here.
The band is supurb, the drummer Marco Minnermann is a very similar drummer to Gavin Harrison, the bass player is a hell of a good player but has the strangest look on stage with a hair do that looks like Goldilocks and the 3 bears. Great band, all musicians are the top of the league.
There is little in the way of extras on the BluRay surprisingly but the concert is well worth getting, the sound is incredible, one of the best sounding live concerts I have heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best british band since hendrix, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get All You Deserve (Bonus One Blu-Ray and 2CD set) [DVD] [2012] (Audio CD)
I'm not being facetious - apart from my utter infatuation with Yes, few things have excited me as much as my first tranny-under-the-pillow pirate broadcast of Jimi Hendrix: off the top of my head, Karmakanik's "Wheel Of Life" CD,King Crimson's "Eyes Wide Open" DVD, Dream Theater's "Live At Budokan" DVD, Steve Vai&Co's "G3 Live In Denver" DVD, Threshold's "Critical Energy" DVD...but Stephen Wilson's exquisite DVD is something else. On my system the 96/24 mix is the best sound I have heard since the 1970's brief flirtation with quadrophonics (but it doesn't sound well on systems with small speakers!). I got hooked on DVDs when I started watching the BBC Proms after I became allergic to headphones and bought my first serious NAD set-up (having paid off my mortgage!). As I could no longer attend live concerts, DVDs were really the only way for me to fully appreciate the unbelievable competence of the best musicians (better than concerts for the involving camera-work). With the much-loved NAD replaced by a HD 7.1 system, my old DVDs sound fabulous. I have not bought anything since Cream's joyous RAH come-back in 2005. Just nothing out there I could find!
This, though: the music moves through sound worlds I have only ever dreamed of. Subtle, complex, achingly beautiful. Uncompromising: between the extremes of cool austerity and full-on fusion it weaves a spell that gets deep into what makes this genre the most sublime of sonic experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best live blurays ever., 20 Jan 2013
By 
Mark Haynes (Telford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get All You Deserve (Bonus One Blu-Ray and 2CD set) [DVD] [2012] (Audio CD)
I know many will think my title is a bit 'over-the-top' but I DO feel this is as good as any bluray live album released to date. Why? Because: 1/Visually it is stunning and the camera angles are expertly shot (not the 'Wayne's World' style 'extreme close-ups' which many rock blurays suffer from for example}; 2/ sound quality is equally stunning {in fact when you take the output of your bluray to a good asychronous dac it is hard to hear much difference between this and the cd version even when played over a good cd transport); and finally of course the music, which includes the performance of the musicians is excellent and IMO better than the originals. If I was to be ULTRA picky I might say that Steven Wilson's voice perhaps wasn't at his best but really that would be splitting hairs because the addition of Marco Minnerman on drums and Adam Holzman on keyboards in particular elevate Steven Wilson's fine solo music to even greater heights. For anyone interested in 'getting into' Steven Wilson's solo stuff, start here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steven Wilson is a genius, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get All You Deserve (Bonus One Blu-Ray and 2CD set) [DVD] [2012] (Audio CD)
I didn't see this one coming! He is somehow involved in so many forms of music and every single time it is stunning. An incredible band and the quality of sound and vision is qwesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get All You Deserve (Bonus One Blu-Ray and 2CD set) [DVD] [2012] (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Steven Wilson since the early days of Porcupine Tree. With each album he seems to get better and better, always exploring new musical avenues whilst retaining that unique magic in his songwriting. His last studio album Grace For Drowning is one of my fave albums ever and the live performances in this DVD/CD set are even better than the studio versions.

Not only that but included here is a new 12 minute piece entitled Luminol to whet you appetite for the next album to follow next February - I for one cant wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Dec 2012
This review is from: Get All You Deserve (Bonus One Blu-Ray and 2CD set) [DVD] [2012] (Audio CD)
Wow excellent service and the blu ray is just awesome . Recommend for all fans of porcupine tree and backfield
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Live DVD, 20 Oct 2012
This review is from: Get All You Deserve (Bonus One Blu-Ray and 2CD set) [DVD] [2012] (Audio CD)
Watching this DVD release really makes me realise just how much Steven Wilson cares for the art of everything he releases. First off, I was impressed by the actual packaging of the DVD; it is contained in a hardback book with beautifully shot photos of various tour locations. So before I had even turned the TV on, I knew this was going to be great. Luckily my expectations were justified; it seems that Steven Wilson has tried to make this show just as much a visual experience as an audio one. Video footage is projected between the band and the audience for the first 4 or so songs in order to add an extra dimension to the visuals - for example, a particular shot features a woodland scene, making it seem like the band is playing in a forest. Thereafter, there is footage behind the band and numerous lighting effects throughout to great effect. The venue is itself beautiful too and adds to the feel of the show.

The band supports Steven's music superbly and the quality of playing really does the songs justice. Two Musician in particular stood out for me; Marco Minnerman (drums) and Nick Beggs (Bass and 'stick' (not heard of that one before...)). Steven Wilson seems to have given the band a great deal of freedom to play in their own style because there are deviations to the studio tracks. Though these deviations are only subtle and mostly work effectively, there are a couple of moments where I feel they do not work. This brings me onto my only minor criticism (honest!) - I get the feeling that each musician is trying too hard to stand out individually - the piano section at the beginning of 'Deform to Form a Star' for example, is technically and skilfully played but simply does to 'fit' in the same way that the studio section did. Nevertheless, the Band does function incredibly well together and I get the impression that each and every member is genuinely enjoying themselves...non more-so than Mr Wilson himself.

As for Steven Wilson in the DVD; he seems to have found an energy that wasn't apparent in his previous DVDs with Porcupine Tree, No-Man or Blackfield. In-between hopping about and waving his hands around, You even see him smile!

Needless to say everything that should make a live DVD great is put to effect in this DVD - the video footage is well selected and always focuses on where I would want to look at. The camera-work is great, the lighting is atmospheric, the audience is supportive, the sound quality is awesome, the picture quality is clear and the setlist well selected. If that isn't enough to convince you to buy this DVD then perhaps the debuting of a previously unreleased song 'Luminol' might be? - It actually ends up being one of the best on the whole 2 hour DVD setlist!

Very highly recommended alongside Porcupine Trees masterpiece, Anesthetize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Get All You Deserve (Bonus One Blu-Ray and 2CD set) [DVD] [2012]
£23.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews