Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilson and Beggs Shine in Prog-Jazz Dreamworld...
If you are already well-versed in Porcupine Tree then you will need no introduction to Steven Wilson, the genius singer/songwriter/guitarist/keyboardist who has formed his "other" band for this project. The last two PT concert films are brilliant and I bought this on the strength of those, representing largely as the do, two of PT's best albums. So, for me,, I had...
Published on 22 Jan. 2013 by Colin Gibbs

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, if uncharismatic performance.
Other than being extremely talented and close friends and collaborators, Steven Wilson and Mikael Åkerfeldt have something else in common: both are strangely uncharismatic to watch during a performance. It's as if all the magnetism that oozes from their records just disappears every time I see them in a live setting. This concert is no exception; while technically hard...
Published on 8 Jan. 2013 by Marcus S.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilson and Beggs Shine in Prog-Jazz Dreamworld..., 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get All You Deserve [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If you are already well-versed in Porcupine Tree then you will need no introduction to Steven Wilson, the genius singer/songwriter/guitarist/keyboardist who has formed his "other" band for this project. The last two PT concert films are brilliant and I bought this on the strength of those, representing largely as the do, two of PT's best albums. So, for me,, I had no idea of the material on this Blu-ray, taken from Steven Wilsons two solo albums but mainly from his most recent release -Grace For Drowning. The concert was filmed in Mexico and an enthusiastic audence immersed themselves in this material and became "one" with the players. A couple of things stand out and need sharing - firstly the very evident entusiasm Wilson himself has for this project and his on-stage collaborators. I have never seen him so immersed and animated and enthused with what he was a part of and what he was hearing before. All his chosen musicians are of course stellar in their own rights but my second point has to be a mention for the incredible presence and ability of Nick Beggs on Bass and Chapman Stick and backing vocals. The man somehow managed to improve on the album versions of almost every song (I subsequently bought the CD's and realised what a difference Beggs made live). I think most prog fans will love this. The sound is lushious and there are no discernible mistakes in the performance. The new material is more jazz-infused but in a fantastic way. Beautiful keyboard and bass and guitar harmonies - intricate and funky freeform bass and drum rhythm sections leading the music in interesting directions. Space being left in the right places, uncluttered and atmospheric, interesting and varied lyrical and musical themes - for example the haunting and catchy "Index" about a quirky collector/hoarder and the lengthy, moody Raider II. In summary there is so much to get your teeth into here, but the overriding message has to be one of excellence. I own a very large collection of music concerts by many luminaries such as Yes, Rush, Pink Floyd, IQ, etc. and this is right up there with the very best. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He just gets better and better, 25 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I sat down with the intention of just skimming through it to see how it was and ended up totally engrossed by the whole thing. The Cheshire cat grins on the musicians faces alone indicate the passion and joy they have playing this stuff! Wilson prowls the stage playing keyboards, guitar, and singing or simply conducting the band with his odd right- handed waves and flicking. Its a joy to behold. Beautifully filmed as you would expect by Lassie, but even the sections behind the gauze are easy to see and have the added projection element used to great effect. The audience is completely engrossed in what is a superb looking theatre. Lovely tall proscenium arch wide and deep stage. Well worth it. I bought the DVD because I don't have a Blu Ray but now wish I had spent out on the additional discs because the double CD version would be worth it for sure. The new track 'Luminol' reveals some of the influence from Steve Wilson's remixing of the 1971 Caravan classic 'Land of Grey and Pink' i.e. '9ft Underground'. Even though its just a DVD - nice little booklet in there with some good shots. Bored to death by the On the Road extra which was pointless. The Gallery was also a little bit on the light side. But I never find the extras on discs up to much. For me the show was 100% enough. Buy this. It will be a while before Steve does anything again with Porcupine Tree and I am loving the freedom that the solo work affords him. Give it a go - you will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 24 Feb. 2013
By 
Celia Lopes "Rui Silva" (Lisbon, PORTUGAL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mr. Wilson is a genius. And when he surrounds himself with other gifted musicians you really get all you deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing performance from a prog rock genius. The enigmatic Wilson has managed to assemble such a diverse mix of talented musicians. Perhaps this is best watched two or three tracks at a time rather than a whole concert as there is so much going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get All You Deserve, 16 Nov. 2012
By 
A. N. Houghton "Revenant" (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must for all Steven Wilson fans also for people who don't know his work but like atmospheric, melodic, melancholy rock with prog tendencies. This concert is beautifully shot/edited by long time SW collaborator Lasse Hoille & features music from Wilson's 2 solo albums plus a new 12 minute epic "Luminol".
I would forewarn buyers that the DVD defaults to one of the 5.1 surround mixes so if you have not got the correct equipment there seems to be no audio on playback. This isn't a fault, you just need to set it to stereo using the setup screen.
I cannot comment on the surround mix as I haven't the 5.1 gear but Steven Wilson's reputation as a surround mixer cannot be equaled. The stereo mix is fine but maybe the drums are a tad low.
All in all this is in my opinion a fantastic DVD & one which I will play many, many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray , prog rock heaven , shock, horror ., 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get All You Deserve [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was introduced to Steven Wilson only recently by a friend , who played me the 5.1 version of " The raven that refused to sing" , on the back of appreciating that, I purchased this in-concert Blu Ray, given also the commendable reviews it has received.

It is simply stunning , in every way.

The 5.1 audio quality is sublime, the production spot on.( I have a cinema room set up)
The musicians are world class, particularly, for me anyhow, the drummer ( Marco Minnemann), who is sensational.
I am not a huge prog rock fan,I have only really dabbled with Yes previous to this, but if you fancy taking a punt on a relatively obscure , total quality, concert DVD, this production comes wholeheartedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, if uncharismatic performance., 8 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Get All You Deserve [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Other than being extremely talented and close friends and collaborators, Steven Wilson and Mikael Åkerfeldt have something else in common: both are strangely uncharismatic to watch during a performance. It's as if all the magnetism that oozes from their records just disappears every time I see them in a live setting. This concert is no exception; while technically hard to fault and brilliantly executed, Wilson's robotic and slightly arrogant performance is somewhat off-putting. The music itself is brilliant as is the work of everyone involved, especially film maker Lasse Hoile's. I am a huge fan and therefore do not admit this lightly, but I prefer to just listen to the music on this disc with the picture switched off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, fantastic performance, perfect sound, 22 Aug. 2013
By 
Antti J (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get All You Deserve [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I somehow managed to keep Steven Wilson and Porcupine Tree under my radar for all these years. This despite the fact of being somewhat hard core Pink Floyd, Genesis and Yes fan and loving most of the stuff from Rush, King Crimson and the likes.

Since listening to Steven's Raven album on Bluray multichannel a couple of months ago (based on a friend's recommendation) things have started move fast. Soon-to-be-released Porcupine Tree DVD-Audio multichannels are on order, but in the meantime Steven's album and the Get All You Deserve video will need to serve the almost manic need to listen to this GREAT prog rock. And this starts to get serious: almost no day goes by without either listening to Raven or watching Get All You Deserve.

Simply put, Steven Wilson and Porcupine Tree are the best thing happened to me in the music scene since teenage years - and those are long gone. I cannot say which I prefer, PT or the other "branch", both are wonderful.

Overall, Get All You Deserve is the best concert film I have seen since Roger Waters' In the Flesh. Yes Symphonic Live gets fairly close, though. Why is this? Because of the absolutely amasing prog rock songs, for sure. I love them all, but if I *had* to choose TOP3 then maybe these: Luminol, Abandoner and Secretarian. Because of the production values. For me, all serious listening (almost) equals to multichannel format and Get All You Deserve does not let you down in that department. The sound may not be perfect 10 but very close to that in any case (OK, maybe the bar is too high here). And because of the truly amazing mucisians. I have never enjoyed so much just watching people play their instruments - very often stunned by their magical skills. Again, wouldn't like to pick anyone, but the drummer Marco Minneman just blows me, and my speakers, away.

This video is a must have. Would definitely recommend the Bluray format, not so much because of the picture quality, but for the sound quality - to be able to enjoy every detail of the awesome 5.1 mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
Geoffrey Dixon (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get All You Deserve [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
wonderful and amazing steven wilson is very creative and a genius I think he will always make superb blue rays and cds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steven Wilson...great blu ray, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get All You Deserve [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A must have for all Porcupine Tree fans out there.

Not a flawed of any kind in this live blu ray.

Perfection...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Get All You Deserve [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free]
Get All You Deserve [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] by Steven Wilson (Blu-ray - 2012)
£10.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews