Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 3D from the fifties... We want more!
At last a good quality 3D release of this classic monster movie from the fifties. If any film was crying out for a 3D release this was the one. The creature makeup/costume, the jungle setting and the underwater camera work are all enhanced when you see the film in 3D. I hope this release is a great success for Universal and that it encourages them to release 'It Came...
Published 22 months ago by Roy Carnell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Something not quite correct with the 3d on this disc
When the disc came on with the 3d content I thought great for a film of its period.

However there are some dodgy 3d artefacts which make this feature look weird.

I am not sure if it is due to the way they filmed 3d in those days but I will give you some of the oddities and what I think is wrong with the mastering of the movie!

1) when we...
Published 15 months ago by Herts Review


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 3D from the fifties... We want more!, 6 Oct 2012
By 
Roy Carnell (Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Creature from the Black Lagoon in Blu-ray 3D [1954] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
At last a good quality 3D release of this classic monster movie from the fifties. If any film was crying out for a 3D release this was the one. The creature makeup/costume, the jungle setting and the underwater camera work are all enhanced when you see the film in 3D. I hope this release is a great success for Universal and that it encourages them to release 'It Came From Outer Space' and perhaps 'Revenge of the Creature'in Blu-Ray 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic In 3D (And 2D), 2 Oct 2012
By 
IM35461 "IM35461" (East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Creature from the Black Lagoon in Blu-ray 3D [1954] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This film was made in 3D and the quality of the 3D effect and the picture is pretty impressive.

The film is on the BD in both 3D and 2D should you not have 3D hardware.

Extras on the disc are not bad but are from the last release which seems to have been 10 years ago.

Well done Universal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic film in a great package, 26 Dec 2002
By 
The Creature from the Black Lagoon is probably one of the most iconic monsters to have lurched from the Universal studios in the last 50 or so years. Recognisable by any film fan, this is a great disk. The film itself was originally a 1950's 3D shocker, concerning an ill fated trip to the titluar lagoon by a bunch of scientists chasing up a strange fossil of a fish/man hibrid. On arrival, finding that their camp is trashed they run into the creature who takes quite a fancy to Julia Adams.
Tame by todays effects standards, the film still commands attention and the special effects and underwater photography were groundbreaking in it's day. The film itself is a good copy and the sound, including the famous theme tune played everytime (literally!) the creature appears, comes across well on the disk.
The disk also features a specially made feature about the making of the film with contributions from surviving cast and crew. There is also a feature length commentary which, while informative and with several dry annecdotes about various people involved in making it, is at times rushed. As the film is only about 80 minutes long however, it is understandable.
This is part of a series of disks released by Universal featuring all their classic beasties and is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic 3D monster movie from the 50's, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Creature from the Black Lagoon in Blu-ray 3D [1954] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
After buying the Blu-ray 3D on Amazon, I posted this review on my blog recently ...

The movie is finally out on Blu-ray 3D and it looks fantastic. The parallax in this one is huge...just look at the separation between the background jungle trees as seen from the boat. The underwater shots look absolutely stunning and throughout the film there is a great sense of space between objects and characters which also have an obvious solidity to them. This is how 3D should look and it puts a lot of modern efforts to shame. Having said that, there are some problems evident. Occasionally, but only very occasionally, the 3D alignment is either incorrectly positioned or even in reverse, so that the 3D doesn't work. Also, there's the obligatory 2D moment too. This one scene occurs when Richard Carlson is underwater in the Lagoon. Also, the image quality varies from mainly beautifully rich (for a film of almost 60 years at least) to times where the image quality noticeably degrades (most obvious on a couple of scenes on the boat). Do these few anomalies spoil the overall succes of the 3D though? No, not at all. Creature From the Black Lagoon retains its status as a bona fide 3D classic.

(Possible slight spoilers) One other thing about the film that is worth pointing out is its influence on other film-makers, most notably Steven Spielberg. While watching the movie, I could see where Spielberg got a lot of his inspiration for Jaws. There's the shaking of the boat, the female underwater silhouette, the underwater leg grabbing, the block and tackle moments and just the general feeling of something menacing lurking beneath the water. All these elements were utilized in "Jaws" in a very similar fashion to how they appear in "Creature". That alone is a tribute to the impact that this movie must have had all those years ago. Today, its a great example of 3D being used to its full potential and although the film might seem a bit tame by today's standards, its still a worthy and enjoyable viewing experience...especially in 3D.

Creature from the Black Lagoon is highly recommended to all 3D fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 29 April 2013
By 
Max (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Creature from the Black Lagoon in Blu-ray 3D [1954] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Universal have obviously taken good care of all their early horror films as this remastering for Blu Ray is amazingly good. You could hardly believe the film was made in the 50's. Add to that the edition of 3D, for the first time since its release in cinemas, which looks extremely good and is very effective.

Creature from the Black Lagoon is pretty much the foundation for most of the creature films that we know so well today (Alien, Jaws, Predator). However even today you can see the skill and devotion in creating this classic. The creature looks very good, and has obviously been copied many times over, and since most of the film is shot underwater it has a very otherworldly feel to it. From start to finish its just a polished masterpiece of classic hollywood cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creature from the Black Lagoon, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Creature from the Black Lagoon in Blu-ray 3D [1954] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
When I first ordered it I thought,sure they really remastered it and it will look fabulous. Well, what is that song, "Memories"? This is nothing short of outstanding. I remember seeing the original with the old glasses and the OK effects on the screen. This is without a doubt the best. 3D literally jumps of the screen and the effects are old school so they are well planned as to where they appear. The clarity of the motion picture is as noted before outstanding. I hope they bring back more of them and other studios will follow Universals lead. If you are an old movie buff like I am and enjoy excellent 3D and great sound then put on your scuba gear turn on the player and 3d TV and crank up the sound and oh yea, turn off the lights and be prepared to be immersed into another world that time may have forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creature in BluRay 3D, 1 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Creature from the Black Lagoon in Blu-ray 3D [1954] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I've waited a very long time to see the Creature in high quality 3D. It looks great! I'm in the USA where this title can only be purchased in a box set. Since I only needed the Creature movie, I bought this region free movie from amazon.uk. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3D from the 50's, Great, 4 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Creature from the Black Lagoon in Blu-ray 3D [1954] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
So great to be able to watch an original 3D film that was made over half a century ago, the 3D is very good for such an old film, picture quality is superb, Hope they bring out more of these 3D classics, The best is Kiss me Kate and House of Wax, lets hope we see these soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Creature Feature, 16 Nov 2010
By 
G. R. Donaldson (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first saw The Creature From The Black Lagoon as a wee kid and certain scenes gave me major frights. Upon watching it as an adult, it still has much in its favour. Fair enough we all know its just a guy in a rubber suit but thanks to imaginative direction and a solid workmanlike cast its still well worth watching if your a fan of creaky monster movies.
The scene where the creature swims along underneath the lovely Julie Adams has an eerie beauty to it. Also a scene where the crew are huddled together in the the boats wheel house created the same sense of ordinary people up against it as did Howard Hawks The Thing From Another World. CGI fans will no doubt be scornful of this film but I really enjoyed seeing it again. Any film that can bestow emotion upon and elicit sympathy for a man in a rubber suit can't be all bad. As for the disc the picture on the case is marvellous and for a fifties monster movie there are a plethora of extras including original trailers, a making of featurette. All this for under a fiver, a small price to pay to revisit the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If only film makers of today could make quality 3d films like this one., 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Creature from the Black Lagoon in Blu-ray 3D [1954] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A great blast from the past. 30 odd years ago I had this film on 8mm cine film, it was always a novelty with friends, then you had to wear the red and blue glasses to watch it in 3d, now it looks fantastic on blu ray.
The movie makers of today sometimes struggle to make a good 3d film, lets face it, some of the offering on todays 3d offerings are not very good, this one is a gem, yes it shows it's age but so what, the film has qualitity by the bucket full.
This film is a classic, it is reasonable cheap to buy now, enjoy it in it's full black and white glory on blu ray 3d.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Creature from the Black Lagoon in Blu-ray 3D [1954] [Region Free]
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews