Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous voice
Delilah has the most beautiful, emotional voice and is such a talented song writer. I know this is music that I will play for years to come, it is really gorgeous, insightful and well produced. This girl deserves a phenomenal career.
Published 23 months ago by nicola kerry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed
I was really looking forward to this album but unfortunately i only listened to it a couple of times and felt that was enough and its sat with the rest of my cd's and not come back out however Delilah is a fantastic artist and is great for the people with the right taste but it just didn't do it for me.
Published 1 month ago by Fern


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous voice, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Roots Up (Audio CD)
Delilah has the most beautiful, emotional voice and is such a talented song writer. I know this is music that I will play for years to come, it is really gorgeous, insightful and well produced. This girl deserves a phenomenal career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incandescent, 20 Aug 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: From The Roots Up (Audio CD)
Delilah (aka Paloma Ayana Stoecker) has a voice to make you sit up and
take notice. Her recent dalliance with Chase and Status aside, 'From The
Roots Up' may well stake a claim to be one of the finest albums we'll
hear this year. She produces a rich, sinuous noise with her marvelous
instrument; by turns soulful, enervating, rich and emotionally captivating,
it saturates the twelve tracks in this collection with a rare kind of magic.

Her muse is largely reflective and melancholic but it is, nonetheless, not
the kind of music to drag you down into the Gloomy Sunday dumps. Indeed,
listening to the utterly beautiful 'Shades Of Grey' for the umpteenth time
as I am writing this, it is impossible not to be touched deeply by her
total engagement with the gorgeous melody and touching lyrics. When she
sings "Through the darker shades of grey I see beauty in the rain" it is
impossible to do anything other than completely believe in her authenticity.

So too with the jittery shadows of 'Go' with its respectful nod to Chaka Khan's
'Ain't Nobody'; the deliciously sprightly arrangement of 'Only You'; the luminous
vocal harmonies of '21' and the stripped-down rhythmic intensity of 'Insecure'.

Final track 'Tabitha, Mummy and Me', however, truly is the icing on the cake.
A song which sublimely demonstrates her innate grasp of the spirit of the blues.

I seem to have discovered another disc for my desert island. I love it to bits!

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Roots Up (MP3 Download)
A truly amazing album that just gets better with repeated listens. The attention to detail is outstanding, invest in a good pair of headphones though to really appreciate this music. Her voice is soulful and emotional and the tunes are catchy and intricate. The best 8 I have ever spent,truly an album for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't dip your toe - slowly wade in until you are immersed..., 3 Sep 2012
By 
Scottie (North East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Roots Up (Audio CD)
If you are currently single - this will make you want to fall in love.
If you are currently in a relationship - this will make you remember why you fell in love.
If you are currently heartbroken - this will let you know you are not alone.

An exquisite collection of work covering a broad range of emotions by one of the brightest singer/songwriter talents to emerge on the British music scene in a long time. Delilah's voice is quite simply the perfect vessel to carry the sincerity and feelings of this beautiful arrangement of songs. Be it the stripped down piano pieces or the pulsing urban vibe that weaves through the album - it smacks of class and sophistication from beginning to end.

A fantastic debut which I almost gave four stars to just because I know there is so much more to come (Amazon: you might need to consider a sixth star by the next release). I've been waiting for this album to come out for almost a year - it has had heavy rotation since it's arrival and only sounds better with each listen. It's pop but with great style and substance that is usually only found by exploring more 'alternative' genres. Delilah demonstrates a maturity beyond her years both in content and execution. The biggest test for me is seeing an artist live, which I did last year and her voice is as powerful and on he money as it is on a glossy recorded studio piece.

If you find you like this be sure to get the EP's that were released before this which contain some material not on this album but equally as good and you can download the 2-4am mixtape for free from her official website ...and most importantly - try to see her live! I can't promote this artist enough, she has me completely under her spell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delilah...wow!, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Roots Up (Audio CD)
I purchased this album having heard only one track...isn't something I normally do but occasionally you come across an artist that warrants this and Delilah is one artist. From track 5...Only You to the remix of Go this artist has an unusual and unmistakeable quality to her voice that is almost haunting. Love it well worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual cd., 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Roots Up (Audio CD)
Needs repeat listening. It is an aquired taste. However I was hooked on the hit song 1st. Grown to love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 31 Aug 2012
This review is from: From The Roots Up (Audio CD)
Love this album its definately one to chill out to and sing your head off to!!.always a pleasure buying on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as i expected, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Roots Up (Audio CD)
This album is excellent and just the sound i expected. Loved it! Hate comparing artists but found myself listening to the album and thinking about Morcheeba, portishead and massive attack tunes, which is not a bad thing, if anyone remembers them its a massive compliment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 1 Aug 2012
This review is from: From The Roots Up (Audio CD)
Best Album I have heard this Year. Every song is great and Delilah has such an amazing voice. Such an under rated Singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Roots Up (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to this album but unfortunately i only listened to it a couple of times and felt that was enough and its sat with the rest of my cd's and not come back out however Delilah is a fantastic artist and is great for the people with the right taste but it just didn't do it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From The Roots Up
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews