Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best translation dictionary available for the Kindle but not a self-standing dictionary for reading French literature
Basically this is an excellent translation dictionary and I heartily recommend it to anyone with a Kindle Paperwhite as definitions for nearly all the words it fails to recognise will be painlessly provided by the monolingual French dictionary that comes free with all Kindles except the Kindle Keyboard. However, anyone using the basic Kindle, whose instant dictionary...
Published 10 months ago by Lucius

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow to search
I thought it would be handy to have on holiday and easier to have on Kindle than lugging a book around. My one complaint, and it is really annoying is that the go to page option asks for a page number which is very logical for a normal book but for dictionaries would be much more helpful if it was the start of a letter of even a specific word. Repetitive strain injury...
Published 13 months ago by E. Macfarlane


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best translation dictionary available for the Kindle but not a self-standing dictionary for reading French literature, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Robert Concise French to English Dictionary (Collins Concise) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Basically this is an excellent translation dictionary and I heartily recommend it to anyone with a Kindle Paperwhite as definitions for nearly all the words it fails to recognise will be painlessly provided by the monolingual French dictionary that comes free with all Kindles except the Kindle Keyboard. However, anyone using the basic Kindle, whose instant dictionary lookup feature consults only the default dictionary for a language, should consider this dictionary's limitations before buying it.

The first limitation is that it will fail to recognise a surprising number of words still common in French literature fifty years ago. This is partly a function of its limited size and partly of Collins's habitual emphasis on current vocabulary.

The second is that even when a verb appears in the underlying dictionary not all its conjugations will be recognised, and likewise for noun and adjective declensions. Collins Kindle dictionaries tend to be weak here, with honourable exceptions such as the Concise German Dictionary (prepared for the Kindle by Intangible Press).

Here are the 15 words the dictionary fails to recognise in the first 750 words of "Madame Bovary": étions, méritoires, était, habit-veste, n'eût, chapska, Ovoïde, polygone, soutache, croisillon, savait, bredouillante & bredouillement, s'élança, pensums, l'étant. All are recognised by the monolingual French dictionary.

One very nice feature I haven't seen before is a hyperlink from the definition of a verb to a table detailing how it is conjugated. I hope Collins will eventually add this to their other 'big' translation dictionaries.

Anyone keen on French literature should consider downloading as well "Dictionnaire de l'Académie française de 1932-35 (8e édition) (French Edition)" for really obscure words; it's free at the Kindle Store.

Update, 16 November 13. It appears from a couple of customer reviews that dictionary functionality has gone backwards on the All-New PW. If this matters to you go for the Previous Generation PW, which is cheaper anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Robert Concise French to English Dictionary (Collins Concise) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I can't recommend the kindle version of the Collins Robert Concise French-English dictionary enough. I bought this edition because my paper copy is enormous and heavy, and it can be time consuming when trying to translate a French text. I have not been disappointed; it is so much quicker to search for the word using the kindle (I have not experienced the problem mentioned by another reviewer of the search option listing every instance of the word - ?). The added bonus is that I have been able to set this dictionary as my default French dictionary on the kindle so now a definition in English is available immediately when I am trying to read a French text (the previous default provided a definition in French, which wasn't always helpful), and during a recent trip to France it proved invaluable for providing a quick translation when out and about. An example is the word 'compostage' at the train station. Having provided a definition there was an additional sentence explaining how, in France, it is necessary to stamp your ticket before you board the train. It was extremely useful. The only minor problem I did encounter was not being able to go straight to specific information listed at the beginning of the book, but this is easily overcome by 'bookmarking' the page or section on your kindle. One other point to keep in mind is that it is only French to English. If you require both, the English to French edition is available as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow to search, 19 Jun 2013
By 
E. Macfarlane (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Robert Concise French to English Dictionary (Collins Concise) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I thought it would be handy to have on holiday and easier to have on Kindle than lugging a book around. My one complaint, and it is really annoying is that the go to page option asks for a page number which is very logical for a normal book but for dictionaries would be much more helpful if it was the start of a letter of even a specific word. Repetitive strain injury from all that scrolling very likely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great aid for intermediate French reader, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Robert Concise French to English Dictionary (Collins Concise) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
There were no reviews of this dictionary this Kindle dictionary, on Amazon or elsewhere when I bought it, and the publisher's information was lamentably cursory, so I wasn't entirely comfortable. But it all ended happily. I'm very pleased with it. To rectify the absence of reviews, I'm writing one an hour after purchase.

As a translation aid, it works as I hoped. It seems to recognise all the forms a verb can take. It seems to recognise elided articles, object pronouns etc: placing the cursor before l'argent opens a definition of argent, before d'insubordination opens insubordination, before qu'offrit opens offrire. It seems to recognise feminine and plural forms of nouns and adjectives.

The definitions provided are far better than the Kindle dictionary I used previously: fuller, typographically clearer, with usage examples, and with phrases defined (for example, under loin, de loin is defined). In fact the two are scarcely comparable.

I think it'll make a big difference to the ease with which I can read French on the Kindle. Previously I'd often resort to my big and heavy paper dictionary, but I doubt that I'll need to do that often now. (But it's early days. Time will tell.)

Three months on: I'm still pleased I bought it, but I quite often find a word in a book from which I can't jump to the dictionary. A lot of common words are in that category, which may be by design: comme and aussi, for example. It also seems a bit weak on pronomial verbs: se méfier. s'empressa, s'emparer, s'efforcait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Robert Concise French to English Dictionary (Collins Concise) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I love not having to carry a weighty Robert around with me. I have been using this edition to help translate Boule De Suif and it has been excellent to use. The only downfall is, that it is tricky to find the exact place in the dictionary. It would be useful to have markers where each new letter of the alphabet began. That said I am pleased that I have bought it and would recommend it to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but!, 30 May 2013
By 
D. J. Jackson (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Robert Concise French to English Dictionary (Collins Concise) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
The contents of this dictionary are excellent, however, search for a word and you quickly realise that the publisher does not understand what a dictionary is used for.
The search is a standard book version and the results list every instance of the word you are looking for from throughoiut the book and it is very difficult to find the dictionary translation the you want.
The search should prioritize the dictionary with all other instances supplied for info only.
Spoils an otherwise good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Robert Concise French to English Dictionary (Collins Concise) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
The dictionary, although extremely large contains a wealth of information, not only on word meanings, but grammar and form of the French language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Complicated, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Robert Concise French to English Dictionary (Collins Concise) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
rather difficult to use, I live in France and hoped it would be a speedy way to help my french, not so, very detailed if you have the time to read all the definitions, I just give up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful to have in Kindle format, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Robert Concise French to English Dictionary (Collins Concise) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Since getting this I have used it continually. I'm learning French and it is so much more convenient than a bulky dictionary to carry around. I have found navigating around the dictionary easy enough. The definitions are straightforward, and easy to understand. I've bought the sister edition English-French and I'm equally pleased with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Robert Concise French-English Dictionary, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Robert Concise French to English Dictionary (Collins Concise) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Very pleased. Although labelled 'concise' the dictionary contains a wide selection of usage and also financial vocabulary. An excellent buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews