Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to be treasured...
CALL THE MIDWIFE was the surprise hit of 2012 and the publishers have gone to town on that fact - this and the book below from W&N will of course cash in on the popularity of the TV pseries, but the same can also be said of all the Hobbit books, and they, like these, are to be treasured, because people want to know how TV programmes and films are made, they want to read...
Published on 8 Dec 2012 by Mr. P. E. Norman

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I really enjoyed the first BBC series of Call the Midwife, which prompted me to read the three books by Jennifer Worth on which the programmes were based. Having read them, I enjoyed the second TV series less, as so much from the books was sanitised, given invented "happy" endings or indeed changed completely.
I had hoped that this book would explain why so...
Published 21 months ago by MidlandsMrs


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to be treasured..., 8 Dec 2012
By 
CALL THE MIDWIFE was the surprise hit of 2012 and the publishers have gone to town on that fact - this and the book below from W&N will of course cash in on the popularity of the TV pseries, but the same can also be said of all the Hobbit books, and they, like these, are to be treasured, because people want to know how TV programmes and films are made, they want to read all of the extra background information that wasn't included in the original books. THE LIFE AND TIMES OF CALL THE MIDWIFE is written by Heidi Tomas, who wrote the screenplays, and is already a hugely successful TV writer, with Cranford and the successful revamp of Upstairs Downstairs under her belt. But CALL THE MIDWIFE is special, and this fabulous book celebrates that to perfection. For me, the most captivating passages are Heidi's personal diaries, recounting how she met Jennifer and Philip Worth to discuss casting, costumes etc., etc. The book is a veritable treasure trove of ionformation on the midwifery profession post-war, when the series is set, and even before that, with original photographs and advertisements showing their uniforms and their equipment. There was plenty of research into who the original convent-trained midwives really were, and Heidi recounts how Jennifer eventually confirmed their true identities. This is a brilliant book, captivating, heart-warming, sometimes shocking, always entertaining, and is the perfect companion to the TV series. We've been warned by Alison Graham, who writes in the Radio Times, that we will cry at the end of the Christmas special - I don't mind that at all, this is a special series, and the book reflects that to perfection. One of the very best books of the month I've ever had the pleasure to select! This review appears in the Christmas issue of Books Monthly [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 5 Dec 2012
I bought this for my wife, who loved the original books, and adores the show. In the end, we've both been reading it! It's got masses of photographs from the TV series, interviews with the cast, and also pictures from the 1950s, and lots of social history about London. There's also a fascinating diary, which Heidi Thomas has written about the development of the TV show and her friendship with Jennifer Worth. I think anyone who liked the TV series will love this book, as well as anyone who is interested in the details of 1950s Britain - the fashions, medicine, music, the East End etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 30 Nov 2012
This is a total must for all Call the Midwife fans. Not only does this go behind the scenes it also looks into the 1950's. This was so interesting and such a great fantastic read and superb photographs and pictures. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Times of Call the Midwife: The Official Companion to Series One and Two (Kindle Edition)
After watching every single episode of the T V drama it is wonderful to read about how the stories came about and how the cast were chosen. I think this is a fabulous book to accompany the series. I love real life stories and absolutely love the T V series it make me cry and laugh it was fabulously filmed and written. I think it is a tragedy that Jennifer Worth didn't get to see the finished product but I believe she would have been very proud of what the writer's and actors achieved to bring her stories to l life. Well done to all the cast, crew and writer's I can't wait for the episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reminders of the 'old' days, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is the most wonderful companion to the series Call the Midwife. There are many colour photos lifted directly from the series as well as recipes and information about the area that it was set in at the time. This was quite soon after WWII so there is still a lot of bomb damage and housing conditions were really poor but the people had great spirit. This is all reflected in the book as well as reminding us of the baby clinics of the day which was portrayed exactly. A lovely book and a great reminder of a wonderful compassionate series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The life and times of Call the Midwife, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a stupendous companion to the 'Call the Midwife' TV series and books. It is presented beautifully and contains many splendid photographs of the cast, sets and props. It has information about the characters, sets, props-everything you could want to know about Call the Midwife. I highly recommend this book-it is one of my favourites. I hope more books like this about Call the Midwife are produced because they really are treasures. If you love the TV series or want to find out more about the 1950s then I recommend buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Call the Midwife, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great book to look at and a good companion for this great TV series. Since series two finished last week Sunday night TV has lost something I do so hope that series three will follow at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A charming companion to the TV series, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This companion volume does what it delivers - it delves into the background of the creation of the series and provides lots of behind the scenes trivia - ranging from the costume design to the contents of a midwive's equipment bag. The principals actors are also interviewed in regards to their characters, which offers an amusing insight as well. An inexpensive gift volume for any fans of the TV show - perhaps helping the wait for series 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put this book down, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow, what a fantastic book. I couldn't put it down.
It was fascinating to read how the scenes are created, how the babies are made to look like they have just been born, plus learning what life was really like living in this era.
The personal diaries were fascinating.
Would definitely recommend this book.
Looking forward to my trip to Chatham Docks to see where some of the scenes were filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved every minute, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Times of Call the Midwife: The Official Companion to Series One and Two (Kindle Edition)
I missed the TV series, and wanted to know what all the fuss was about. After thoroughly enjoying the book, I purchased the DVD, and now I'm hooked. Not only does the DVD give an insight into the challenges faced by midwives in London's East End in the 1950s, it is also very entertaining, with several amusing little episodes.
I strongly recommend it. I will certainly be watching it time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews