Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2014
When one of these fails, and they don't last for long, they trip the fuse for the house lighting. The last time this happened, they also destroyed the dimmer switch, which had to be replaced. I'm scared of the dark, so everytime this happens, I have a mild panic.

I infinitely prefer incandescent lighting to the new eco bulbs and their mercury content (how the hell do you get rid of the things?), and like the heat they give, which saves on the central heating bill. But these particular bulbs are faulty.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
NOT AS ADVERTISED! These are not Osram bulbs. Nowhere does it say that Osram have anything to do with the manufacturing or distribution of these bulbs. I decided to pay extra for Osram bulbs but instead was sent a different manufacturer, whom I suspect is a cheaper version, which I could have gotten anywhere. Happy to have some dialogue regarding this issue.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Great value for money, arrived quickly and safely, which is always a worry with glass through the post. No problems with this purchase
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
I was looking for replacement bulbs for my Lumie alarm clock. These did the job, were 1/5th of the price, and with 10 in a pack I've pretty much got a lifetime's supply!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
These are very poor quality. Some of them only seem to last a couple of weeks and others have just blown when I have switched the light on. Purchased them at the end of October, all 10 are now redundant. Only 3 have ever been in use at any one time. Dissapointing
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
BE-AWARE

These bulbs are not as advertised - THEY ARE NOT OSRAM - Brand on boxes is "status" - so simply not as advertised.

MUCH MORE IMPORTANT - They are also marked " NOT SUITABLE FOR HOME ILLUMINATION "

In my work as H&S consultant I know this essentially means that :-

They are offering so-called “rough-service” incandescent bulbs, which look almost identical to the bulbs that have now been outlawed. However, what is not being made clear is that these bulbs are specially manufactured for industrial use, and while they may be specially toughened to withstand the knocks and vibrations of industrial environments, they are in most ways far inferior to the old “domestic” types.

While some irresponsible retailers are fudging the issue and claiming that these bulbs are suitable for domestic use, consumers should be aware that they are clearly marked as ‘not suitable for household room illumination’ for good reasons, and this warning should be heeded.

· Genuine rough service lamps are built for industrial applications and so cost considerably more than domestic incandescent light bulbs used to.
· They also cost much more to run (almost twice as much in some cases) than energy efficient replacements.
· Because of their design, they produce a lower level of light than an equivalent household incandescent lamp.
· Household insurance policies could well be invalidated should one or more of these lamps be used in the house.

The National Measurement Office, the UK government agency responsible for enforcing the ban on traditional bulbs, has specifically warned householders against buying rough-service bulbs. An official guidance paper states:

“Whilst all the major retail outlets market special purpose lamps very differently from those used for household illumination, there are a growing number of websites and other forms of distance marketing which do not make such a distinction.”

“Consumers should ensure that they do not use special purpose/rough service lamps for household room illumination as they are declared by the manufacturer as unsuitable for this purpose. Consideration should be given to the terms and conditions of any household insurance policy if such lamps are used for illuminating your house.”

So ....... for those in hunt of a bargain , and not reading the box , you need to save up for your next electricity bill and probably double check your home insurance policy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
What can I say about clear candle light bulbs. They are just what I thought they would be, well packaged and boxed they will do the job just fine.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
thank you had tried for many weeks to find in high street stores with no luck - advised to try Amazon found at once
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 August 2015
Long-lasting and efficiently bright.

I got these bulbs to fit all my indoor lams (I have five, including the bedroom lamps) and they are more than adequate to read by or to ligtht he computer area.

They appear to have a long life as the spares have been in my drawer for a couple of months now and as yet are unused.

Very pleased with this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
i bought thwese as hard to find them in stores now. since i have used these bulbs the blow all the time, much more frequant then i have had before and when you go to change them the glass part become disattached from the metal screw fitting so need tweezers to try and prize the metal piece out of the light fitting.
no good quality at all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)