Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Best!
Well I just finished Everyone Communicates, Few Connect by John Maxwell. I am almost ashamed for getting such a good book for free from BookSneeze, and even though I wasn't required to give a positive review, that is the only kind I can give it.

Out of the hundreds of books that I have read that are really good, this one is definitely in the top ten. John...
Published on 1 May 2010 by Jay Lauser (aka Sir Emeth Mimetes)

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Caution
I am sure the author is a very successful, accomplished speaker and there are a few gems included in this book. The problem is you have to sift through way too much unnecessary verbiage, name dropping and the authors self serving "aren't I clever" prose and anecdotes masked by occassional and thinly veiled self deprecation to find them. Ironic really since the book is...
Published on 19 Jan 2011 by AJPSussex


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Caution, 19 Jan 2011
I am sure the author is a very successful, accomplished speaker and there are a few gems included in this book. The problem is you have to sift through way too much unnecessary verbiage, name dropping and the authors self serving "aren't I clever" prose and anecdotes masked by occassional and thinly veiled self deprecation to find them. Ironic really since the book is about moving from plain old communication to really connecting with individuals and one of the tips is humility and another to keep your messages simple. I persevered for the first half of the book but lost interest after that and flicked through the remainder trying to pick out the good bits. I wouldn't recommend it unless you can find a version that is free or available for nominal cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Best!, 1 May 2010
Well I just finished Everyone Communicates, Few Connect by John Maxwell. I am almost ashamed for getting such a good book for free from BookSneeze, and even though I wasn't required to give a positive review, that is the only kind I can give it.

Out of the hundreds of books that I have read that are really good, this one is definitely in the top ten. John Maxwell brings Biblical, Christian, practical, applicable, powerful, and profound principles, tactics, illustrations, and humor together in this book with a vital message: how to connect with everyone you come into contact with.

Connecting is the most important thing you can do in any relationship (family, spouse, parents, boss, co-workers, subordinates, clients, everyone). And every single step that John Maxwell gives you here will by itself revolutionize the way you connect. Integrating them all is hard work, but it is worth it. Five stars isn't enough: this book is crucial for your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely love this Book and CD, I've read the book and consider it a masterpiece in communication and publik speaking. Having it on tape gives you the opportunity to listen to it over and over again, i.e. in the car ( wich is what i normally do.
The content is simple but very effective and covers basically all the subject and the tips you need to know if you want to better communicate on a one on one level or in a group or in front of an audience. It will help you become a better connector with people and you will benefit of it not only on a communication basis but also on a relationship basis.
Emanuele.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful surprise, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed starting this book - I'm not done yet as it is giving me much use for thought. I know someone mentioned the name dropping. This may annoy some, but it is done more in the spirit of acknowledging people who have helped, rather than to boast that he knows them personally! A lot of people helped him by giving input into the book, so for me the experience is enriched by the fact that an online community have participated.

It does give a lot of practical hints and tips, but more importantly it makes you think about motives, thoughts, attitudes and where you need to adjust to improve things for yourself and other people. I wish every company and school had copies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read! I like John Maxwell's stories of his experiences when he failed to connect and how he transited to a powerful 'connector'. Some of his tips have been very useful in my profession. Excellent book, worth reading by everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this book!, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a clear, practical book that will benefit everyone who reads it and puts into practise recommended ways to connect with others for the benefit of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars get connected, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book by john maxwell,is great for anyone looking to learn the skills and put into practice what is to be more successful in the way they relate and communicate to others.
it looks at three main areas ,on a one to one basis,in a group ,and to an audiance.as with all of john maxwells books,easy to understand and read,but the principles of it need to be applied and put into practice
the benefits are huge for those in buisness in family relations or for anyone who needs speak and communicte to maybe a wider audiance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived quickly, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my brother in law as he requested it for Christmas. I have given it 5 starts because he hasn't complained. It arrived quickly and was well packaged and was the cheapest on the net
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Without mutual respect and trust, "communication" is BLAH BLAH BLAH, 4 July 2012
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Two of the greatest (of many) benefits of the World Wide Web originally envisioned by Tim Berners-Lee are that those who are connected with it can then connect with anyone or anything else also online, anywhere, anytime...and then when the connection is made, interactive with each other.

As is also true of all of John Maxwell's several dozen books, he provides an abundance of information, insights, and counsel in this one that will help his reader to communicate more effectively by connecting more extensively. Specifically, Maxwell explains how becoming a Connector will help to achieve strategic objectives that include these:

o Enhance visibility and increase influence
o Serve the best interests of others as well as those of one's society
o "Talk the talk"...and then walk it
o Renew energy sources
o Master skills to complement natural talent
o Locate common ground, mutual interests, and shared values
o Follow Albert Einstein's admonition, "Make everything as simple as possible but no simpler"
o Create shared experience that everyone enjoys
o Inspire others
o Ensure alignment of affirmations with actions

As I began to read this book, I was reminded of passages in Maribeth Kuzmeski's The Connectors: How the World's Most Successful Businesspeople Build Relationships and Win Clients for Life. The examples she cites indicate that almost anyone can establish and then sustain mutually beneficial relationships within and beyond the workplace. She asserts that "true connections" between and among people must be made and then sustained with feeling and purpose and honesty. Bill George would invoke the term "authentic," insisting that it is imperative to be true to one's self (to one's True North) as well as to others.

These comments who wholly consistent with the observations and values that Maxwell shares in his book as he explains the defining characteristics of High, Average, and Low Achievers before shifting his attention to explaining how to connect with people at all levels, connect one-on-one, and connect with an audience. He devotes Part II (Chapters 6-10) to explaining in detail how to become a Connector and then, hopefully, help others to complete the same process.

Again, I want to stress how much importance Maxwell places on personal integrity. Some of the most despicable leaders throughout history were - at least for a time - highly effective Connectors. They attracted huge numbers of followers who were enthralled by their charm (i.e. "charisma") and presence as well as by their eloquence.

The leadership that John Maxwell advocates does not preclude any of these qualities. Indeed, Jesus of Nazareth, Abraham Lincoln, Mohandas Gandhi, Nelson Mandela, and Martin Luther King, Jr. possessed them. However, Maxwell insists that the values great leaders affirm are the same that determine their behavior, that they are committed to what Robert Greenleaf once characterized as "servant leadership." Principled behavior always communicates more and more effectively than words do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone Communicates, Few Connect, 7 Jun 2010
By 
P. S. Aiken (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well-written and easy to read book by leadership expert John C. Maxwell on connecting. Challenges the reader to make a point of connecting with others, not just relating. Worth far more than the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews