Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muswell Hill's Finest
Ray Davies is a remarkable songwriter whose songs captured so much of growing up in the 60s and 70s. His recent rendition of Waterloo Sunset at the Olympics Closing Ceremony was, in my humble opinion, the highlight and was much more fitting than some of the songs that were performed. This is a fine compilation made interesting by the second cd 'London Songs' but I have to...
Published 23 months ago by K. C. Wood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good to have the whole cololection on one CD
Great to hear the old favourites on one CD some new to me but well worth a place in the CD rack
Published 6 months ago by CoraB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muswell Hill's Finest, 15 Aug 2012
By 
K. C. Wood "KW" (Cambs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo Sunset: The Very Best of The Kinks and Ray Davies (Audio CD)
Ray Davies is a remarkable songwriter whose songs captured so much of growing up in the 60s and 70s. His recent rendition of Waterloo Sunset at the Olympics Closing Ceremony was, in my humble opinion, the highlight and was much more fitting than some of the songs that were performed. This is a fine compilation made interesting by the second cd 'London Songs' but I have to agree with the previous review in that the omission of 'Celluloid Heroes' is a serious error by whoever compiled this. I'd also have liked to have had the version of 'Lola' with its original line 'I met her in a pub down in old Soho where they drink champagne that tastes just like Coca Cola' instead of the changed version for the BBC with 'Cherry Cola' - hence 4 stars instead of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am in paradise - welcome to The Kinks!, 16 Aug 2012
By 
John K. Gateley "johngateley" (Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo Sunset: The Very Best of The Kinks and Ray Davies (Audio CD)
Watching Ray Davies get out of a taxi at the closing ceremony of the Olympic Games in London and walk across the stage to sing his classic song 'Waterloo Sunset' was a truly defining moment. This was his Gold Medal. This is a man who has influenced modern music considerably. He and his brother Dave invented the rock riff in 'You Really Got Me', Ray has chronicled us English over the years in dozens of songs including 'Sunny Afternoon' and 'Dead End Street'. He invented the rock opera in'Arthur', written a Number One single about a transvestite in 'Lola' and so on. 20 or so hit records, 30 albums and a back catalogue that most modern bands would crawl over broken glass to own.

The Very Best of The Kinks and Ray Davies doesn't include any new material - and it blatantly has been released off the back of his Olympics Finale appearance - but it does provide a window into Ray's and his band's world. It includes nearly all the classic hits plus songs centred around London, his hometown. The order of the songs (apart from those relating to London) are in a strange order - or effectively no order at all. That's disappointing because they could have done hits, London songs and Ray Davies' songs in chronological order.

However, as an introduction to probably one of the most underated bands of all time, it is great value. You get 45 songs for under 10 - half of which are Kinks hits. Some who are new to The Kinks (this album is in the Top 20 as I write this review) may at first find the none hits material difficult to follow - but it's important to persevere. A song like 'Holloway Jail' may sound depressing stuff but the lyrics and mood of the song are very powerful - just needs a few listens. Ray went through a phase where he seemed to lose interest in writing hit singles, so these songs are not so 'catchy' shall we say.

Anyway, if you are new to The Kinks and enjoyed 'Waterloo Sunset' on Sunday night, this is as good an introduction to The Kinks as you will get. Ray - thanks for a moving performance on Sunday night - 'Waterloo Sunset' is not only your finest moment but also the song that defines London so very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If they can give McCartney a Knighthood what about Ray Davies??, 14 Aug 2012
By 
H. Bruce "music lover" (edin scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterloo Sunset: The Very Best of The Kinks and Ray Davies (Audio CD)
Okay I've only given this four stars because it is just another compilation but at least there are some of Ray's solo stuff here. Personally growing up Waterloo Sunset, Victoria, All day and all of the night etc were, in my opinion, at LEAST as good as anything The Beatles or Stomes released, Ray Davies is truly one of the greatest songwriters ever and anybody looking for a starter can do a lot worse. One song missing though is the mightl Celluloid Heroes - check it out guys and become Dedicated followers of fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kinks forever and ever., 23 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo Sunset: The Very Best of The Kinks and Ray Davies (Audio CD)
Although many Kinks fans will have most of these tracks in their collection, there are still hidden gems included in this compilation. The London songs featured on the second CD highlight the ongoing fascination Davies has with London life , he captures the essence of London without being sentimental. There are many tracks included which are part of the Kinks canon but not well known to the general public like, 'Denmark Street, Did ya, London Song; which are true classics and I would recommend this purely for the lesser well known tracks featured on CD2. Also you have the underated Dave Davies contribution , Fortis Green', which is sublime and well worth the admission price along . Along with the hits this is the best compilation issued in years,believe me as i have bought them all.
Also Check out the BBC years and have yourself a kinks fest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How do you really buy their best?, 11 Feb 2013
By 
David E. Carter (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterloo Sunset: The Very Best of The Kinks and Ray Davies (Audio CD)
I remember the early 70's when the 6th or 7th "best of the Kinks" compilation had already been released leaving me thinking that their label, "Pye" were really milking it a bit. 40 years later and we have what seems like the 500th version of their greatest hits! Actually, this is very good and contains the majority of their better known hits as well as some great under-represented songs from the 70's. I'm also impressed by the "London" sequence of songs on disc 2 including the gorgeous "Postcard from London" I assume that the idea to include this theme was due to Ray's involvement in the Olympics. Another big plus for choosing this collection is the inclusion of "Did ya" One of the Kinks' last (and best) ever recordings. Similar to "Sunny afternoon", virtually as good but very difficult to find or download.
SO,..How do you buy ALL of the Kinks' best recordings? It's a mind-boggling task but I have been a fan since "you really got me" was released. ( Yes, I AM that old!) For the very casual fan, I would recommend just this one alone or maybe just " The Kinks' singles collection" which is a no-messing chronological collection of all their single A-sides up to 1970. If you want to be a much more devoted fan and want to sort out the many wonderful neglected nuggets from their back catalogue but also to avoid the turkeys ( Ray Davies IS human after all!) Then I would suggest buying selected complete albums ( most can be picked up very cheap) and choosing the best tracks to download from the rest. I would LOVE to be given the job of compiling a 5 or 6 CD box set of the Kinks' career. It would be a killer!
Anyway, the essential albums : " Face to face", " Something else", "Village Green preservation society", "Arthur", "Lola vs Powerman", "Muswell hillbillies" and of course, this collection or "the singles collection"
Now the odd tracks. I would definitely recommend about 30 or 40 but I'm just going to mention about a dozen.( A great rating review of every track they ever made can be found on "Uncut" magazine "ultimate music guide" issue 12) Anyway, here goes,:
"Sitting In my hotel" , " celluloid heroes", "sweet Lady Genevieve", "Juke box music", "God's children", " The way love used to be", " A rock n roll fantasy", " Living on a thin line", " Out of the wardrobe", " Missing persons" " I need you", " Sitting in the mid day Sun" Also, if you can get hold of them, the last two studio tracks they ever cut, the wonderful, out-with-a-bang, " Animal" & " To the bone" ( Seemingly only available on the expensive, but excellent,live double, " To the bone")
OK, phew! Happy listening all! GOD SAVE THE KINKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waterloo sunset, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album with great songs certainly brings some memories back some really great kink classics this has been a really good buy at good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Listening, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Natations "Natations" (Pearland, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo Sunset: The Very Best of The Kinks and Ray Davies (Audio CD)
Purchased this after listening to Waterloo Sunset this year. I have never been much of a group follower but hadn't realized how many of the Kinks songs I had enjoyed over the years. I play this in my car a lot. Enjoy singing along with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ray Davies at his Very Best, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb compilation by probably the greatest living British song writer and that's no exaggeration! Classic Kinks songs along with some excellent Ray solo work. A must have album for those who haven't got much or any of the work by the great man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars husband's favourites, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo Sunset: The Very Best of The Kinks and Ray Davies (Audio CD)
Bought this for my husband after he saw Ray Davies on the Olympic closing ceremony. He has always been a fan and he just loves this album. Brought back so many memories of our courting days. would recommend this to all sixties lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Sioux (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo Sunset: The Very Best of The Kinks and Ray Davies (Audio CD)
If you like The Kinks then this is the album for you.
Makes you realise just how talented Ray Davis is;
Give it a listen you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews