Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars64
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 November 2012
Another good release from the same team that brought us Blu Ray discs like Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) and Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray)[Region Free] ; so once again we have the familiar voice of our most popular naturalist, who also wrote the script.

The huge challenge of filming in 3D on the remote island of South Georgia is well-documented in the bonus feature and it makes you feel even more privileged to have the kind of shots they deliver, when you see how difficult all this was. Getting tons of equipment through treacherous seas in icy conditions, then spending many months with creatures that never stuck to the script.

We get some amazing close-up shots in 3D and full 1080p HD resolution of these beautiful animals struggling to survive in a harsh environment. The 3D makes it easier to see what is going on - in the incredibly dense colonies of "Penguin City". The 3D perspective allows you to pick out individuals against a background which they would otherwise blend into.

The 3D effects are not quite so pronounced in the underwater shots, but the bonus feature details all their problems with this and I think you have to admire what the team achieved. On the land, you get an amazingly good impression of a vast beach lansdcape, which seems to stretch on forever and which is full of life as far as you can see.

It really feels like you are there with the Penguins at their level and David Attenborough's commentary allows you to identify with a single King Penguin and get an impression of the life of these extraordinary creatures. At 72 minutes for the 3D feature and an interesting "making of" documentary, this is a good package - but it stands or falls on the quality of the pictures and the narrative provided - in both cases excellent, which makes this a worthy addition to anybody's library of 3D Nature documentaries. Recommended.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
Definitely buy this DVD, David Attenborough goes deep into the life of a very special penguin. Look out for the egg!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
This comes from the makers of David Attenborough's Kingdom of Plants Kingdom of Plants [DVD]and Flying Monsters Flying Monsters [DVD] and like them this is extremely high quality and good value. Although David Attenborough doesn't appear in this particualr film, he is very much in the making of programme and he narrates throughout in his inimitable way.

The story is scientifically real as it's based on a year in the life of one King Penguin - finding a mate, hatching a chick and rasiing it till it is ready to swim off and the cycle starts again. It's a story that naturally has drama, warmth and highs and lows. There's comedy too and the action never flags with sufficient danger from predators to keep any family viewers happy.

Overall this is a lovely little film and has made a great gift for my family.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
A very instructive and entertaining video. In 3D you can easily pick out an individual penguin and concentrate on it. If you have 3D you will not be disappointed with this film.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
This was a pure delight to watch, the 3-D is stunning the directors used what i would call a lot of artistic license but you can ignore that when the 3-D is so good i would recommend this film it is for kids and adults the whole family should be able to enjoy this one
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Looks great on blu ray - stunning quality.However,the main feature is 'disney-fied'. The penguins are given human characteristics, Mammy penguin meets daddy penguin etc etc. To be honest though, a 1hour 20 minute film about penguins? My mind kept wondering.The making of was far better,and interesting.Although this film is narrated by David Attenborough, this wasn't done by the BBC, and it shows.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
I worked with these birds for nearly 12 years many years ago in a zoo environment so it was good to see them in the wild again.
I liked the side story of " boy meets girl" when our flippered friend first makes landfall to find his perfect lady.
They do what nature intended, she goes back to sea to feed up and does not return as she appears to have had a close encounter with either a leopard seal of killer whale! Although this was all invented, you see the lingering shot of her mate who seems to know that she will not be coming back.It almost brought a tear to my eye! A great little film but I was only able to view the DVD version as I have not made the jump to 3D.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
I saw this at the cinema with a 40 minute live link from a London cinema that David Attenborough answered questions about the production and spoke about future projects (Galapagos 3D, with an animal that has never been captured on film before.) This film shows the struggles of life beautifully, although there is a scene with a killer whale that seems to have been left to the imagination rather than showing what actually happened! Please don't sensor nature, it is how it happens, survival is the only option.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Nice documentary from Sir David. A great buy to watch with the family especially kids, the use of 3D is awesome. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
Once again David Attenbourgh does not disappoint great story bril photography penguins are the stars a must for Attenbourgh fans
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)