Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the 3D Blu Ray.
Another good release from the same team that brought us Blu Ray discs like Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) and Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray)[Region Free] ; so once again we have the familiar voice of our most popular naturalist, who also wrote the script.

The huge challenge of filming in 3D on the remote island of South Georgia is well-documented...
Published on 20 Nov. 2012 by Bruce

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the 'making of' is better than the feature.
Looks great on blu ray - stunning quality.However,the main feature is 'disney-fied'. The penguins are given human characteristics, Mammy penguin meets daddy penguin etc etc. To be honest though, a 1hour 20 minute film about penguins? My mind kept wondering.The making of was far better,and interesting.Although this film is narrated by David Attenborough, this wasn't done...
Published on 10 Dec. 2012 by R. G. Hancox


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3d Heaven, 24 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly I must apologise for my reviews on David Attenborough and how amazing I think he is but I grew up learning from his video and dvd collections. This 3D King Penguin is just what 3D tv was made for. It's magic and to be able to single out each bird amongst the vast depth of the colony is amazing. I felt as though I could reach out and touch each Penguin. My 5 year old daughter was captivated by the images.
When you see the lengths that the camera crews went to in order to capture such imagery it really does show how they go the extra mile to bring this to our screen. Sir Davids commentaries are in my opinion legendary and i hang on every word. It's simply brilliant and a must for any 3D collection. This is perfection from the BBC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing 3D Release!!!, 21 Nov. 2012
The 3D depth is amazing throughout the length of the documentary, though depth is missing occasionally at very few scenes. The story itself is very gripping as it is written and narrated by Legendary naturalist David Attenborough. No need to say much about this. A release from Atlantic Productions (Kingdom of Plants 3D). 72 minutes of very enjoyable documentary yet emotional & sentimental at times. 48 minutes of additional "Making of" video. The disc comes in a beautiful 3D Lenticular Slipcase. Highly recommended to all nature documentary, Attenborough fans and 3D lovers .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product. Delivered quickly
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my lovly wife she loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mum loved this as one of her pressies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family film, 19 July 2014
By 
Seri (Falkirk scot) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice 3d film ideal family viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good dvd if you like penguins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 Sept. 2014
By 
Peter M "cinerama" (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin King (DVD) (DVD)
Have seen better similar films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too contrived and not the usual Attenborough production, 2 Dec. 2012
By 
John Chandler (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of all this is the first time Sir David has adapted his style to be more like Disney and I did not like it. It degrades his other work. The film is told almost as a Disney tale about a penguin son and the only thing missing, thank God, was that no names were given to the "individual" penguins. The documentary telling us how hard it was to shoot in 3D in South Georgia is excellent and should be watched first. The film in 2D has outstanding colour but regrettably no subtitles have been added for the hearing impaired or for non English speakers. This is a terrible shortcoming which will hopefully be rectified on releases in other markets. This is NOT a standard BBC release and does not maintain the same standards. I found the 3D picture realistic in that a 3D effect is created but I could not get it to work evenly across the screen and did not like it at all. I watched the 3D on a big screen and with Sony's latest 3D projector and an Oppo 3D player. I think 3D is not for me but the 2D picture was excellent.
Now back to the film: South Georgia is the place God would go to take a holiday! It is the most spectacular wild life location on this planet by miles. I have visited the island several times and it gets better every time. King penguins are one of the main highlights and are the focus of this film. The other birds and animals get not much of a look-in. David Attenborough's earlier IMAX DVD, Survival Island, gives a wider coverage but of course the picture is not so good. In Penguin King I did not care for the personalised identification with individual birds and the presumptions made about their feelings and fates was not appealing. Others may like it, certainly if Old Yeller and other similar contrived animal adventures are your cup of tea then you will like this, but if you are expecting Sir David's usual scientific style and his refusal to get personally involved then you will be disappointed. Just be clear as to what you are getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Feb. 2015
By 
jacko4a69 (north kent u k) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant thanks..jacko4a69..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Penguin King (DVD)
The Penguin King (DVD) by David Attenborough (DVD - 2012)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews