Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the 3D Blu Ray.
Another good release from the same team that brought us Blu Ray discs like Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) and Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray)[Region Free] ; so once again we have the familiar voice of our most popular naturalist, who also wrote the script.

The huge challenge of filming in 3D on the remote island of South Georgia is well-documented...
Published 22 months ago by Bruce

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the 'making of' is better than the feature.
Looks great on blu ray - stunning quality.However,the main feature is 'disney-fied'. The penguins are given human characteristics, Mammy penguin meets daddy penguin etc etc. To be honest though, a 1hour 20 minute film about penguins? My mind kept wondering.The making of was far better,and interesting.Although this film is narrated by David Attenborough, this wasn't done...
Published 21 months ago by R. G. Hancox


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin King (DVD) (DVD)
I bought this as a Christmas present for a young lady who is passionate about penguins. She just loves this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars (?)ONE(?) special penguin, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I believe that the producers are having a secret joke with all the marketing material stating that this is following "one special penguin" it would appear considering beak markings that a number of different penguins are followed.

Continuity is also very poor for example a penguin with a muddy front will start walking the camera angle will change and a clean penguin will continue to walk.

Whilst the above do not actually ruin the film they do call into question the integrity of the producers, which leads onto what actually ruined the film for me, namely the contrived nature of the majority of the scenarios.

In trying to make a story based film rather than a nature documentary a number of scenes are clumsily contrived, which added to the issues noted before had me wondering whether they actually happened at all.

This production by Kaleidoscope is very poor when compared to a BBC production and David Attenborough, who I have immense respect for, sold out in putting his name to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Penguin King, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin King (DVD) (DVD)
The Penguin King was slightly disappointing. It did not have the sparkle that his previous films he has produced his commentary
came across as flat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars P..p...pick up a Penguin King!, 6 Nov 2012
I saw this in 3D at the cinema, followed by the live Q&A with the living, and undeniable, legend that is (Sir) David Attenborough.

Now, not wanting my opinion to be tainted by how brilliant Sir Attenborough spoke, how passionate he was about this title, how enthralled everyone (young and old) was by him... I will leave the Q&A out of this. Instead, I will praise the wonderful piece of footage that is `The Penguin King 3D'.

Unlike a lot of nature documentaries, The Penguin King 3D entwines beautifully a narrative that offers not only heart but astounding footage that captures the wonder of a landscape yet to be scarred. The accomplishments to film in such conditions, let alone in 3D, are insurmountable and utterly breathtaking. Not only do you become enraptured by the `King Penguin', following him on his incredible journey as he survives in such harsh conditions, existing in spite of the elements and the approaches of the ever scary Petrol birds (seriously scary!) but you are awe-inspired by the technology that allows us to capture such footage.

The Penguin King 3D is a title that everyone cannot fail to enjoy. For the children it has a heart-warming, although at time tumultuous, and for adults and children alike the footage is remarkable (in 3D and not!). As much a definite as `David Attenborough' is the king of documentaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Penguin King DVD, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as birthday present, they were very impressed by the 3D image on the box and even more impressed by the quality of the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great penguin film, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superb film. Even the cat sat in front of the tv to watch it, transfixed! A really good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exmas, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gift for a family member for christmas they loved this so i am glad that i made this choice thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars penguin king, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin King (DVD) (DVD)
anything by david attenborough is just brilliant. a fantastic dvd to introduce nippers to the man himself. and the penguins were very cool too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3d Heaven, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly I must apologise for my reviews on David Attenborough and how amazing I think he is but I grew up learning from his video and dvd collections. This 3D King Penguin is just what 3D tv was made for. It's magic and to be able to single out each bird amongst the vast depth of the colony is amazing. I felt as though I could reach out and touch each Penguin. My 5 year old daughter was captivated by the images.
When you see the lengths that the camera crews went to in order to capture such imagery it really does show how they go the extra mile to bring this to our screen. Sir Davids commentaries are in my opinion legendary and i hang on every word. It's simply brilliant and a must for any 3D collection. This is perfection from the BBC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing 3D Release!!!, 21 Nov 2012
The 3D depth is amazing throughout the length of the documentary, though depth is missing occasionally at very few scenes. The story itself is very gripping as it is written and narrated by Legendary naturalist David Attenborough. No need to say much about this. A release from Atlantic Productions (Kingdom of Plants 3D). 72 minutes of very enjoyable documentary yet emotional & sentimental at times. 48 minutes of additional "Making of" video. The disc comes in a beautiful 3D Lenticular Slipcase. Highly recommended to all nature documentary, Attenborough fans and 3D lovers .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Penguin King (DVD)
The Penguin King (DVD) by David Attenborough (DVD - 2012)
£1.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews