Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars64
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2014
Purchased this item for my grandson who is 6 years old, is very interested in all animals including dinosaurs and wants to be a paliontologist when he grows up!. He found the content educational and was very impressed by the 3D aspect of the presentation. I highly recommend this item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
A great title and better in both Blu-ray and 3D.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
Wonderful. I can see all the Hard work put behind producing this great documentary. Well narrated too. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I highly recommend it. Some of the scenes are breathtaking and HD does it real justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
David Attenborough. 3D. Penguins. In that order, it's all you need to know you're about to see something special. At first I was skeptical, thinking to myself it couldn't possibly be the same penguin family being followed and recorded by the camera crew. But it is and in the hands of this experienced lot what you get is an incisive, at times dramatic, and always entertaining documentary on these wonderful birds most humans find fascinating. Wether you watch it in 2D or the extra dimension, either is brilliant (I recommend 3D). The quality is superb.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
I believe that the producers are having a secret joke with all the marketing material stating that this is following "one special penguin" it would appear considering beak markings that a number of different penguins are followed.

Continuity is also very poor for example a penguin with a muddy front will start walking the camera angle will change and a clean penguin will continue to walk.

Whilst the above do not actually ruin the film they do call into question the integrity of the producers, which leads onto what actually ruined the film for me, namely the contrived nature of the majority of the scenarios.

In trying to make a story based film rather than a nature documentary a number of scenes are clumsily contrived, which added to the issues noted before had me wondering whether they actually happened at all.

This production by Kaleidoscope is very poor when compared to a BBC production and David Attenborough, who I have immense respect for, sold out in putting his name to this.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Very very good nature documentary film. Really brilliant, great story, great shots. Excellent 3D, land and underwater. Wonderful narration of David Attenborough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Lovely film with gorgeous penguins. Animals lovers are bound to enjoy this film. 3d quality is very good as well. Well worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
This DVD was brought as a gift and was really enjoyed by the whole family, a story you must see with amazing footage
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
Bought this to test new 3D TV. Very good effects and does show how 3D should look. May look for more of this type
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
It's impossible to get disappointed by David Attenborough's documentaries. The Penguin King is another masterpiece, with breathtaking images and a very touching story. Thank you, David!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)