Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great period drama!!
Being a fan of a good period drama, as-well-as a huge fan of Benedict Cumberbatch i naturally just had to watch this 5 part drama. 'Downton Abbey' it sure aint!! There's no comparison really, i find it a far more superior drama. It may not be to everyones taste and you really have to follow it carefully as it is based on the famous Ford Maddox Ford book which is a tough,...
Published on 28 May 2013 by Molly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not comparable to the book
Plot and characters reduced to fit into the 5-episode format, thus losing a lot, to the point that some of the characters' actions are incomprehensible or not sufficiently supported. Unfortunate casting for some of the roles: Cumberbatch is very well chosen for the part (although he's allowed to overdo the trembling lower lip thing), but Adeleide Clemens is hardly...
Published 22 months ago by Marta Serrano


‹ Previous | 116 17 1827 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great product, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
Good service, great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good movie to own, 23 Aug. 2014
By 
Geoffrey Dixon (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Well pleased with this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fair to the novel, but could be better..., 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I did not know Fox Madox Fox's works (or even the author, I must confess, he's not very famous in Brazil) until my contact with BBC’s series. Rebecca Hall is a perfect Sylvia, absolutely embodying the book’s character. Benedict Cumberbatch was not the best choice for Christopher Tietjens, an almost fat and very heavy man, but he’s an amazing actor, he turned the odds in his favor. Adelaide Clemens is a lovely Valentine Wannop. The production makes everything really beautiful, I loved the colors when I re-watched it on BD. The problem is that being too short, the last episode in special was too fast paced, many information from the novels – important information – is lost. Many characters as Tietjens’ brother, Mark, and Mrs. Wannop are not fairly treated.

I recommend the BBC’s series, it’s really good, but two more episodes would make it unforgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but a little slow to start, 8 Feb. 2013
By 
Lys Smith "Lys" (My fantasy world...) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
Parade's End is pretty good, although I personally found the start of the first episode a little jarring, as if they had cut out some scenes that would have made it smoother.

Also, it is slow to start in general, and the passage of time is poorly explained to the viewer. Apart from that, it was a pretty good series, with top rate actors that make the screen come alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great expectations but a bit disappointing, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
I had read such rave reviews of this shows so was keen to see it. I'm a great admirer of Benedict Cumberbatch's as an actor, but I was a little disappointed with the script which jumped around all over the place without making clear the relationships between characters, making it hard to follow at times. I also found it hard to like the characters at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
Marevelus british film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
very happy with item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beats everything., 30 May 2013
By 
D. L. Rooders - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
Great acting and what a great story. A real gem. Tom Stoppard's adaptation is fantastic. Almost all other films about this period in time pale in comparison. Downtown Abbey/Upstairs Downstairs etc. are really nice but nothing like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars benedict cumberbatch!, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
amazing, gripping stuff. great acting and because iam a massive cumberbatch fan, it was amazing to see him in it. once you watch one episode, you want to watch the rest. a must see if you are a fan of benedict's like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
just about makes it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1827 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parade's End [DVD]
Parade's End [DVD] by Susanna White (DVD - 2012)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews