Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (129)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC at its best!
This is a wonderful dramatisation of Ford Maddox Ford's novel Parade's End, following the life of Christopher Teijen's, an Edwardian gentleman, through the early years of the 20th Century until the end of the First World War. The production is lavish and performances by Benedict Cumberbatch, Rebecca Hall, and other noteable British actors are sublime. Not to be missed,...
Published 21 months ago by Thoughtful

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching
Well acted with good cast sad with a good ending. Would recommend it. Shows the stupidity of war and how people keep going regardless
Published 1 month ago by JOAN STANHOPE


‹ Previous | 115 16 1721 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Parade's End, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I enjoyed this series very much, and I have suggested that my friends watch it when it starts here soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fair to the novel, but could be better..., 6 Feb 2013
By 
Valeria F. Silva "Valéria Fernandes" (Brasilia, DF, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I did not know Fox Madox Fox's works (or even the author, I must confess, he's not very famous in Brazil) until my contact with BBC’s series. Rebecca Hall is a perfect Sylvia, absolutely embodying the book’s character. Benedict Cumberbatch was not the best choice for Christopher Tietjens, an almost fat and very heavy man, but he’s an amazing actor, he turned the odds in his favor. Adelaide Clemens is a lovely Valentine Wannop. The production makes everything really beautiful, I loved the colors when I re-watched it on BD. The problem is that being too short, the last episode in special was too fast paced, many information from the novels – important information – is lost. Many characters as Tietjens’ brother, Mark, and Mrs. Wannop are not fairly treated.

I recommend the BBC’s series, it’s really good, but two more episodes would make it unforgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good film, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
I love this dvd! If you've read the book you will love this film. It's very good and I will watch it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best television drama in 2012 by far, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
It was better watching this DVD than weekly on television. This could have been a film for the big screen it was that good. BBC ought to show it again on BBC1 - best thing on television this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great expectations but a bit disappointing, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
I had read such rave reviews of this shows so was keen to see it. I'm a great admirer of Benedict Cumberbatch's as an actor, but I was a little disappointed with the script which jumped around all over the place without making clear the relationships between characters, making it hard to follow at times. I also found it hard to like the characters at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Parade's end, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
Did not like the opening of this film. The whole thing was just O.K. Liked the bit about the film being made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Janet not long enough for me., 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
Watched it on television first then got the dvd,only grumble Janet McTeer not in it long enough,else a good drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
Well-acted but very tedious. Benedict Cummerbach's character is unbelievably - and unlikeably - weak, giving way to the demands of his ex-wife as a matter of honour - and dishonouring himself in the process. Comparisons will be inevitably made to Downton Abbey - the latter is unquestionably stronger and better: Downton has a story to tell - this is just intellectual masturbation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
I was so ready to love this, so the disappointment is that much deeper. I'm not sure if it was a poor adaptation, bad casting or just the really annoying wife's character, but it all turned out to be almost too much effort to bother watching to the end. As an enormous fan of Cumberbatch, I persevered, but for little reward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Parade's End, thanks heavens!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parade's End [DVD] (DVD)
I did not like this at all. I admire Benedict Cumberbatch and wonder why he does duds like this. The story was weak, writing and direction poor. I seem to be about the only one who did not like this movie according to the reviews I read. I would not recommend it to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 1721 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parade's End [DVD]
Parade's End [DVD] by Susanna White (DVD - 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews