Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a series that only gets better
The third "Getting On" is proving to be as funny, poignant and insightful as the previous two.

When we start the series Return to Practice Nurse Kim is still the donkey, doing most of the work. Matron Hilary has now moved to a management post where management-speak is compulsory. The student from series two has now somehow become Ward Manager. Den is pregnant...
Published on 25 Oct 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars getting on
this is the first time i have watched this series its okay that's why i gave it a score of three. funny and witty but i have enjoyed other British comedy's more
Published 16 months ago by goulter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a series that only gets better, 25 Oct 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "hamble" (somewhere in west europe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Getting On - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The third "Getting On" is proving to be as funny, poignant and insightful as the previous two.

When we start the series Return to Practice Nurse Kim is still the donkey, doing most of the work. Matron Hilary has now moved to a management post where management-speak is compulsory. The student from series two has now somehow become Ward Manager. Den is pregnant and milking her entitlements. Consultant Pippa Moore is still as arrogant, patronising and off-handedly rude as previously. Her line from the first episode - "I think you'd enjoy getting your teeth into my vaginal discharge" - made me hoot with laughter. Of course, there are still the bitter-sweet notes that only add to the humanity of the main characters. The patients still remain just bit-part players around which the clinicians revolve.

There's not a line, gesture or observation out of place. The one-liners are subtle and unstrained. You WILL have to watch this two or three times to catch all the nuances. Direction by Sue Tully - new to this series - and this shows in the camera work which is smoother, somehow less choppy.

"Getting On 3" is perfect viewing from a stunningly well cast ensemble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comic genius, 13 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: Getting On - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best of the 3 series and lets hope they do another one.The acting is brilliant. The understated comedy,funny and sad.Even stuff in the background stick with you.Marvellous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant comedy, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Probably best loved by people who work in the health service like myself, but the humour is absolutely brilliant, hope there is a new series in the offing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a treat this is, 13 July 2013
By 
HelenG (Abbots Langley) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Written by and starring three wonderful actresses, this is some of the best 'real' comedy drama ever. The standard is high and I laughed until I cried, even when I suspect you're not supposed to! It's one of those programmes that just take you and shake you up. You're a fly on the wall in this drama, caught up in the everyday life of NHS nursing. I just hope it's not too true to life because that would be scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mirthfully macbre, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
without doubt one of the most grimly funny portraits of aged care in the western world. Privatized and funding-cut hospital carers would see the truth behind each laugh-infested episode. Superb script, believably hamstrung characters, and real situations combine to draw a bead on this uncaring civilization
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning 3 hander, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This series gets better. The characters pull you in and you can't help caring even while they infuriate you. Believable people with all their inefficiences in the NHS behemoth somehow getting by and they do manage to retain their ability to care for their patients, even while tying themselves in bureaucratic knots. And who would have thought a geriatric ward would have provided such a marvellous mixture of humour, even with a death in most episodes. Love it. Bring on the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
My all time favourite comedy, provided many a laugh for us nurses when in the coffee room on night shift. So many current points made fun of
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever series, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Mouse (Aberdeen United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I have to psyche up to watch these series as they are so close to the bone, but always worth it. This is the best series ever. The comedy is more enjoyable because it is less derived from situations and characters that make you cringe, and more about people just not understanding each others' realities. It does need you to pay attention though as it can be quite subtle. There are moments when it is quite touching and poignant, without ever being sentimental, and the whole thing is such an astute observation of the human state in our society today that I found it entertaining and comforting somehow. I would recommend it to anyone, especially if you have ever worked in hospital or been an in-patient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as season 1, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I give season one= 5 stars.....I give season two= 4.5 stars......But season 3 is still really funny, and worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 May 2014
By 
P. R. Tavener (Suffolk England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant writing and rather disturbing as Jo Brand got most of this from real life. Very clever and well acted by all. The consultant and staff were all so typical of what I have seen in hospitals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Getting On - Series 3 [DVD]
Getting On - Series 3 [DVD] by Sue Tully (DVD - 2012)
£9.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews