Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy
Everything about this show is spot on, in turn laugh out loud, poignant, achingly sad and brutally satirical on the state of the NHS. The first two series were directed by Peter Capaldi and all are written by the three main female leads. Pippa the oblivious consultant obsessed with prodding the darker holes of the human anatomy is matched by Jo Brand's genuine warmth as...
Published 19 months ago by Mark N. Waters

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Faulty
DVD 1 was faulty. I am annoyed about this and frankly get so fed up at the thought of returning items which should be sent in a new condition anyway.
Published 1 month ago by Cynthia Bullock


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy, 4 Dec 2012
By 
Mark N. Waters (Wolverhampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Everything about this show is spot on, in turn laugh out loud, poignant, achingly sad and brutally satirical on the state of the NHS. The first two series were directed by Peter Capaldi and all are written by the three main female leads. Pippa the oblivious consultant obsessed with prodding the darker holes of the human anatomy is matched by Jo Brand's genuine warmth as she deserately tries to show a compassionate face to her elderly charges but all too often is just left to clean up the mess. Very British, very true and simply magnificent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excruciating!!!, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Such dry, black humour! I'm sure a nursing friend of mine will love it, but it might be a little bit too close to home! Brilliant characterisation by all four major roles - consultant Pippa is my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars getting on-series 1-3 boxset[dvd], 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
having worked as a volunteer for league of friends the feel of production so true.

comedy at its best plus sadness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Social Commentary And Dark Humour At Its Best, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Getting On - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Unsurprisingly, perhaps, this little gem of a 'sitcom’ (hardly!) – which (to date) has run to 15 half-hour episodes and three series – was originally 'tucked away’ on BBC4, relatively late at night, thereby (almost certainly and sadly) reducing its potential exposure. Taking the form of the (now well-trodden path of) 'mockumentary’, co-writers (and series ‘stars’) Vicki Pepperdine, Joanna Scanlon and Jo Brand have created a, by turns, darkly hilarious and deadly serious, take on the goings-on in a national health geriatric ward, which, given the tabloid hype around the 'state of the NHS’ is, of course, highly pertinent. Getting On has often be compared to the likes of The Thick Of It and The Office and, whilst such comparisons are valid in terms of style (albeit Getting On is certainly more 'laid back’, pace-wise, than TTOI , in particular), Getting On’s subject matter, essentially 'a matter life or death’ gives it a much 'harder’ (even profound, I would say) edge than tales of office, or even 'real’, politics.

Certainly, each of the three main protagonists deliver superb performances – Scanlon as the slightly officious ward sister, Den, who banters, but is prone to exploiting (by getting her to do the 'most unpleasant’ tasks) her underling, Brand’s (hilariously named) nurse Kim Wilde and (for me, best of all) Pepperdine’s superbly supercilious Doctor Pippa Moore. It seems to me that Pepperdine has been under-(or mis-)used in TV (and film), since her performance here is one of the best acting (comedy or otherwise, and indeed here she plays the role totally straight) turns I have seen for ages (to rank with Hugh Bonneville’s performance in Twenty-Twelve, in fact). Elsewhere, and, for me, probably 2nd only to Pepperdine is Ricky Grover’s amazing performance as the matron (latterly, hilarious 'consultant’), Hilary Loftus.

There are many, many highlights here. As well as containing many moments of great seriousness, relating to the elderly patients’ plight, Getting On is brilliant at portraying the 'fiefdoms’ between doctors, nurses and other staff, the frictions between 'high-flyers’ and others, and other stunning revelations, such as when Dr Moore discovers that the hospital’s African cleaner also has two law degrees and can advise her on her divorce case. On the comic front, there are almost 'Carry On’ moments as (referring to her research project) Dr Moore is concerned her husband might be 'sniffing around her vag. at.’ and (another high point in the final episode), after the doctor has 'dolled herself up’ to the astonishment of Den and Kim, she puts down the amorous advances of a doctor with the quip, 'I’ve always been fond of ferrets, but I wouldn’t want one down my trousers!’. Priceless comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Present, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my wife. She has spent over 30 years caring for elderly patients in the NHS. Many of the things going on in the programmes are so true to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very subtle humour, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
I never watched this series when on TV. I have very much enjoyed it and look forward to more series. My family loved it too. Definately worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully observed, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
We missed this on the television and are currently most of the way through series 2. This may not be for those of a sensitive disposition but it is wickedly funny. The writers obviously have some good inside information and it is beautifully observed. All the main characters, from the consultant who assumes she is in charge, to the (male) matron who is nominally line manager to the two nurses, are recognisable to anyone who has been in a hospital in the last decade or so, without becoming caricatures. We love it, but can't manage more than one episode at a time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars N.H.S. satire, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Bought it for my daughter, a nurse, who could not bear to watch it (too close to reality?) but I thought it hilarious, brilliantly observed and some sad, painful truths about life and people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your typical comedy set in a gerontology ward, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
That rarity — a tv show that should be watched fully awake. For anyone who has ever worked in a hospital, this is the antidote for ER. The visual and verbal wit occur at such a clip — no surprise, given that the three main characters were also the writers — I soon stopped trying to keep up. But the introductory sequence — the weariness with which Jo Brand pushes her nurse's cart across the ward, the exhausted reasonableness of her shoes — perfectly capture the black humor of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting-on DVD, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Dr. Rem Van Woerkom "Rem." (Surrey.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Very watchable DVD. I spent a few weeks on hospital recently so this rings true.

Very amusing. Well acted with believable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Getting On - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD]
Getting On - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] by Peter Capaldi (DVD - 2012)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews