Customer Reviews


473 Reviews
5 star:
 (425)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good old fashioned drama
It is refreshing to see a drama sereis based around an older couple and 'Last Tango In Halifax' is a treat. Derek Jacobi and Anne Reid are a delight as are the supporting players. Sarah Lancashire and Nicola Walker are fine consistant performers and both are spot on here.

There is always enough going on to keep you interested and you genuinely care about the...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. A. Whiteside

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Defective
Disc one only plays sound. Disc two has scratches on. No cellophane wrapping. Looks like it might have been returned defective and got put back on the shelf. Have complained, but as yet no answer from Customer Services.
Published 8 months ago by Jill Hubbard


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good old fashioned drama, 3 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
It is refreshing to see a drama sereis based around an older couple and 'Last Tango In Halifax' is a treat. Derek Jacobi and Anne Reid are a delight as are the supporting players. Sarah Lancashire and Nicola Walker are fine consistant performers and both are spot on here.

There is always enough going on to keep you interested and you genuinely care about the character's. Gillian's generally chaotic personal life has more downs than ups and her confession to Caroline will certainly keep things interesting. This is quality stuff and the good news is that a third series has already been commissioned so there will be lots more happiness, tears and great acting to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath of fresh air, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Tango in Halifax - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
My husband and I absolutely adored this programme as it's so very different to so much mundane rubbish on TV these days. The fact that you can settle down and thoroughly enjoy it for an hour without breaks lets the viewer be able to be enthralled without constant interruptions as are on ITV!

I love the emotions the writer puts into it, it covers the lot! A first class cast with Anne Reid and Derek Jacobi playing brilliant parts that the others seem to perfectly blend around. Congratulations BBC!!

To anyone who has not yet seen it, it's well worth the money and you'll truly enjoy the time spent. BTW, I always buy from Amazon as you can at least rely on them if anything is wrong with your purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love After Time, 25 Sept. 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Last Tango in Halifax - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I love the title of this new PBS series, quite different in tone than 'The Last Tango In Paris'. However, it is about love, sex, couples, children, anger and everything in-between.

This series is based on a true story of writer Sally Wainwright's recollection of her mother's second marriage. This series tells a story of a man and a woman who reconnect via Facebook. Each of them had a crush on the other, which was more like love, 50 odd years ago and they meet up. Alan, played by Derek Jacobi, lives with his daughter, Gillian played by the wonderfully expressive, Nicola Walker, and his grandson Raff. They live on a sheep farm out in the country.

Celia, played by Anne Reid was, unhappily married to a man who slept around. She, too lives with her daughter, Caroline, played by Sarah Lancashire, who is the Head of a public school near Yorkshire. They have money, and Caroline likes to think of herself as an upper class.

The first meetings of the families, is for Alan and Celia to tell them they are getting married. No sense in waiting after all this time. That is fine, but both daughters are going through difficult times with the men in their lives and their children. This will not be easy combining both families. A lot of drama and laughs surround both families, you know the kind of drama we all have.

Messes occur, people say uncouth things, they quarrel, they live, they laugh and cry. The difference here is that this wonderful group of actors bring Halifax alive. It is a series to remember.

Recommended. prisrob 08-25-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best dramas of the 21st century!, 10 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Last Tango in Halifax - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
First of all, let me just say, that I VERY RARELY write reviews on Amazon, however this absolute gem of a TV series is completely worth it.
The writing is so natural and character-driven that you become totally absorbed in the story and 60 minutes flies by.
Then it comes to the acting, which is collectively some of the best I have seen in years. Sarah Lancashire is the stand out, with equally bold performances from the convincing Nicola Walker and the lovely Anne Reid, who completely steals the show in the last two episodes. Derek Jacobi's beautifully subtle performance is also worthy of mention.
This really is a must-buy if you love British drama and I could not recommend it more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You know when you've been Tango'ed!, 28 Dec. 2012
By 
Adie Barrett (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Last Tango in Halifax - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I stumbled upon "Last Tango In Halifax" on the BBC iPlayer after catching up on "The Hour" which was running concurrently. As the wonderful Derek Jacobi tends to be selective in his roles I gave it a go and was glad I did. This present-day drama demonstrates what a good script can become in the hands of an excellent cast on a finely-tuned production. Everyone is Internet-savvy enough these days to undestand that Alan Buttershaw (Derek Jacobi) and Celia Dawson (Anne Reid) meeting online might just be possible.

It is to Sally Wainwright's credit that the crafted situations required no overplaying to convey the powerful underlying emotions, nor the reactions being rendered unbelieveable by (even mild) overacting. A wry turn of the head left us understing what a character was thinking while at the other end of the scale, when Gillians Land Rover went up in flames it didn't explode and destroy everything within 100m yards - it didn't need to to say all that event did. And when a savage beating was bestowed upon Gillian's largely unlikeable, would-be-lover Paul (well-played by the way by Sacha Dhawan) I even cared about him just enough to know he was going to be all right. He may be one to watch next time round methinks, if only to continually upset Gillians' imbalanced world more and more during her struggles to get her life into perspective and up together.

Caroline as played by the ever-watchable Sarah Lancashire garnered my sympathy in dealing with her demons, including having her soppy husband John (great turn by Tony Gardner) and Kate (the un-nervingly attractive Nina Sosanya) unknowingly compete for her affections with the result of having to face up to her own needs as well as her mother. Their row over her sexual awakening matched my realistic expectations especially taking into account the gap between their generations. It was completely believeable for me and not melodramatically-impaired as some dramas have delivered previously. A good word for her kids who every bit as much as the rest of the cast weighed in with believeable performances devoid of exaggerated reactions, portraying victims looking for stability as their family slowly disintegrates.

There was an imbalance between the crowd-pleasing opening episode which gave unbridled joy at the swift developments of the aging lovers rediscovering each other, compared to those which followed as each extended family cast member came more into their detailed own. It dragged in a few places, with episode four particularly making me wonder where it was all headed, but while the penultimate episode delivered more than enough to leave me wondering if anything was left in the tank, I needn't have worried. The wrap had more than enough to make up for all that went before and I challenge anyone watching the last episode not to feel something for the central pair, even a tear in the corner of your eye. Either that or you're inhuman!

This is what it is - a well-told and entertaining story of the type I find are few and further between as the years go on. But as long as story threads remain controlled in number, and that concurrent threads don't get messily over-intertwined and complicated, then the promise should will bear fruit and "Last Tango In Halifax" should flourish into one where viewers eagerly await its return. As indeed I do now, with the proviso that messrs Reid and Jacobi remain on board and centre-stage to avoid extreme (dare I say it) and unnecessary soapish elements creeping in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a tv series, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely love this. I also bought series 1 and both are well worth adding to my collection. The storyline is great, and the casting is superb - part of my enjoyment is appreciating the excellent acting. Finally, the scenery itself, set in West Yorkshire is well worth seeing.

It's a gem of a TV series - I do hope there is a Series 3 p;lanned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy comedy drama, 19 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Last Tango in Halifax - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Watched the whole series - superb. A classy cast, punchy script, stunning northern locations, tears and laughter. I cannot rate this series more highly in a world of mainly TV dross now this really stands out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exasperating and Entertaining, 29 July 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Season Two returned with a pleasing episode, and then, things got a bit sticky. If you have not followed this series, Alan played by Derek Jacobi and Celia played by Anne Reid, in their 70's, were teenage crushes who drifted apart, and then met again 50 years later. They plan to marry when Alan has a heart attack and almost dies. Season Two

This is a lovely story, however, their families become a big part of the story, and, each person has one mess after another befall them. Celia's daughter Caroline, played by Sarah Lancashire, is leaving her adulterous husband, played by Tony Gardner, and in love with another woman, played by Nina Sosanya. Alan's daughter, Gillian played by Nicola Walker, has many secrets, one of which is lovers coming out of the woodwork with their own stories. And, then, the children of the children have quite a few surprises up their sleeves.

However, the main story has to do with Celia and Alan and their plans to get married. Nothing, absolutely nothing is simple for this couple, and, that us what I found annoying this season. Very complicated problems and issues arise for each person. Nothing remains the same, and, yet, things do go 'round in circles. It is a very entertaining show, but exasperating in some measure. Surely, these kind of issues do not descend upon one family in one year. If so, a real family would have been admitted to a state institution for therapy.

If there is a season three, I do hope some realm of stability descends.

Recommended. prisrob 09-29-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopefully not last tango........, 6 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Last Tango in Halifax - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
beautifully done..All characters were brilliant especially sarah lancashire, and her boys....Anne Reid and Derek Jacobi, what a brilliant combination of calamity lol x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer joy, 4 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful performances from a terrific cast; Anne Reid and Derek Jacobi are a delight. Series 1 set a high standard, but Series 2 does not disappoint. Derek Jakobi brings new strength to the character of Alan, while Anne Reid shows that Celia is not all sweet smiles. Impossible to watch just one episode at a time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Tango in Halifax - Series 1 [DVD]
Last Tango in Halifax - Series 1 [DVD] by Sam Donovan (DVD - 2012)
£6.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews