Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill film
I got this DVD for myself as I had never heard of it but but the reviews was good and I wasn't disappointed,it was a great film I have watched it a few times now,great family film
Published on 7 Mar. 2012 by Dawn

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice cheap B Dog movie that's a nice little stocking filler.
We picked this up with Santa Paws 2. Not quite realising that it was simply a repackaged older title. To be honest from what we saw it was easily a cheap B movie using the dogs to sell the title. The main character comes off as rather bland and certainly doesn't seem to be able to act very well. A lot of the more thrilling scenes she simply does not react to. On the...
Published on 25 Nov. 2012 by Mr. M. J. Reed


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice cheap B Dog movie that's a nice little stocking filler., 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Dogs of Christmas (DVD) (DVD)
We picked this up with Santa Paws 2. Not quite realising that it was simply a repackaged older title. To be honest from what we saw it was easily a cheap B movie using the dogs to sell the title. The main character comes off as rather bland and certainly doesn't seem to be able to act very well. A lot of the more thrilling scenes she simply does not react to. On the other-hand the role of the villain and the mayor both come off rather well. The plot about it being Christmas is pretty non-existant too. Or at least downplayed a lot more than other Christmas films these days.

The plot is a little thin, a girl is sent to live in a small town that has banned dogs (not sure why. There are hints that its due to the dogs being able to carry diseases.) as she tries to fit in with the community she takes in a dog that has it's mother taken away by a Dog Catcher, eventually her and her new friends find a way to save the dogs and reveal the sinister world the Dog Catcher is involved with.

I do wish to point out that the film is a lot more adult and I think it will be hard watching for younger people, except perhaps the last 20 minutes with the actual 12 Dogs of Christmas scene. There are things such as Dog fights (and it's unclear at times whether the dogs taken away are killed.) and the outcome for some of the dogs has a big question mark that older children may pick up on.

Overall the film is at a nice price but don't be expecting something amazing. If you're buying for kids and want a Christmas Dog Movie I would suggest Santa Buddies, Santa Paws or 101 Dalmations instead.

Another point I wish to bring up is that the new box art for this film is rather deceiving as none of the dogs on the front cover actually make an appearance. Due to the timing of the release and the way it was linked on amazon is that it was clear to try and dupe people buying Santa Paws 2 into picking this one instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The content doesn't match the cover., 26 Dec. 2013
By 
Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 12 Dogs of Christmas (DVD) (DVD)
This was given at Christmas gift to children aged between 2 and 9. Inexpensive and with a cheerily colourful, jolly picture on the front, it was a reasonable choice of present. However be warned - It is - in my opinion, unsuitable for small children. The well fed attractive dogs on the jolly seasonal cover don't even feature in the film.

The whole story, set in the 1930's, is convoluted, upsetting, threatening and full of dark references to killing dogs. Syringes of lethal injections are shown, the abuse of racing dogs is also shown, and misery in general. The film opens at a graveside. Then there is a horrible car accident, really shocking to watch. Hospital scenes, many frightening conversations about Rabies, nasty mean men plotting...

I was disturbed while watching it, with my grandchildren, who although depressed by the content and anxious about the themes, still wanted to know what happened. The girl 'in charge' of the orphan dogs only occasionally looked in on them, they all lived in tiny cages in a barn which was eventually burned down by the bad men. My nine year old grandson gloomily remarked 'there's always one dog left behind' and so it proved. The wide eyed teenaged girl didn't spare us, she said 'we got most of them out'... She is never shown walking them or feeding them, they are always shut up in their cages, unable to move around freely. Even with the inevitable settling up at the end it wasn't worth enduring and cast a long shadow over what should have been a happy Boxing day afternoon.

The cover is a complete misrepresentation of what the film is about. Don't show it to children who have tender hearts and could be distressed by the acted out grief of losing a parent, threats around 'putting dogs down', uncomfortable viewing of betting on dog races, references to Rabies, the portrayal of dirty, lying, sinister, corrupt men...

Horrid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill film, 7 Mar. 2012
I got this DVD for myself as I had never heard of it but but the reviews was good and I wasn't disappointed,it was a great film I have watched it a few times now,great family film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Dogs of Christmas (DVD) (DVD)
Quick delivery. Haven't watched it yet so can't comment on the film, but all dog films are great. Great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy days, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Dogs of Christmas (DVD) (DVD)
Bought this for a friend who wanted it for his grandchildren he had tried many places to purchase this without success he's an Internet virgin and is amazed at how easy purchasing "on the line" is !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 5 Jan. 2014
This review is from: 12 Dogs of Christmas (DVD) (DVD)
This film was long and dull. It had very little about Christmas and certainly not much cheer. Do not be fooled by cute puppy on the box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas d v d collection, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Dogs of Christmas (DVD) (DVD)
This is one more fore my Christmas collection i have,it will be one more good one for it.Thank you susanannmary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, it was just what I expected, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Dogs of Christmas (DVD) (DVD)
I bought this DVD because my 7 year old granddaughter had really liked the second film. Although this was good, she still preferred the other film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars 12 dogs of christmas, 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Dogs of Christmas (DVD) (DVD)
quite a poor storyline and the acting's not great but I think children would enjoy it hence the 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 12 Dogs of Christmas, 23 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Dogs of Christmas (DVD) (DVD)
The acting was standard however, the dogs were fantastic.I doubt that I will be watching this film for some time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

12 Dogs of Christmas (DVD)
12 Dogs of Christmas (DVD) by Kieth Merril (DVD - 2012)
£4.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews