Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars40
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£3.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2012
I saw this film at Grimmfest 2012 in Manchester and wasn't expecting much after seeing the trailer. I thoroughly enjoyed it, it reminded me of a Shaun of the Dead with Werewolves. I know the subtitles will put a few people off it but I would highly recommend it as I thought it had the same if not better humor than Shaun of the Dead.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
An absolute HOWL, after reading the reviews, and also being a hard core horror fan, I do like to lighten up now and then, and this film ticks all the boxes.
Although it is Spanish with subtitles, it really does not put you of, the special FX are great, but the characters dialog with each other is hilarious, as they keep a straight face while not thinking they are funny, makes it more chuckle some.
I enjoyed every minute, and know I will watch it again.
Definitely recommend
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
Hilarity in the backwoods of Spain.
It sets out like Oliver Reed' crossed with Lon Chaney Jnr' - okay so Jim Dale and Harry H Corbett in Spanish.
The budget is lovingly underexposed but perfectly decent. I havent seen any of the Spanish Werewolf movies or their lead star Paul Naschy (great name) but hope that this riffs on his films too.
For me this covers so many comedy horror bases well, that it is difficult not to get side tracked from the genuine fun on display.
All the main characters (archetypes) are wooden or animated as they need to be. The writers return (and his agents unwelcome appearance), the writers best friends grudging allegiance, the grandmother.... it's all here in a wonderfully nonsensical buffet of off cuts and prime beefcake.
Whilst it carries little genuine gore this is more Shaun of the Dead than Young Frankenstein. Less Carry on Screaming and more Bob Hope Cat and the Canary. I wish I spoke spanish - because whilst the subtitles are funny, I am sure its even funnier in "real" dialogue.
It carries so many plot takes from previous horrors (and comedies) lightly. The characters are stock but beautifully skewed. The police chief is worthy of Young Frankenstein - I particularly liked the shootout with his rooky colleague and the horde, which has a nice echo of the dart board scene from YF. Towards the end his inspired reemergence .... skewing from the end of the Howling?
The Wicker man, the Thing (blood test) and any number of demented family members in the attic films could be being sentup - but the cast are so wonderfully straightfaced that it just flies by as entertainment.
What Van Helsing could have been with this sort of script.
Very Close to Young Frankenstein, Cat and the Canary and The Man with Two Brains in gag quality (no pun intended), similar to Carry On Screaming in quality. It's not subtle (on the surface) but I loved it.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
Don't be put off by the fact that this is a Spanish movie with English subtitles it's a great movie and I'm glad to see it receive a DVD release here in the UK. Originally titled Lobos de Arga or Games of Werewolves it's been retitled and re-marketed for the UK and is probably the best werewolf movie since Dog Soldiers.

As others have stated it is a bit slow to start off with but not boring. There are some great comedy moments and one-liners and the werewolf change scenes are really good. It's great to see visual FX and prosthetics used instead of CGI. If you enjoyed Shaun of the Dead and Boy Eats Girl then you'll love this.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
I love werewolf films. I have the very good in my collection and also the very bad. This film is in the excellent catagory. It is loaded with action but it also has a sense of humor. The laughs aren't done to tell jokes or spoof the genre but are realistic. In other words, the film makers are not trying to shoot themselves in the foot. This is really one of the best werewolf films I have ever seen and I highly recommend it.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
This is a really entertaining and funny film.
The storyline is orignal (the terror stricken inhabitants try to break a 100 year old curse), and the dialogue is funny- particularly between the hero and his oafish agent.
The characters, if a little one dimensional, are appealing enough to keep you interested in the film. The effects are refreshingly old school- the werewolves are realised with costumes, rather than CGI, which makes them more realistic than those seen in recent films. Although not particularly scary, the film has its moments of creepiness.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
the only thing i disliked in this movie was at times in dark scene sequences it was badly pixelated and this being a blu ray hd disc, this is unacceptable. that should of been corrected before encoding to hd. but other than that overall a somewhat funny movie and with great werewolf transformations!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
Story is about a writer who heads off to an old family home in a remote village to get on with some work, unaware that the place has been cursed. The villagers have trapped a werewolf in the catacombs beneath and the only known way of breaking the curse is for the creature to eat someone from the bloodline of the family that was the cause of the problem in the first place - the writer! But there's a second curse - if they don't succeed by a certain date then the entire village populace will become afflicted by the werewolf's shadow...

Promoted as a cross between Shaun of the Dead and Wolf Man, AOTW is kind of what the title suggests: a werewolf movie with a strong undercurrent of pretty black humour. It's not a laugh-per-minute as Shaun is, but there are some great jokes in there that help to keep this entertaining. It is pretty talky for the first half hour but I generally think that this approach is preferable to the in-your-face tactic of everything going wrong from the first minute. The werewolves are pretty cool (great on a decent sound system as there is real guttural bass rumble to the growls) and the escalating nature of the problem leads to a well staged showdown. I had quite a good time with this movie.

The Blu-ray Disc is fine in terms of presentation of the film itself - the film is much sharper than DVD, with an attractive colour palette in outdoor scenes - full HD of course (2.39:1 ratio). It's a very realistic look with very little grain. The audio is Spanish language only (with very clear English subtitles) - not something that bothers me as I watch a lot of foreign horror films anyway, but some viewers will be put off by the absence of English audio. It's served up in DTS-HD Master Audio format, either 5.1 or stereo. Surprisingly the only extra is a trailer, but menus are easy to use. I'm not sure if all of the discs are packed in the same way but mine came in a nice holographic slipcase - I picked the disc up in HMV. For the strong audio visual presentation I'd recommend the Blu-ray, as it's not exactly expensive.

**** for the film (probably ** if you hate subtitles, but I think it's worth opening up your mind if so);
*** for the disc, which loses a star or two due to lack of extra material.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2012
Caught this at Grimmfest this weekend and was thoroughly impressed. What looks like a dodgy b-movie was in fact a sharp, hilarious and fresh werewolf film.
22 comments6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
choose this from other reviews because of comedy element. Very like a spanish sean of the dead with werewolves of course. Didnt know what to expect and enjoyed this movie probably because of that. Some dark funny bits and after a while you forget about the sub-titles.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.