Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great indie horror
From the same director as "Necromentia". A very well crafted horror story that progresses slowly enough to develop its tone and characters. The plot is clever and the cast does an amazing job. They are not famous yet they deserve to be because they're good. You get plenty of scares even if the film itself is short.
I personally loved the production design: they...
Published on 26 Dec. 2012 by Elie L

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars PARTY AT SARAH'S!
Sarah (Hannah Ward) is a disturbed person who has premonitions and "episodes." She makes Carrie look like a social butterfly. We don't know the exact nature of her reclusive problem, but we do know her parents moved due to her being tormented. The parents must leave and have Lucy (Sage Howard) come over and keep her company. Lucy, invites her friends and they decide to...
Published on 13 Jun. 2013 by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars PARTY AT SARAH'S!, 13 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Evil Inside (DVD) (DVD)
Sarah (Hannah Ward) is a disturbed person who has premonitions and "episodes." She makes Carrie look like a social butterfly. We don't know the exact nature of her reclusive problem, but we do know her parents moved due to her being tormented. The parents must leave and have Lucy (Sage Howard) come over and keep her company. Lucy, invites her friends and they decide to make it a party.

Things turn weird at about 30 minutes into the film with the kids being locked inside the house (with windows). The horror aspect at this point wasn't too bad. When it came time to bring the film home, they came with a twist, one that filled in plot continuity gaps. The problem I had was that the twist lessened the film. They twisted the wrong way.

This is slightly less than a meh rental.

Parental Guide: No f-bomb, sex, or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad plot, amazing actors, 10 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Evil Inside (DVD) (DVD)
People giving this one star should head to specsavers for a check out! While the plot could have been improved, the acting talents of Hannah ward and Matthew mercer are of a supreme quality that should not be judged on the poor plot of the movie. If you do buy however, ms ward is not bad too look at ;) (sorry I get. A bit cheeky towards the end of a review)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tbh it's not that bad......................, 30 April 2014
By 
CDD93 (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Evil Inside (DVD) (DVD)
Tbh it's not that bad.. I got this on a 3 part DVD from tesco. £5 for all 3 and i've seen worse. Few things don't quiet make sense but the story as a whole is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great indie horror, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Inside (DVD) (DVD)
From the same director as "Necromentia". A very well crafted horror story that progresses slowly enough to develop its tone and characters. The plot is clever and the cast does an amazing job. They are not famous yet they deserve to be because they're good. You get plenty of scares even if the film itself is short.
I personally loved the production design: they obviously gave lots of attention to details.
All in all it's a great independent horror movie that is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than i thoguht, 11 Oct. 2012
This review is from: The Evil Inside (DVD) (DVD)
I was hesitant watching this as it has an unknown cast but was pleasantly surprised! Its a good story line, the scary bits are more eerie than jumpy which in my opinion is a better horror. The ending was a good twist as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The only thing evil was to release this dross to the public, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Evil Inside (DVD) (DVD)
Shoe-string budget - check!
Laughably wooden acting - check!
Contrived plot - check!
Cop-out ending - check!
Dubious production values - check!

Congratulations, you have just discovered the secret formula for a guaranteed 1-star cinematic experience. Oh dear, what was I thinking? Actually, on second thoughts, it was the wife whom chose this so at least my 'experience' was tempered with the knowledge that we should have chosen Irish horror flick 'Grabbers' instead. Sometimes the words 'I told you so' just aren't required.

So, The Evil Inside, where can I start? In hindsight, the opening credits were possibly the best part of the film; something about them appealed to my artistic sensibilities (pretentious, moi?). From there we are introduced to Sarah, a sullen teenager, perpetually on the verge of tears who spends most (if not all) of the film moping about with the screen presence of a wet lettuce. Lots of out-of-focus shots, muffled dialogue, and random scenes like a dead bird falling from the ceiling positively scream 'art-house aspiration'. About half an hour in, another random character claiming to be Sarah's friend seemingly invites herself over (with equally vacuous friends in tow) to Sarah's house for a par-tay!

Cue an exruciatingly cringeworthy scene as Sarah opens the door to the assembled half-wits with her trademark look of perpetual ennui; followed by probably the naffest party you'll ever have the misfortune to experience. The remaining hour running time is comprised of a few weird, inexplicable scenes, said half-wits meeting untimely demises and a 'no-one's ever tried this before, right?' ending. Seriously, I would consider it a right-thinking civic duty to reveal the ending here but that's probably bad form.

In short, avoid like a sullen teenager's 'house party', and a blatant attempt to capitalise on the relatively more successful The Devil Inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 5 Oct. 2012
This review is from: The Evil Inside (DVD) (DVD)
This is a well rounded horror movie with surprisingly strong acting performances from some fresh faces. The moving performance of Rayne Bidder is worth a special mention. While the pacing begings to falter towards the conclusion, the overall mood of the piece ensures this is not too detrimental to the experience. Plenty of good scares too! (Review based on american release The Dead Inside)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Boredom Inside, 28 Dec. 2012
By 
Fordy Finn "Agent Finn" (Sheffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Evil Inside (DVD) (DVD)
Ok just stop it now! I cant believe people saying this DVD was any good. It was awful! The two Asian actors were terrible (please get thee to acting school or find another vocation!!) The story was boring and there were about as many 'scares' as there are in a box of cereals! I believe that these reviewers (except for Tia Maria) just wanted other people to suffer as they had & waste 1hr & 15mins of their lives watching this too. And as for the ending, well I guessed that coming a mile off total snooze fest zzz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Evil Inside, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Inside (DVD) (DVD)
Rubbish film - rubbish acting, a story line that at best is very confusing. Absolutely not worth sitting through for 1 hour 15 mins - do not buy this it is garbage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 21 Mar. 2015
This review is from: The Evil Inside (DVD) (DVD)
Average horror,the story a bit hard to follow,twist at the end is watchable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Evil Inside (DVD)
The Evil Inside (DVD) by Pearry Teo (DVD - 2012)
£3.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews