Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good
This film was surprisingly good. A bit over the top at times but still good and worth watching at least once.
Published on 10 Mar. 2013 by LESTAT

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a fun monster movie that doesn't take itself seriously
Arachnoquake is a funny movie with a few jumps, some gore and large spiders. I love the fact that this film never takes itself seriously. If it attempted to be a proper action/horror flick it just would not have worked.

Throughout the film you can probably predict how the plot is going to go but it's the ride you go on with the characters which is the fun bit...
Published on 20 Sept. 2012 by The Reluctant Geek


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a fun monster movie that doesn't take itself seriously, 20 Sept. 2012
By 
This review is from: Arachnoquake [DVD] (DVD)
Arachnoquake is a funny movie with a few jumps, some gore and large spiders. I love the fact that this film never takes itself seriously. If it attempted to be a proper action/horror flick it just would not have worked.

Throughout the film you can probably predict how the plot is going to go but it's the ride you go on with the characters which is the fun bit. And the characters are great. Our hero, Paul, played rather aptly by Bug Hall, is a laid back party boy who may learn the lesson of responsibility by fighting large spiders. As you do. His sister, Petra uses the cunning art of tiny denim shorts combined with bouncy blond hair to fight the eight-legged monsters.

The spiders are certainly the stars of the movie. They come in a variety of sizes and breathe fire to make things more spicy. They crawl, jump, climb, run and even tread water. It doesn't matter that the CGI is not up to Avatar standards I still thought the pinky arachnids were great. They did what they were supposed to do - provided a few frights, some pretty grose scenes and did nothing to allay my phobia of the eight-legged creatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stick to Big Ass Spider because......., 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I knew after the first 5 minutes it would be dire and after 33 I just gave up. Hardly any likeable characters and the handful that you do feel sorry for take a back seat. Our lead guy is the sort of guy I personally despise so the film was never going to be a blast for me. He's a loser whose idea of getting on in life is copping off with the next dumb tart he can just because he has the charm and looks and whose sole contribution to work is turning up 2 hours late and sleeping on the job. Needless to say I suspect he survives to the end credits and maybe even gets the girl (not sure as I didn't want to suffer any further mental discomfort)? Going by the dumb genius female specimens on show they would be well matched as they are all either airheads or tarts in school uniform....apart from the mum/daughter team who seemed to be the only cast members with any semblance of an IQ. Edward Furlong even shows up as one of the fathers with kids who look only 11 or 12 years younger than him..... Classic braindead line from female bus passenger when spiders start falling on the tram roof - Tell me they're coconuts.... Sorry genius no palm trees around.....She didn't even have blonde hair....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arachnoquake [DVD] (DVD)
This film was surprisingly good. A bit over the top at times but still good and worth watching at least once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ENTERTAINING CRAP, 16 July 2013
This review is from: Arachnoquake [DVD] (DVD)
Okay,so this is never going to go down as a great horror by many viewers of it,but it kind of entertains.
A waster ends up having to help save the town from giant,albino spiders that breathe fire and walk on water. So,you get the knowledge right away that it is going to be very daft,with that in mind,i took it for what it was,expecting it to be awful,finding it fairly enjoyable in that "am I really watching this?" type way.
I did cringe to see Edward Furlong appearing in this,i guess he never really made it big after all. The acting Is passable,or awful if you want to be cynical.but I've seen much worse.
It wasn't anymore than I hoped for of this film,so I was disappointed that it simply passed the time away and didn't leave me thinking "wow,that was surprisingly good". It is what it is,as thye say,giant spiders,mostly done by iffy CGI. I would say,if tempted and it's very cheap,try it,but be prepared to have cynical expectations confirmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arachnoquake [DVD] (DVD)
This film totally over the top and corny wouldn't bother watching it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun and decent effects, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the better recent creature films. Thankfully it was made with a good dose of humour and the actors, for the most part, went along for the ride. Much better special effects than what you would expect. Generally nice and crisp on blu-ray and DTS HD Master Audio sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Arachnocrap-morelike!, 7 Jan. 2013
By 
Am Sanders (Cambridge,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arachnoquake [DVD] (DVD)
Unlikeable cast + bad acting + really bad CGI = a really,really awful film!
I couldn't even watch it all the way through & ejected the dvd in disgust(& my own stupidity in wasting a few quid on this turd of a film!)as soon as the giant crap CGI 'queen' spider made an appearance!
Save your dosh & avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GIANT SPIDERS, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
IT IS ABOUT SPIDERS NOT MUCH ABOUT QUAKES,BUT WITH GOOD SPECIAL EFFECTS,WITH VERY GOOD PICTURE AND SOUND THAT KEEPS ENTERTAINED IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN THIS KIND OF MOVIES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bug Out, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arachnoquake [DVD] (DVD)
Terrible movie with lame CGI effects that does the cover no justice at all!
You couldn`t care less what happens to the cast.They were so annoying i was on the spiders side.
More life in a tramps sock!
Arachnaphobia it Aint.
Buy Arachnid instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
its a budget film, what you expect no frills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arachnoquake [DVD]
Arachnoquake [DVD] by Griff Furst (DVD - 2012)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews