Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars36
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2012
Was given this set as a gift for christmas and I am very impressed with it.
The instructions were very easy to follow and all the parts are in numbered bags so you do not end up being swamped in Lego on the first build.
One thing I didnt notice from looking at the box is that the tree itself actually has rotating sections to it and with the top piece it can also be knocked off for added playfun. The tree once built stands a good 8inches tall so its quite an impressive kit once complete, theres also a seperate rock/warg launcher piece with the set which is suprisingly very solidly built and is used for hurling fire bombs into the tree or hopping wargs into it. The wargs also feature movable mouths which click into an open or closed position.
Along with the main kit you get 5 minifigs which are very nicely detailed and should provide much enjoyment.
Overall a great set and if you can get it at good price is well worth adding to your collection.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 23 March 2014
This build forms a scene from near the end of the first Hobbit film where Bilbo, Gandalf and the dwarves have been forced to climb high up in to the trees on the cliff edge to escape the Azog (Manu Bennett - Arrow TV series) and his orc companions. There are no Goblins in this set as they do not appear at this point in the movie and the sets are based on the movie-verse not the books. I guess where left behind in the mountain with their King.

It is a good 400 piece (3 numbered bags, one book) build which produces one magnificent large tree and a large "stone" plinth. The tree can be turned/rotated 360 degrees at 2 places in the trunk.

There are also 2 little "burning" areas where the dwarves have thrown the burning pinecones at their approaching enemy.

The build includes 5 mini-figures and 2 wargs:

- Thorin Oakenshield - 2 faced - nice printing on torso (front and back) - nice hair piece - comes with sword and battle axe.

- Bifor - 2 faced - nice printing on torso (front and back) - excellent hair piece but it covers the face and a lot of printing on the torso - comes with brown cape and spear.

- Yazneg or Azog the Destroyer (depending on which box you get) - single face - excellent face printing - has scarred back of head printing - cream coloured collar piece which covers the nice torso printing. This Azog appears to have black shirt sleeves but should be shirtless.

- Orc 1 - single face - nice hair piece with attached ears - detailed printing on front torso and back - comes with a battered and bitten sword.

- Orc 2 - identical to Orc 1 but comes with bow and arrow quiver instead of sword.

- White Warg - the ride of Yazneg/Azog is a beautiful piece and has a moveable head and jaw - has blue eyes. Can have a rider or not as you choose.

- Grey Warg - as with the White Warg it has a moveable head and jaw - has lighter eyes (almost white) - can have a rider or not as you choose.

As a Tolkien fan and an AFOL I really do wish that they wouldn't put an upper limit on the age bar and, while I'm having a whinge, I'd love to know why shops put these in the "boys toys" sections (a certain catalogue shop even stickers them as "boys toys").

One thing I found was because the build is predominately brown many of the placement instructions are difficult to see - ie, where exactly should I put it and was that a single width or a double width (turned out to be a double width one but looked like a single width one in the picture).

It is an absolutely lovely build and fits in wonderfully with my collection, but being such a big build younger fans may need help.

At an RRP of 59.99 for 400 pieces it works out to be 15 pence per piece.

Please note that this set is now retired and will most probably rise in price. There was also a mistake made on some of the boxes where Yazneg was labelled as Azog which are worth looking out for as the box alone is selling for more than the complete unopened build!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
This set is awesome!

- minifigures are great and I love the wargs!
- nice tree and very nice building experience
- replicates the scene well
- price point is good

in total its a well putted together, I love it
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
This set contains five minifigs, two Wargs (wolf-like-creatues), one big tree and two rock-like structures.
Coming to the minifigs, the two dwarf minifigs (Thorin and Bifur) are amazing. The details on them, especially the hair-piece , is beautiful. (In the movie, Thorin carries an oak-branch as a shield; would have been awesome if LEGO designed one shield like that for Thorin in this set!). The Yazneg minifig is scary-looking , but very nice! His face printing is very nice and his shoulder-armor (or whatever it is) is superb! And when you fit his bone-axe in his hand, nothing looks more menacing (other than the Wargs)!There are two Hunter-orcs in this set. Both are exactly the same. The face looks cool and the printing on their torso is not-bad.
The Wargs simply rock! They are the main reason I bought this set and I am NOT disappointed! The best part is their head, which is very nicely detailed. One small complaint I have is that the body of the wargs has been made smooth (like that in the LEGO horse and bear ). I wish LEGO would have given a hairy body instead. That would have been more natural. (Around the Warg's head, there is detailing which looks like hair. Same detailing should have made on the body).
There's a huge tree in this set which is very majestic and beautiful. But I would have been more happier if this tree had more branches and foliage. (All the trees that LEGO gives with it's sets hardly have enough leaf-pieces, except for two or three). But , still, inspite of me saying that, I loved the tree!
There are two rock-like structures in this set. One is like a rock-ledge where Yagnez and his warg stand on. The other smaller one has something like a catapult, for throwing rocks. Instead of these rock-structures, it would have been better if LEGO had given a minifig or two (of a Hunter-orc).
I would have liked this set a lot more if they had included the White-Orc minifig (forgot his name from the movie).
In the end, I would just say that I'm crazy about this set. Simply LOVE the wargs, minifigs and the Tree. In the near future, gonna buy at least one more of this set, if not more!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
this certainly brings to life the story and characters of the Hobbit book. Promotes superb imaginative play for any child aged 6 and upwards. My great nephew (7) did persevere trying to out it together himself and only needed a little guidance, but 4 days of constant playing with it have followed.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
I saw this in a shop and thought about buying it for my brother for Christmas. It was priced at £50 but with a quick look on Amazon it was a lot cheaper. I bought it then and received it two days later and was happy with the packaging and the brand new condition the box was in. My brother loves it and no doubt it'll be pride of place in his room for a while!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
Grandson was pleased with his present which arrived promptly, it was something he wanted. My only gripe is the cost of lego which is only plastic bits and pieces. many children's families will not be able to afford to give their children lego, which is short sighted by Lego and a disappointment for many children.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
I got this very quick and in top condition.

i would recommend this for people aged from as minum as 7. I have had this for a 2 months and theres nothing wrong with it at all and the functions like the flick fire flames work and actually shoot very far.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
My son (9yo) bought this for himself. He loves it. He is a great fan of 'The Hobbit' and he loves Lego. As ever, not the cheapest of toys - but Lego is terrifically well made, and cleverly designed. It has given my boy hours and hours of fun: money well spent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
Bought this for my 8 year old grandson and he loves it. It is exactly what we wanted. Delivery and service excellent as always via Amazon. I use the RNLI website too so they get 10%. What's not to like!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.