Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice set
Was given this set as a gift for christmas and I am very impressed with it.
The instructions were very easy to follow and all the parts are in numbered bags so you do not end up being swamped in Lego on the first build.
One thing I didnt notice from looking at the box is that the tree itself actually has rotating sections to it and with the top piece it can also...
Published 20 months ago by mr k s jefferis

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Small set
Once built this set is smaller than you think it is going to be.
Quite expensive for what it is, grandson not played with it he says it is boring.
He has played with all the other Lego sets we bought.
Published 8 months ago by Spiritwind


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice set, 28 Dec 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit 79002: Attack of the Wargs (Toy)
Was given this set as a gift for christmas and I am very impressed with it.
The instructions were very easy to follow and all the parts are in numbered bags so you do not end up being swamped in Lego on the first build.
One thing I didnt notice from looking at the box is that the tree itself actually has rotating sections to it and with the top piece it can also be knocked off for added playfun. The tree once built stands a good 8inches tall so its quite an impressive kit once complete, theres also a seperate rock/warg launcher piece with the set which is suprisingly very solidly built and is used for hurling fire bombs into the tree or hopping wargs into it. The wargs also feature movable mouths which click into an open or closed position.
Along with the main kit you get 5 minifigs which are very nicely detailed and should provide much enjoyment.
Overall a great set and if you can get it at good price is well worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great set, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit 79002: Attack of the Wargs (Toy)
This set is awesome!

- minifigures are great and I love the wargs!
- nice tree and very nice building experience
- replicates the scene well
- price point is good

in total its a well putted together, I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magnificent, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit 79002: Attack of the Wargs (Toy)
This build forms a scene from near the end of the first Hobbit film where Bilbo, Gandalf and the dwarves have been forced to climb high up in to the trees on the cliff edge to escape the Azog (Manu Bennett - Arrow TV series) and his orc companions. There are no Goblins in this set as they do not appear at this point in the movie and the sets are based on the movie-verse not the books. I guess where left behind in the mountain with their King.

It is a good 400 piece (3 numbered bags, one book) build which produces one magnificent large tree and a large "stone" plinth. The tree can be turned/rotated 360 degrees at 2 places in the trunk.

There are also 2 little "burning" areas where the dwarves have thrown the burning pinecones at their approaching enemy.

The build includes 5 mini-figures and 2 wargs:

- Thorin Oakenshield - 2 faced - nice printing on torso (front and back) - nice hair piece - comes with sword and battle axe.

- Bifor - 2 faced - nice printing on torso (front and back) - excellent hair piece but it covers the face and a lot of printing on the torso - comes with brown cape and spear.

- Yazneg or Azog the Destroyer (depending on which box you get) - single face - excellent face printing - has scarred back of head printing - cream coloured collar piece which covers the nice torso printing. This Azog appears to have black shirt sleeves but should be shirtless.

- Orc 1 - single face - nice hair piece with attached ears - detailed printing on front torso and back - comes with a battered and bitten sword.

- Orc 2 - identical to Orc 1 but comes with bow and arrow quiver instead of sword.

- White Warg - the ride of Yazneg/Azog is a beautiful piece and has a moveable head and jaw - has blue eyes. Can have a rider or not as you choose.

- Grey Warg - as with the White Warg it has a moveable head and jaw - has lighter eyes (almost white) - can have a rider or not as you choose.

As a Tolkien fan and an AFOL I really do wish that they wouldn't put an upper limit on the age bar and, while I'm having a whinge, I'd love to know why shops put these in the "boys toys" sections (a certain catalogue shop even stickers them as "boys toys").

One thing I found was because the build is predominately brown many of the placement instructions are difficult to see - ie, where exactly should I put it and was that a single width or a double width (turned out to be a double width one but looked like a single width one in the picture).

It is an absolutely lovely build and fits in wonderfully with my collection, but being such a big build younger fans may need help.

At an RRP of 59.99 for 400 pieces it works out to be 15 pence per piece.

Please note that this set is now retired and will most probably rise in price. There was also a mistake made on some of the boxes where Yazneg was labelled as Azog which are worth looking out for as the box alone is selling for more than the complete unopened build!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My great nephew hasn't stopped playing with it., 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit 79002: Attack of the Wargs (Toy)
this certainly brings to life the story and characters of the Hobbit book. Promotes superb imaginative play for any child aged 6 and upwards. My great nephew (7) did persevere trying to out it together himself and only needed a little guidance, but 4 days of constant playing with it have followed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Lego. It's got Hobbits and Dwarves. And Orcs. What more to say?, 12 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit 79002: Attack of the Wargs (Toy)
My son (9yo) bought this for himself. He loves it. He is a great fan of 'The Hobbit' and he loves Lego. As ever, not the cheapest of toys - but Lego is terrifically well made, and cleverly designed. It has given my boy hours and hours of fun: money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME! Another Lovely set from LEGO-Hobbit, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Attidude (Bangalore, India) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit 79002: Attack of the Wargs (Toy)
This set contains five minifigs, two Wargs (wolf-like-creatues), one big tree and two rock-like structures.
Coming to the minifigs, the two dwarf minifigs (Thorin and Bifur) are amazing. The details on them, especially the hair-piece , is beautiful. (In the movie, Thorin carries an oak-branch as a shield; would have been awesome if LEGO designed one shield like that for Thorin in this set!). The Yazneg minifig is scary-looking , but very nice! His face printing is very nice and his shoulder-armor (or whatever it is) is superb! And when you fit his bone-axe in his hand, nothing looks more menacing (other than the Wargs)!There are two Hunter-orcs in this set. Both are exactly the same. The face looks cool and the printing on their torso is not-bad.
The Wargs simply rock! They are the main reason I bought this set and I am NOT disappointed! The best part is their head, which is very nicely detailed. One small complaint I have is that the body of the wargs has been made smooth (like that in the LEGO horse and bear ). I wish LEGO would have given a hairy body instead. That would have been more natural. (Around the Warg's head, there is detailing which looks like hair. Same detailing should have made on the body).
There's a huge tree in this set which is very majestic and beautiful. But I would have been more happier if this tree had more branches and foliage. (All the trees that LEGO gives with it's sets hardly have enough leaf-pieces, except for two or three). But , still, inspite of me saying that, I loved the tree!
There are two rock-like structures in this set. One is like a rock-ledge where Yagnez and his warg stand on. The other smaller one has something like a catapult, for throwing rocks. Instead of these rock-structures, it would have been better if LEGO had given a minifig or two (of a Hunter-orc).
I would have liked this set a lot more if they had included the White-Orc minifig (forgot his name from the movie).
In the end, I would just say that I'm crazy about this set. Simply LOVE the wargs, minifigs and the Tree. In the near future, gonna buy at least one more of this set, if not more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars successful choice, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit 79002: Attack of the Wargs (Toy)
my son loves this set. it has a couple of projectile features and an intricate tree, very exciting for him to build
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of Lego!, 7 Jan 2014
By 
Alias (Co Down, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit 79002: Attack of the Wargs (Toy)
Great piece of Lego for Hobbit/Lego fans. My 7 year old grandson was very pleased with it, built it without any problems and has enjoyed playing with it. Lego is expensive but it gives hours of enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lots of fun, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit 79002: Attack of the Wargs (Toy)
Perfect christmas-present for my eight-year old son. Nice to build up, not too difficult to for him to do it alone, either. Lots of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit 79002: Attack of the Wargs (Toy)
This provided a perfect Christmas present for my younger brother which he played with for hours; it was excellent value too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews