Customer Reviews


14 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irish blues rock from one of the greats...., 18 Dec. 2001
By 
Simon Uglow "suglow" (Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Defender (Audio CD)
Rory Gallagher's music introduced me to the blues, and although he was on the rock side of the idiom, he never lost sight of his roots. This offering, the first on his own label, displayed various facets of Rory's music, that will be familiar to fans the world over. His playing was always top notch, whilst the voice does occasionally struggle (perhaps evidence of the lifestyle?), but overall it is a strong outing. Favourite tracks are Loanshark Blues, a strong nod in the direction of John Lee Hooker; Continental Op, dedicated to Dashiel Hammett, a blues rock track about a private detective; and Dont Start Me to Talking, a classic blues number skillfully abetted with some excellent harp playing. Rory is sadly missed, and this showed him close to his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A return to a simpler blues rock style based on strong songs, 4 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Defender (Audio CD)
This was Rory's so called come back album released originaly in 1987 following a 5 year long gap after Jinx. In fact Rory had never been away , but had played lower key gigs in the intervening period and had scraped an already recorded album.
The 5 year gap had made Rory more reflective and Defender sees a 39 year old writing in a bluesy and wryer hard rock style with an increased penchant for writing tough film noir lyrics. The outsider, the disposessed and the loner are are themes which crop up on this album.
It sees a return to a simpler style ( the album made No 1 in the UK Independent charts)and the man's return to full scale tours saw much of the material forming the staple of live sets over the next few years. Standout tracks include Continental Op, Loanshark Blues and the blues duo of I Aint Know Saint and Sonny Boy Williamson's Don't Start Me to Talking. One acoustic ( raw bottleneck - Seven days) track lightens the rest of the rockier element of the album.
The tracks don't have the celtic guitar resonance of much of Rory's work but many consider this to be his best album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part of the 2013 remasters scheduled release (not 2012), 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defender (Remastered) (Audio CD)
This version is in fact the digipak one to match the late summer releases of Stage Struck and Fresh Evidence, and finally completes Donal Gallagher's excellent set of updated remasters.

Rory's other remastered albums were released in two batches of six, and are all worth buying to complete the set:

Photo Finish, Against Grain, Calling Card, Top Priority, Blueprint and Jinx.

Irish Tour '74, Tattoo, Blueprint, Live In Europe, Deuce and Rory Gallagher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Oct. 2003
By 
MR JEREMY BIRRELL (Edinburgh, Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Defender (Audio CD)
Rory was one of the greatest blues rock guitarists of all time. His virtuosity was simply stunning, as are most of his albums. This album is no exception, it's excellent; has everything from acoustic slide on Seven days, a nod in the direction of texas blues on Seems To Me, brilliant harp on Sonny Boy Williamson's Don't Start Me to Talking and lots of more blues rock based tracks.
If you're reading this review, buy this album; in fact buy them all (except Jinx).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my opinion, his best studio album, 7 April 2012
By 
I. H. Roblin (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defender (Audio CD)
I bought 'Live in Europe' in 2002 and I bought 'Defender' in late 2011 which, in my opinion, is his best work.

It rocks from start to finish with the highlights being 'Road to Hell', with its Stones-like riff, and the R & B soaked bonus track, 'Seems to me'. 'Failsafe Day' is another raw rocker and the production throughout is first-class, with prominent bass and drums.

Highly recommended, if you love raw and hard rock'n'roll Blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another nice re-issue of the G-mans penultimate lp, 2 Nov. 2013
By 
Alison E. O'Connor (melbourne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defender [Vinyl] (Vinyl)
As with 'fresh evidence' this new re issue is nearly as good as the orig release sonically but 'cheaps out' with a release that does'nt include the printed lyrics sheet on the inner bag! A cheapskate reissue! Better off with the the new cd versions to be honest which are excellent all round. Seek out the orig pressing which even had a bonus 7 "!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Legend, 23 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defender (Remastered) (Audio CD)
Used to think I had every thing Rory Gallagher ever put on vinyl, since his passing alot more seems to be out there and being put on CD and defender is now added to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defender, Rory Gallagher, 8 Nov. 2013
By 
D. J. Wilden "denise7248" (Maidenhead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defender (Remastered) (Audio CD)
This one is coming along to the end of Rory's life, different kind of style to his early work, just as punchy and earthy as his earlier work, the more I listen to his work the more I find, he wasn't one thing or the other, he had many sides to his character and work and he wrote as he felt at the time. He felt the emotion of the music, not everyone can do that but he managed it very well. Rory is the man as far as I am concerned, will never be bettered. My opinion, he is the finest guitarist who ever lived, certainly multi talented on a huge range of instruments and self taught, magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent blues rock, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
Shaun Wilde (Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Rory Gallagher and this album is well up to standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defender (Remastered) (Audio CD)
Great Rory cd with lots of exellent guitar riffs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Defender (Remastered)
Defender (Remastered) by Rory Gallagher (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews