Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another piece of magic from Karine Polwart
I should start by saying I am a fan. I have been since I first heard Karine on the BBC folk awards in 2005. Karine isn't just a great folk singer, she is a song writer who stands alongside the best. Her songs are crafted, with lyrics that hit the spot, like only a true wordsmith can.

The album opens with a simple song which has a wave that will rumble the...
Published 23 months ago by S. Baron

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful voice
Heard Karine Polwart on the radio and thought she had a beautiful voice and I wasn't disappointed. I am not a stalwart folk lover but I did enjoy the album and am tempted to buy another. Its definitely not background music but something to sit and dream to.
Published 17 months ago by Mrs Linda Hopkins


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another piece of magic from Karine Polwart, 13 Aug 2012
By 
S. Baron "Baron" (Bath UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traces (Audio CD)
I should start by saying I am a fan. I have been since I first heard Karine on the BBC folk awards in 2005. Karine isn't just a great folk singer, she is a song writer who stands alongside the best. Her songs are crafted, with lyrics that hit the spot, like only a true wordsmith can.

The album opens with a simple song which has a wave that will rumble the sub woofers in a way that only the Hercules flying over my house can do. The album continues with another nine gems. I can't choose favourites yet, as it only arrived this morning, but, "We're all leaving" and "Tinsel town" hit the spot.

The core of the band is Karine and her brother Steven, a fantastic guitarist with an amazing touch, and the incredibly individual Inge Thomson (see the live show if you get a chance) whos musicianship adds greatly to the sound, and voice harmonises perfectly with Karines. Another eight musicians have been brought in to augment this group and add a bit of spice and variation.

Another piece of magic from Karine Polwart. If you haven't heard Karine Polwart before, buy this album, and when you have there's another four to buy.

p.s. I am not paid by Karine Polwart or Amazon.

Steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy singer/songwriter album well worth the wait, 16 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traces (Audio CD)
It has been some 4 years since her last solo album, with the highly successful diversion with the supergroup the Burns Unit and a DVD stop gap overview Here's Where Tomorrow Starts in the interim. This is a step up, mature carefully considered and constructed songs, produced with a clean more sophisticated production courtesy of Iain Cook. Her pure singing voice with it's distinctive Scottish accent is as good as it's ever been , and the songs range from sharp social commentary to intensely personal sometimes tragic songs.
The opening track , Cover Your Eyes, is having a pop at American tycoon Donald Trump constructing a golf complex on the beautiful unspoilt Ythan Estuary north of Aberdeen which may ultimately be thwarted by the sea haar( coastal fog) which regularly occurs in the vicinity, while King of Birds focusses on the Occupy London Protests that took place in the grounds of St Pauls Cathedral last year .
The songs have lovely arrangements, representing a strong progression from her previous albums, clever and memorable lyrics, more wordly, but still coming across as delightfully simple at times . Often the message or moral of the song is initially a bit oblique, but is enlightened by the sleeve note clarification, and no doubt highlighted in introductions of the songs in live performance.
More personal songs include Strange News which tells the tragic story of hearing of a young cousin's death on Christmas Day, Salters Road is a tribute to a 90 year old neighbour of Karine's who was a real character, and they both live by the same ancient straight old historic country road, while closer Half a Mile tells of the disappearance of Susan Maxwell who was the same age as Karine, when she tragically disappeared on her first walk alone from her home to a tennis club in 1982 in the borders town of Coldstream.
Although the subject matter can be intense and forbidding, the quality supportive musicianship, clever memorable compositions, and excellent production make this a highly satisfying, uplifting and enjoyable album, probably her best yet, well worth the wait, a class act, and another potential contender for album of the year. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highland ways, 4 Nov 2012
By 
Ms. J. E. Davis "Jane" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Traces (Audio CD)
I suppose I may have been predisposed to like this album. (1)It arrived, unannounced: a birthday present from my brother. (2) I'm a sucker for good story-telling. It has not only a lyric sheet, but Karine has explained her influences for each song: the death of Darwin's beloved daughter; the loss of landscape to a developer; the reaction to news of the death of relative on Christmas Day. In short, I cared about this collection of intensely personal songs even before I pressed play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Singer/Songwriter since Sandy Denny, 16 Aug 2012
This review is from: Traces (Audio CD)
This is another gorgeous recording by Karine Polwart! No one ever since the great and wonderful Sandy Denny touches me like Karine. You have to buy this one and listen to this wise women from the Borders. Thank you Karine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traces by Karine Polwart, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traces (Audio CD)
This must be the best album made in 2012. Her voice is exquisite and the songs very thought provoking and beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just discovered!, 10 Jan 2013
This review is from: Traces (Audio CD)
Wow! not usually a fan of this type of music but just heard her on the radio and I am mesmerised by her voice and the stories of each song - can't stop listening to it - the sound of the harmonium in 'Sticks n Stones' is beautifully French - have a listen even if you are skeptical!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to hear the Lowland Scots voice offer such a range of feeling., 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traces (Audio CD)
Karine excels in capturing the feelings of everyday people and expresses these beautifullyin the words, lyrics and melodies of Lowland Scots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Karine Polwart Traces, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traces (MP3 Download)
Saw this recommended in The Herald Magazine at the weekend. Karine was in the Battlefield Band for a while with my friend Alan Reid. Her voice is so clear and the songs are beautiful. A wonderful gift and talent to music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars real Traces of substance, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traces (Audio CD)
fortunate to catch Karine live in London recently and the CD immediately captures her graceful but profound music. A treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The wonder of her words..., 17 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traces (Audio CD)
The more you listen the more you get...what she writes/sings always touches a place. There is always growth with each new cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Traces
Traces by Karine Polwart
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews