Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING album!!!
This new album from Simon McBride is just a massive step forward from Since Then. The production on Since Then was awesome, On Crossing The Line it sounds incredible. Probably one of the finest blues rock albums I have ever listened to.

The guitar riffs are big and edgy, and unlike so many in the blues/rock genre, this album is memorable. This is a bold...
Published on 24 Sep 2012 by Rick Ricardelli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars guitar
if you are into guitar music worth a listen ,lesser known guitarist with some serious riffs ,play it loud stuff
Published 9 months ago by paul d


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING album!!!, 24 Sep 2012
This review is from: Crossing the Line (MP3 Download)
This new album from Simon McBride is just a massive step forward from Since Then. The production on Since Then was awesome, On Crossing The Line it sounds incredible. Probably one of the finest blues rock albums I have ever listened to.

The guitar riffs are big and edgy, and unlike so many in the blues/rock genre, this album is memorable. This is a bold statement to make but, Joe Bonamassa? the golden kid of blues music? if there is any justice, not any more he won't be. Where Crossing The Line beats off its contemporaries is that, even after 1 listen through, the tracks are instantly memorable but yet contain some of the best blues playing I have ever heard. One More Try was the stand out track for me, I don't want to compare it to Gary Moore but it has that celtic vibe throughout with a beautiful solo to finish off... in such a similar vain to the legendary Belfast man. Download or buy a copy of this album and turn it up loud and listen to them riffs and solos, just incredible and unusually, this guy can back it all up and more live!!

If you're a fan of Bonamassa, Moore, KWS and Jonny Lang........... This is better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtakingly good, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Audio CD)
Crossing The Line is the third studio album from Simon McBride, but he's hardly new to the music business, having been in the music industry for nearly two decades as a member of metal band Sweet Savage and, later, backing up Andrew Strong (who is best known for his starring role in The Commitments). This was, however, my first McBride purchase and I was blown away by his masterful, passionate rock/blues and scintillating guitar work. There are many pretenders to the blues throne, but only a select few who come close to Joe Bonamassa - and Simon is one of them. This is an album absolutely packed full of gutsy electric blues classics and will impress even the most sceptical hard blues fan. One of the best characteristics of Crossing The Line is the way the blistering riffs are executed, in that you can get almost as much pleasure from listening to McBride's little improvisations as you do from the solo. There's a decent mix of styles, slower burning blues and rockers as well, so it's not a one-dimensional collection of songs. There are too many choice cuts here to really pick out highlights, although, if pushed, my personal favourites are "Lead Us Away", "Alcatraz" and "Heartbreaker". Absolutely outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 11 Oct 2012
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Audio CD)
Bought this after hearing a track on planet rock. Superb. Got his own refreshing style. If you like the late, great gary moore and joe bonamassa you will love this. Not a bad tune on the album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues rock at its finest!, 4 April 2013
By 
Andrei Aciobanitei "Andrei" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Audio CD)
This is one of the best albums I heard in the last 10 years. Gives Bonamassa a run for his money and I am a huge Bonamassa fan. The album is so strong and well written. Not a bad track. Killer songs are Starve this fever, Lead us away and One more try. As I am writing this review I am at a Simon McBride concert waiting for him to come on the stage. Buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stratfantastic!, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossing the Line (MP3 Download)
Joe Bonamassa has a competitor here for sure in the guitar stakes and his singing is better than most guitar slingers you here. Recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Audio CD)
Was expecting something a bit Gary Moore-ish when Simon McBride was first brought to my attention, so I wasn't quite sure what to make of it on my first listening. It isn't really anything like Gary Moore. However, it is properly good blues-rock. I would recommend it to anyone - well almost anyone. In fact, if you don't like it, what's wrong with you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 18 Jan 2013
By 
rab sneddon (BROXBURN SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Audio CD)
went to see him in the voodoo rooms in edinburgh great gig based on this album, comparisons will be drawn to the late great rory gallagher nuff said !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gary Moore meets Joe Bonamassa ?, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Audio CD)
Always looking for someone to fill the gap left by the late great Gary Moore a friend recently suggested Simon McBride, and I wasn't disappointed ! This is a great album and I shall certainly be looking to catch him live when he next visits London.

I have also heard him likened to JB, and there are certain similarities but for me there is a Celtic warmth in the sound which gives it a different quality.

All in all I would strongly recommend this for all lovers of great rock/blues guitar music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars guitar, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Audio CD)
if you are into guitar music worth a listen ,lesser known guitarist with some serious riffs ,play it loud stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good riffs., 14 Feb 2014
By 
E. Hayes "Liz Hayes" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossing The Line (Audio CD)
This was my first listen to Simon McBride and it will not be my last. An excellent guitarist who has constructed a wholly wonderful
album. He has a unique talent and the intricate working of his guitar a joy to behold. More of the same please Simon and anyone
savvy enough to listen in is in for a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crossing The Line
Crossing The Line by Simon McBride (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews