Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Her Mothers' Shoes (Kindle Edition)
This was a free download but would have paid for it, it was very well written. Explains three sides of the story after an adoption that took place in the fifties. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Her Mothers' Shoes (Kindle Edition)
Lovely book to read and loved sharing the authors journey. Thank goodness these things are not swept under the carpet anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In Her Mothers' Shoes, 20 Aug 2013
This review is from: In Her Mothers' Shoes (Kindle Edition)
Would recommend this book. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Agree with previous reviewer that it would make a great film. Will look for other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Her Mothers' Shoes (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a true story and a book you can't put down. Brilliant read wish it had gone on longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Her Mothers' Shoes (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read from three sides of the story, think it would make a great film. Will definitely be reading again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Her Mothers' Shoes (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found it interesting and very moving. I cannot recommend this enough to all readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In her Mothers shoes, 23 Sep 2012
By 
S. Norman "Sharon" (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Her Mothers' Shoes (Kindle Edition)
LOVED this book!

I thoroughly enjoyed it, very thought provoking.

I got it free but would happily have paid for it as it's a true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars **** Makes U Think ****, 14 Sep 2012
This review is from: In Her Mothers' Shoes (Kindle Edition)
A very thought provoking story. I can only think of the heartbreak for all people involved with adoption.....Birth families...Adoptive families....Future families. A well written and absorbing book I could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoyable read, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Her Mothers' Shoes (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book very much,it is very well written,and Felicity tells her story well,it spans a few decades,from the young elizabeth having to give up her illegitimate child for adoption.story is told with warmth and feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thought provoking, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Her Mothers' Shoes (Kindle Edition)
This is the story of Kate (Felicity), who was born in the 1950s - in those days babies born to teenage mums were given up, unseen, for adoption.

So part one is Lizzie's story (the birth mother) - and at the end of part one, I felt bereft (I can't imaging what it was like to be an unwed teenage mum in the early 1950s). Part 2 was Rose's story, how she and George came to adopt, and dynamics within the family. I loved George's comment about having to retreat from the hormones (sounds like out house). It sounds like Katie ended up with a lovely family and Rose loved her, but all the normal family teenage hormones/menopausal mum arguments would have had that extra niggle (as to whether Rose was good enough and whether Kate would reject her). Then the final part, is Kate as a mother, wanting to find her birth mother in order to answer some of the questions asked as a mum about family history and feeling she didn't quite belong. I don't want to give too much away - but we do find out more towards the end, of what happened to Lizzie after she gave up Felicity.

My overwhelming emotion is sadness - so glad times have changed. Now there's less shame in being a pregnant teenager, or adopting a baby.

This would be a good book to discuss for example in a reading group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3c1c114)

This product

In Her Mothers' Shoes
In Her Mothers' Shoes by Felicity Price
1.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews