Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read
Sometimes you find a book that is a simple tale. It doesn't try to be an epic, just a book that flows along and whose characters take on a life of their own and welcome you into their world . this is such a book. A delight
Published on 1 Mar. 2013 by pa0179

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I didn't enjoy this at all though I read it to the ...
I didn't enjoy this at all though I read it to the end just hoping it might get better. Not much dialogue but continuous description of chronological events. I can't believe that any holiday resort would be constructed so methodically! I always imagined holiday resorts to have grown slowly over time and years, not in a matter of months!
Published 9 months ago by Karen W


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Resort (Kindle Edition)
Sometimes you find a book that is a simple tale. It doesn't try to be an epic, just a book that flows along and whose characters take on a life of their own and welcome you into their world . this is such a book. A delight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Resort (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this book. The people in it are great and the scenery is easy to imagine. Wish I was there now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I didn't enjoy this at all though I read it to the ..., 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Resort (Kindle Edition)
I didn't enjoy this at all though I read it to the end just hoping it might get better. Not much dialogue but continuous description of chronological events. I can't believe that any holiday resort would be constructed so methodically! I always imagined holiday resorts to have grown slowly over time and years, not in a matter of months!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Delightful tales., 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Resort (Kindle Edition)
An amusing collection of tales from a Greek island but not always building a cohesive picture of village life on the island. The tales tend to jump about in time and are not always well linked together but a delightful read nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Happy story, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Resort (Kindle Edition)
Nice happy almost "fairy tale " story everything falls into place - a very readable book set on a warm Greek island with many happy outcomes - makes one forget the everyday problems for a few hours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Takes you there, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Resort (Kindle Edition)
A very good book, whilst reading you are transported to the sunny islands of Greece, easy reading that you don't want to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent holiday reading and an insight into the workings of a tour operator!, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Resort (Kindle Edition)
The short glowing reviews about this well paced novel don't seem to pick up that this is a book as much about the workings of a tour operator as a Greek village. As a retired founder of a specialist Greek tour operator I was amused at the amount of resources and cash thrown at this small decaying fishing village. I agree that the major tour operators do/did swoop into remote seaside villages and create vast resorts, or they did in the period between the 1970s-1990s but in these days of austerity they are more circumspect and for a specialist small tour operator as portrayed in The Last Resort to be quite so generous is questionable. Although there are/were a couple of sensitive tour operators to Greece who would 'develop' remote areas I do question whether they would be quite so generous with their time and money! But perhaps that is by the by for as a holiday read, an essay on the Greek character, culture and scenery this is a good read. Again knowing the subject as well as I do, I cannot help being a little bit skeptical whether the amusing anecdotes and characters were fiction or gathered throughout the authors numerous holidays in the Greek islands and probably in the resorts of the sensitive tour operators who were our colleagues. Nonetheless the fact that the book comes over as plausible is to the author's credit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting book, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Resort (Kindle Edition)
I found it a very interesting read, The author really brought the characters to life. The more you read you could imagine you were actually there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Resort (Kindle Edition)
Excellent Holiday Read, really enjoyed reading it by the pool, would highly recommend, if you love Greece you will love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the last resort, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Resort (Kindle Edition)
this was an excellent read, very, very funny a good insight to what could happen on small Greek islands. It was well written i hope the author can write another book in the same style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Resort
The Last Resort by William Gordon
£2.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews