Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent documenatry: amust for all Hip-Hop fans and Non fans alike.
I must say I am a bit biased writing this as I have been an Ice-T fan since I was 9 years old and I first hear his O.G album(I'm 31 now).
However as a filmmaker myself I found this an excellent and highly informative documentary.
Many of the all time Hip-Hop greats are featured(Such as KRS-One, Dr.Dre,Eminem,Mellie Mel, Q-Tip,Afrika Bambaata, Kool Moe Dee, Big...
Published 22 months ago by DC15

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
A very interesting movie/documentary. It's great to see so many oldschool MC's in the film - and listen to a lot of good hip-hop. I wish they have gone a bit more into the details on how the different rappers Works with lyrics. Used a bit more time on fewer MC's.
Published on 14 Feb. 2013 by Rune


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent documenatry: amust for all Hip-Hop fans and Non fans alike., 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must say I am a bit biased writing this as I have been an Ice-T fan since I was 9 years old and I first hear his O.G album(I'm 31 now).
However as a filmmaker myself I found this an excellent and highly informative documentary.
Many of the all time Hip-Hop greats are featured(Such as KRS-One, Dr.Dre,Eminem,Mellie Mel, Q-Tip,Afrika Bambaata, Kool Moe Dee, Big Daddy Kane and B-Real from Cypress Hill to name but a fraction)
The soundtrack is pumping and the visuals are amazing on Blu-Ray(Particularly the New York skyline).
There is a ton of extras and I could not recommend this wonderful documentary enough.
Well done Ice-T on an extraordinary directorial debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ice T - Haters Beware !, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Brian Young "BY JKD" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap [DVD] (DVD)
Who better to make this film about the technique of rapping, than the seminal Ice T. Originally from the East Coast, he moved out to the West Coast where he discovered rap and hip-hop as it was being born. Ice T has always laid down serious street rhymes and he was "O.G" before most people even knew what it was. Ice T is a rapper who loves the word and in this documentary he goes from coast to coast to visit a wide group of other wordsmiths, including the mind-blowing Grandmaster Caz.Both Oldschool and Newschool rappers tell us about their influences, how they write rhymes and even spit a few lines right on the street corner where Ice T interviews them ! So you can forget about all that disposable MTV WeakWackWaterdDownWelfare crap and discover these American Poets and their passion for the word.Shakespeare beware - Last Poets be proud !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 13 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap [DVD] (DVD)
Out of the hip-hop movies I've seen, this is definitely up there as one of the best and well researched,
drawing from interviews with quite a few of the actual legends.

The main question you're probably asking with this documentary is-
how is this any different from the book How to Rap that came out a while back,
because that has 104 interviews with rappers (this documentary just has 47), and has a lot of the same people,
but even more and that book goes reeeeeally in depth... so does this documentary add anything new?

Well, the good thing is, this documentary is like a companion to that book, as it has a few different people and of course you get to see the people rapping freestyles to the camera, on screen.

So is this new ground? Not really, but it's nice that it was put together and it's definitely a welcome additional for anyone who is into the craft and taking an in depth look at the way hip-hop music is put together, rather than just the celebrity glitz and glamour that people normally focus on with hip-hop.

So yeah I would recommend getting this, good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Focuses exactly on the 'Art' - brilliant, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
This review is from: Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap [DVD] (DVD)
Ice-T basically goes round interviewing key hip hop figures. His most consistent request of them is to quote a certain rhyme which had a marked effect on them influentially. In this respect, Doug E Fresh gives the most effective interview by very slowly and clearly speaking out the key portion of a rhyme by Kool Moe Dee and demonstrating the power of it's wordplay and cadence.

I've never seen that done in quite this way before. Very simple but effective. It made me appreciate the art of rap more because most rapid-fire spits from the so-called best rappers tend go straight over my head from lack of hearing their jumbled words. Primo addresses this point by admitting that listening to rap is not easy and merely sounds like a stream of noise if you aren't listening with trained ears.

Another interview described how big or rare vocabulary words weaken delivery and is the difference between a rapper and an emcee. For example mumbling out a few dictionary pages with the mic in your mouth is just not as live & domineering as a big, clear "one two, one two" from the likes of say Melle Mel.

I believe this is a fresh documentary that will teach any fan and non-fan a lot. The interview selections were good but I personally felt that including Kanye was a little tacky for the film. An MF Doom or someone would've been much more suitable if possible. However, saying that, I was very relieved in how the feature managed to avoid the cheesy, familiar ground of past rap documentaries, except for maybe Bambaataa feeling it necessary in damn near 2013 to educate everyone to the broader meaning of 'hip hop' outside of rap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting movie/documentary. It's great to see so many oldschool MC's in the film - and listen to a lot of good hip-hop. I wish they have gone a bit more into the details on how the different rappers Works with lyrics. Used a bit more time on fewer MC's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great documentary, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have followed the development of hip hop since my childhood in the early 80s living in the Bronx. This film effectively gives the viewer a good understanding of the art of rap. I am glad I have the blu-ray in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art of Rap, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film very informative. Being a fan of Hip Hop and Rap it was good to learn how it come about and about the pioneers who made it what it is today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something From Nothing, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap [DVD] (DVD)
Well thought out documentary but I think Ice-T may have left out other formidable players in the rap game. Misunderstood music that came from nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap [DVD] (DVD)
Intriguing film from Ice T, lots of insight in the process of creating rap, but also a lot of context information and the performances are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, more like a series of interviews, 21 Feb. 2014
By 
Neil - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap [DVD] (DVD)
I was lucky enough to go to the premiere of this film, which was excellent.

If you're a fan of old school rap music (80s, 90s) then you'll love this. It's essentially a series of interviews with the MCs and rappers that helped to define the industry. It's fun to watch, the interviews are honest and the music really does capture the entire scene at the time.

Of course once you'll buy the DVD you'll want to get the soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews