Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good
Out of the hip-hop movies I've seen, this is definitely up there as one of the best and well researched,
drawing from interviews with quite a few of the actual legends.

The main question you're probably asking with this documentary is-
how is this any different from the book How to Rap that came out a while back,
because that has 104 interviews...
Published on 13 Aug 2012 by Beezy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
A very interesting movie/documentary. It's great to see so many oldschool MC's in the film - and listen to a lot of good hip-hop. I wish they have gone a bit more into the details on how the different rappers Works with lyrics. Used a bit more time on fewer MC's.
Published 18 months ago by Rune


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 13 Aug 2012
This review is from: Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap [DVD] (DVD)
Out of the hip-hop movies I've seen, this is definitely up there as one of the best and well researched,
drawing from interviews with quite a few of the actual legends.

The main question you're probably asking with this documentary is-
how is this any different from the book How to Rap that came out a while back,
because that has 104 interviews with rappers (this documentary just has 47), and has a lot of the same people,
but even more and that book goes reeeeeally in depth... so does this documentary add anything new?

Well, the good thing is, this documentary is like a companion to that book, as it has a few different people and of course you get to see the people rapping freestyles to the camera, on screen.

So is this new ground? Not really, but it's nice that it was put together and it's definitely a welcome additional for anyone who is into the craft and taking an in depth look at the way hip-hop music is put together, rather than just the celebrity glitz and glamour that people normally focus on with hip-hop.

So yeah I would recommend getting this, good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent documenatry: amust for all Hip-Hop fans and Non fans alike., 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must say I am a bit biased writing this as I have been an Ice-T fan since I was 9 years old and I first hear his O.G album(I'm 31 now).
However as a filmmaker myself I found this an excellent and highly informative documentary.
Many of the all time Hip-Hop greats are featured(Such as KRS-One, Dr.Dre,Eminem,Mellie Mel, Q-Tip,Afrika Bambaata, Kool Moe Dee, Big Daddy Kane and B-Real from Cypress Hill to name but a fraction)
The soundtrack is pumping and the visuals are amazing on Blu-Ray(Particularly the New York skyline).
There is a ton of extras and I could not recommend this wonderful documentary enough.
Well done Ice-T on an extraordinary directorial debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap [DVD] (DVD)
Intriguing film from Ice T, lots of insight in the process of creating rap, but also a lot of context information and the performances are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art of Rap, 9 May 2013
Great film very informative. Being a fan of Hip Hop and Rap it was good to learn how it come about and about the pioneers who made it what it is today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ice T - Haters Beware !, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Brian Young "BY JKD" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap [DVD] (DVD)
Who better to make this film about the technique of rapping, than the seminal Ice T. Originally from the East Coast, he moved out to the West Coast where he discovered rap and hip-hop as it was being born. Ice T has always laid down serious street rhymes and he was "O.G" before most people even knew what it was. Ice T is a rapper who loves the word and in this documentary he goes from coast to coast to visit a wide group of other wordsmiths, including the mind-blowing Grandmaster Caz.Both Oldschool and Newschool rappers tell us about their influences, how they write rhymes and even spit a few lines right on the street corner where Ice T interviews them ! So you can forget about all that disposable MTV WeakWackWaterdDownWelfare crap and discover these American Poets and their passion for the word.Shakespeare beware - Last Poets be proud !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great documentary, 8 Mar 2013
By 
I have followed the development of hip hop since my childhood in the early 80s living in the Bronx. This film effectively gives the viewer a good understanding of the art of rap. I am glad I have the blu-ray in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting movie/documentary. It's great to see so many oldschool MC's in the film - and listen to a lot of good hip-hop. I wish they have gone a bit more into the details on how the different rappers Works with lyrics. Used a bit more time on fewer MC's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something From Nothing, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap [DVD] (DVD)
Well thought out documentary but I think Ice-T may have left out other formidable players in the rap game. Misunderstood music that came from nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap [DVD] (DVD)
If this is one of your interests this is the best DVD out it has all the rappers you could ask for an in depth documentary about everyone and rap as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, more like a series of interviews, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Neil - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap [DVD] (DVD)
I was lucky enough to go to the premiere of this film, which was excellent.

If you're a fan of old school rap music (80s, 90s) then you'll love this. It's essentially a series of interviews with the MCs and rappers that helped to define the industry. It's fun to watch, the interviews are honest and the music really does capture the entire scene at the time.

Of course once you'll buy the DVD you'll want to get the soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap [DVD]
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews