Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Heroic Modest Man
John Wyatt has written a book which gives an eye-witness account of some of the most awful moments in the history of the British Army - the retreat through Malaya and then the loss of Singapore to the Japs. But then he tells us of the grim life building the Burma-Siam railway and then his transportation, in terrible cicumstances, to slave labour in Japan itself. He...
Published on 5 Sep 2009 by C. J. Guyver

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably good read
The first part up to being captured by Japanese and experiences on the transport ships was very good. Rest seemed to give little details on treatment in POW camps was not so well covered.
Published 10 months ago by D E KNIGHTS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Mercy from the Japanese: A Survivors Account of the Burma Railway and the Hellships 1942-1945 (Kindle Edition)
Vivid and readable and full of understandable bitterness towards British officers and the Japanese. I hope we never go to war again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no mercy from the japanese, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Mercy from the Japanese: A Survivors Account of the Burma Railway and the Hellships 1942-1945 (Kindle Edition)
great book have read many similar books but this will rate among the best well written you feel the horrors they endured
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Mercy from the Japanese: A Survivors Account of the Burma Railway and the Hellships 1942-1945 (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written account of what John Wyatt had to endure as a japanese prisoner of war.In his later years he meets up with one of his tormenters and finds he is able to forgive if not forget.A good read, Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Mercy from the Japanese: A Survivors Account of the Burma Railway and the Hellships 1942-1945 (Kindle Edition)
true account of a P O W in the far east on the Burma railway and then the ships taking them to Japan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humble, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Mercy from the Japanese: A Survivors Account of the Burma Railway and the Hellships 1942-1945 (Kindle Edition)
How could man treat fellow man like this? How could you survive this for so long?
So much suffering squeezed into just few pages is amazing . If you think things are bad read this book.

Having read this I thought it was made up. Surely you can't be treated like this and survive?

A could not put it down and I am so happy that I now have a little understanding if what went on.

I will never understand how cruel and in human man can be. The book brought a tear to my eye and the author a total inspiration and the ultimate survivor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent factual account, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Mercy from the Japanese: A Survivors Account of the Burma Railway and the Hellships 1942-1945 (Kindle Edition)
I chose this book because I am very interested in history, of all kinds. Also, the regiment John served in is the same one as my grandfather and uncles served in - the East Surreys.
I liked the book because it was very factual, very readable and I would recommend it to anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Above average description of events, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Mercy from the Japanese: A Survivors Account of the Burma Railway and the Hellships 1942-1945 (Kindle Edition)
A very readable book covering events in Singapore / Burma during the 1939 - 45 war.

It deals very well with not only the Japanese treatment of prisoners but also why the British were shamefully over-run in Singapore.

I sense the author has tactfully omitted the worst details of his treatment in captivity and I can understand why. It still makes for a very good read and I thank him for taking the time to write it and let people know how things were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Review, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Mercy from the Japanese: A Survivors Account of the Burma Railway and the Hellships 1942-1945 (Kindle Edition)
Being someone who is very interested in the 2nd world war I found this book a very good read although at times quite upsetting but as we know anything to do with JAP POW camps this sadly was the norm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pow, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Mercy from the Japanese: A Survivors Account of the Burma Railway and the Hellships 1942-1945 (Kindle Edition)
A lot of people to day go on about we should not have dropped the atomic bomb . The people who say that did not live though the war they did not see the horrors that the Japanese did too people .they were animals thay should talk to survivors like John who would not have come. .home or the thousands of Americans who would have been killed if they have had to invaded Japan .good book to read I think children in school should read books of this nature so we don't for get what happened .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking read, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Mercy from the Japanese: A Survivors Account of the Burma Railway and the Hellships 1942-1945 (Kindle Edition)
WHEN YOU READ THIS BOOK You ask yourself why? A Terrible experience but has to be told. e must never forget the bravery of our troops so that we could have freedom. an excellent book for anyone interested in recent history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews