Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Climbing Culture
The author of this mountaineering miscellany, Jon Krakauer, is an American mountaineer and writer probably best known for his public condemnation of commercialism linked to Mount Everest and his book `Into Thin Air' presenting an investigative account of the 1996 tragedies on the mountain. Though criticised by other mountaineers, Jon Krakauer has mixed easily with many...
Published on 17 Jun. 2009 by D. Elliott

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting set of mountaineering tales
Eiger Dreams is a collated set of articles and tales written by the author. The stories explore a wide-range of mountaineering-related disciplines from climbs in the Himalayan high-mountains to complex low-height bouldering.

This is an enjoyable book that has some real standout tales that most non-climbers would never hear about; just a few of the stories I'd...
Published on 7 Mar. 2012 by aus_books


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A tour of here and there living out on the edge., 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am fan of Krakauer and I particularly enjoyed his "Into Thin Air". Although this may lack the drama and immediacy of that he still gets to visit and meet some very interesting people, doing many creative and crazy things in some of the most dangerous and isolated parts of the world. Always a reliable and agreeable voice on the great outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great mountaineering book!, 13 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am hooked on books about mountaineering! And Jon Krakauer is the best writer I have read threee of his books all very good and spellbound. This book is a series of short articles, all with the subjects of high mountains and their climbers. It is so interesting to read you feel like you are there on the mountain with him, on top of the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eiger Dreams: Ventures among men and mountains (Kindle Edition)
Great book a plus, thank you but not for making me write additional words for no reason. Get stuffed Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eiger Dreams: Ventures among men and mountains (Kindle Edition)
This book does much to show the humility of climbing. Where many books in this genre tend to focus on dominating peaks or scaling summits, Jon Krakauer shows us that climbing big mountains is more about the simple love of the sport than anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Started reading Krakauer after watching Into The Wild and have found all his books to be a fantastic read. His stories are always well-written and gives you that "just ten more minutes..." feel when you know you ought to put it down and do something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting series of short essays on climbing, 23 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
Eiger Dreams, by the same author as 'Into thin Air' about the disasterous Everest debacle a couple of years ago, is a series of short essays on climbing of all descriptions. If you have an interest in mountaieering or climbing you will enjoy this light read. It was a little too 'zen' for my liking, a bit pseudo-religious, but I can see that climbing has it's spiritial side and so am quite sympathetic to the author's approach. This is one of those funny books that I didn't enjoy hugely but yet read it cover to cover in one sitting and was engrossed throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good,, 28 Dec. 2013
By 
Christos Markou (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Krakauer has written another interesting book.
Most of the essays are engaging and interesting.
One or two are a bit repetitive, but overall definately
A worthwhile read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True stories are often the best. This book with its variety of stories is ..., 22 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eiger Dreams: Ventures among men and mountains (Kindle Edition)
True stories are often the best. This book with its variety of stories is a great adventure, not just for climbers, but for anyone who likes travel and the great outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... krakauer's books and this one's up there with the best. A good mixture of adventurous tale's, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have read most of Jon krakauer's books and this one's up there with the best . A good mixture of adventurous tale's ... would recommend you read this book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This has become one of my favorite books of all time, 26 Sept. 2014
This has become one of my favorite books of all time. I knew I was a fan of Jon Krakauer, but this put him at the top of my 'favorite authors' list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews