Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, children love it, but beware the collectible character element
My sons *love* Skylanders, especially Giants and were very keen to save up for this.

It's a great game series for children and I especially like the co-operative 2 player element. The physical toy element however is pure evil genius, so if you are unfamiliar with how it all works, here are the basics:

- You buy the game in a pack like this which...
Published 6 months ago by Gozaradio

versus
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short game for lots of money
Hi i got this game for my sons birthday and he loves it , if he was writing this he would have gave it 5 stars but i think the game is ok but not long enough . It took him only 2 days to complete (not all day) it so now he justs wants all the characters that go with the game but the new characters are more exspensive than the last skylanders . Overall not a bad game but...
Published on 4 Nov. 2012 by manc


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, children love it, but beware the collectible character element, 9 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Giants - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
My sons *love* Skylanders, especially Giants and were very keen to save up for this.

It's a great game series for children and I especially like the co-operative 2 player element. The physical toy element however is pure evil genius, so if you are unfamiliar with how it all works, here are the basics:

- You buy the game in a pack like this which comes with 3 characters in the form of toy figurines. You also get a little platform called the 'Portal of Power' which lights up, changes colour and is needed for the game to work.

- One or two toy figures must be placed on top of the 'Portal' (depending on whether one or two people are playing). Each one of those figures

- It seems like magic and amazing technology if you grew up on Pac-Man and Space Invaders, but this is the evil genius / cynical part - there are *loads* of playable characters to buy, making it like a video game version of football stickers, with children collecting and swapping different characters. However the flip-side of this is that you do get to enjoy a different playing experience, and at least you get something physical for your money which can still be played with when they've had enough screen-time. The other good thing about these figures is that they work on any game system. For example, my son has a friend who is also into Skylanders but he has a Wii while we have an Xbox 360. However, both boys can take their Skylanders and play them on each other's systems or lend them to each other.

Luckily the game has been out long enough that you can find plenty of reasonably priced second hand figures on line, in video game shops or by asking parents of other children. It's a formula that has worked so well that Disney has copied it with their 'Infinity' range, and the Skylanders series will be extended to the fourth game in Autumn 2014.

Content-wise, I personally don't think there's anything inappropriate for a 7 year old as per the PEGI rating, but your opinion may differ.

I have seen one review complaining about the lack of a save function. This is a gripe I have with most console games versus PC games in that you can't save the exact current 'state', you have to proceed to the next stage or autosave point. This does pose a potential problem if you limit screen-time (as I do). In my case, because I checked out the game beforehand and noticed this, I made it clear from the start that the end of 'play time' may not coincide with a save point. There is resistance from time to time but generally the boys are compliant because they know it would be put away or sold on if it became a problem. However, realistically, this will vary from child to child and you obviously have to decide how you approach it with yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short game for lots of money, 4 Nov. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skylanders Giants - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
Hi i got this game for my sons birthday and he loves it , if he was writing this he would have gave it 5 stars but i think the game is ok but not long enough . It took him only 2 days to complete (not all day) it so now he justs wants all the characters that go with the game but the new characters are more exspensive than the last skylanders . Overall not a bad game but it will cost you a fortune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for any child, 10 Nov. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skylanders Giants - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
This game follows on from Spryo's adventure, only buy the booster pack if you already have this game, but be prepared to buy lots more characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Save function, 6 Jan. 2014
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skylanders Giants - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
In all honesty, nothing has ever caused so many arguments as this game.

This is due to the lack of a save function. This means that as a parent, you try to end a session after 30 or 60 minutes. As there is no save function, apart from whole chapter, this always results in tears as they dont want to go back to the start again.

I would not recommend this game unless you are happy for your kids to play more than 1 hour with an indefinite end point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Giants - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
I brought this for my son and he thinks it is one of the best games he has played. For me it was very good value as other places were £20 more. The pack gives you everything you need to start up, portal, game and three figures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars on going, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Giants - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
my Children really like this and if you get stuck on gift ideas then this is an on going process the only problem is that in parts of the game you can not play with out certain characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SKYLANDERS GIANTS - STARTER PACK (XBOX 360), 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Giants - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
YOU RECEIVE THE FIRST 3 GIANT'S AND PLATFORM AND PACKAGED DISC IN BOX, INSTRUCTIONS INCLUDED IN BOX, WORKS WELL -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starter pack, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Giants - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
I Waited until the price came down, and my son has played with it for hours. Good value for £35.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Pack, great value for money., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Giants - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
Cannot recommend it enough. My son loves it, it was a perfect present for his birthday.Great value for money as it comes with 3 characters already plus portal and the game itself, Really worth the money. And the game is entertaining enough for your child, even I enjoy playing it. It has a multiplayer feature so you can join in the fun and help your child a bit if he finds things a bit difficult. I love how all the progress of the character is actually saved on the figure itself, so if you have mates that have the same game and you take your figure to theirs and play on their portal your character still has all the exp and levels it had with you. Awesome game and great starter pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game for all ages!!, 22 Nov. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skylanders Giants - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Accessory)
Great game just prepare for the need for spending loads on more figures!! It is addictive!!! My son is aged 6 and loves it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skylanders Giants - Starter Pack (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: £22.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews