Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read - Impressive Career
A superb collection of experiences and stories - very well told. I have settled on the fact that the reality of flying today is not what it was, and so have chosen another career path. Having books like this to read give me the opportunity to look back on the better years of flying. The pace is great, and there's a perfect balance between technical detail, humour and the...
Published on 4 April 2013 by Mark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars flying and fishing
This book was great for a holiday read. Entertaining and interesting, it didn't go in to much detail about the different airlines but worth the price if you're already in the industry.
Published 20 months ago by Beth Crompton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read - Impressive Career, 4 April 2013
By 
Mark (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb collection of experiences and stories - very well told. I have settled on the fact that the reality of flying today is not what it was, and so have chosen another career path. Having books like this to read give me the opportunity to look back on the better years of flying. The pace is great, and there's a perfect balance between technical detail, humour and the character of the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A life in flying, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Lessons and Guardian Angels: An airline pilot's story (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book! P J Spivack has led a fascinating life in general and in the aviation world in particular. Some of his flying experiences are hair raising! As a pritae pilot I could really relate to the stories. He has an informative and easy style of writing. Recommended if you are interested in aircraft and flying (and also fly fishing!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An airline pilot's life., 5 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Lessons and Guardian Angels: An airline pilot's story (Kindle Edition)
A beautifully paced book. I found it hard to put down. We journey with the author from rookie learner to first officer and eventually to captain. His joy in his profession shines through. The benefits of a successful aviation career are celebrated with him and the closing pages aimed a young would be pilots are wise and thoughtful.
A wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for aviation people and people that aviation people know!, 28 Nov. 2012
By 
A. H. Murray "Allen Murray" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Lessons and Guardian Angels: An airline pilot's story (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the most absorbing books that I have ever read. It combines the interest of writers like Ernie Gann, the fluency of Richard Bach and the dedication to aviation of a true aircraft lover. When Jay talks about a particular airplane, the reader can almost feel the emotions, either love or toleration. I found it almost impossible to put down. As an author (Skytrucker) and a former transport pilot, I thoroughly endorse this book and would suggest that the next thing you do is to buy it and read it for yourself!

Skytrucker: Incidents, Accidents and Romantic Attachments Gathered Over Forty Years in Aviation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Lessons and Guardian Angels: An airline pilot's story (Kindle Edition)
More like an extremely well written diary than a book but very good nonetheless. The author takes you from the cowboy days of flying to more or less the modern day. He illuminates how the industry has changed but the stories of how he dealt with various in flight challenges are far more interesting and exciting. The author also offers good tips on how to break into and succeed in the airline industry. A good companion - albeit far different - book to this is Ernie Gann's "Fate Is The Hunter".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read for all aviation fans, 31 Oct. 2013
An interesting insight into a life of airline flying the hard way. In the main working for smaller and charter airlines although still flying large aircraft up to the DC10. Plus a spell working for the shadowy world of the American governments "specialist" intelligence department. I found it interesting enough to read twice, straight off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Lessons and Guardian Angels: An airline pilot's story (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the best reads on airline flying in the 60's up to the year 2000.

It also contains good advice on how to become an airline pilot and on a good attitude to life in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The way to go, 21 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Dangerous Lessons and Guardian Angels: An airline pilot's story (Kindle Edition)
Professionalism and modesty define the author. Who obviously enjoying the financial safety his career brought him has not let it go to his head. His advice four aspiring pilots should be written into Airline text books.
John Bevins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frank. Advice, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Lessons and Guardian Angels: An airline pilot's story (Kindle Edition)
First class ADVISE for young people with an interest in aviation. And. A very good and informative read as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and informative book, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Lessons and Guardian Angels: An airline pilot's story (Kindle Edition)
Exciting informative PJ Spivack is an airman and Captain of consummate skill. he explained the complication of Flying in a way I could understand . The book also has a lot of human interest. I did not like or need the list of air accidents at the end and quickly gave up on this part of the book.. very interesting read I would recommend..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews